ON AGING

“None are so old as those who have outlived enthusiasm. 

Henry David Thoreau

OUT OF GAS

OUT OF GAS

I had a birthday this week; happens to the best of us.  Anyway, it left me thinking about aging, growing older, maturing – you name it, it’s all the same to me.  There are lots of good things about aging.  For example, one would hope we get a bit wiser as our experiences contribute to our internal book of knowledge.

WEARY

WEARY

“You can’t help getting older, but you don’t have to get old.”

George Burns

As we get older we have more time for the things we rushed past in our youth.  We appreciate spring flowers, birds singing, children laughing, a sunny afternoon spent in the company of a good friend (or even a rainy one if the friend is good enough!)-you get the idea.  We learn to be comfortable in our own skin and to care just a little bit less about what others think of us.

YESTERYEAR'S SWEET RIDE

YESTERYEAR’S SWEET RIDE

“It’s paradoxical that the idea of living a long life appeals to everyone, but the idea of getting old doesn’t appeal to anyone.”  

ANDY ROONEY

If we’re lucky, we get to retire and return to some of the things we missed while we were working. Things like art, photography, writing, reading, travel, music to name a few.  Some are able to find a second career that gives them more fulfillment than the one from which they retired. Some turn to teaching or mentoring to help others take advantage of their experience.

HOME ON THE RANGE

HOME ON THE RANGE

“Anyone who keeps the ability to see beauty never grows old.”

Franz Kafka

There are, of course, some downsides to aging–at least once you reach a certain point.  Take any group of 50 or 60-somethings and you’ll find various ailments across-the-board.  Nothing serious, just annoyances like failing eyesight, bad knees, hearing challenges, bunions; you get the idea.  More worrisome is the thought of what might follow in the NEXT 10 or 15 years.  You know what Oliver Wendell Holmes said about age – the definition of old is 15 years older than you are now.

FLAT TIRE

FLAT TIRE

“I’m gonna enjoy being old. I think I’ll be awesome!”

Craig Ferguson

I think Craig Ferguson has the right idea – I plan to be ever more awesome as I age.  The most consistent pieces of advice among all of the resources that address staying young while aging include:

  • Stay Healthy – Exercise, eat well, avoid stress       
  • Stay Connected – Love your partner, cherish your friends, get out into the world and find other kindred spirits
  • Seek New Experiences – Explore the world both near and far, learn something new, overcome a fear
  • Find Joy – There’s lots of it out there, even in the little things.  Keep smiling, eventually your mood will match your mouth
  • Help Others – Nothing makes you appreciate your life as much as helping someone who has been less fortunate.  It’s nourishment for the soul.
TAKE A SEAT

TAKE A SEAT

“Anyone who stops learning is old, whether he be 20 or 80.”

Henry Ford

So, you may ask, how old am I?  Older than yesterday, younger than tomorrow.  Out of the 30s, not yet close to the 70s. And according to Oliver Wendell Holmes, I still have 15 years to go before I get old!  So now that I’ve unlocked the secret of staying young…..

YELLOW

YELLOW

 …I close with a long-favorite quote from the ever-eloquent Robert Browning, “Grow old with me, the best is yet to be.”

NOTE:  All shots taken with Nikon D/300s

  1. Out of Gas – Nikkor 18-200mm @60mm, f/13, 1/80, ISO 200
  2. Weary – Nikkor 18-200mm@32mm, f/18, 1/40, ISO 200
  3. Sweet Ride – Nikkor 70-200 @70mm, f/7.1, 1/200, ISO 200
  4. Home on the Range – Nikkor 70-200mm @135mm, f/10, 1/25, ISO 200
  5. Flat Tire – Nikkor 18-200 @95mm, f/5.3, 1/100, ISO 200
  6. Take a Seat – Nikkor 18-200mm @150mm, f/7.1, 1/1000, ISO 640
  7. Yellow – Nikkor 18-200 @38mm, f/11, 1/25, ISO 1000
44 thoughts on “ON AGING

  1. Pingback: Story Challenge: Letter “Y” | Flickr Comments

  2. Amen to that Tina! Love the chair. Bailey cannot be “too old” as he can see that 49 cent sign and I cannot! Hope for many birthday celebrations with you. K

  3. Great post – I like all the quotes, and the quietly colored photos seem to blend well with them. I was just thinking about how frequently I get enthusiastic, still, after all these years. A good thing. Happy Birthday.

  4. Iam usually. “Glass half empty” kind of girl on this subject – thanks for the replenishing and refreshing insights — Happy Birthday

  5. Tina – spot on! Perfect expressive photos.
    And let me add one of my favorite quotes about aging..
    “We don’t stop playing because we grow old… we grow old because we stop playing.”
    Happy Birthday!

    • Thanks Gin! I almost included that, it’s one of my favorites too! Also the message my brother put on my birthday card when I turned 30 ” never grow all the way up!”.

      Sent from my iPad

  6. Happy Birthday, Tina!!! I enjoy being able to read your thoughts and insights and to see through your eyes. Thanks. Sharon

    Sharon Buehler 843-442-9602 (cell)

  7. Happy belated birthday! My birthday is next week, so this was wonderful reading tonight. Love your photos, your quotes and your wisdom. Thanks for sharing it with the rest of us.

Please Tell Me What You Think!

