Skip to content

Weekly Photo Challenge – My Neighborhood

“Where we love is home. Home that our feet may leave but not our hearts.”

Oliver Weldell Holmes

LOOKING UP
WELCOME TO KIAWAH

OK, I admit it. I’ve given up 😦 It doesn’t happen often. My husband will tell you I’m one of the most persevering (aka stubborn) people you will ever meet. But I simply cannot convince my i-phone 4s to give me a good photo. Oh sure, I could claim I don’t HAVE an i-phone but those who know me would never trust me again since I am a techno-geek and actually had one of the first i-phones out there

A Rest Before Beginning
BORN ON KIAWAH

“To succeed, one must be creative and persistent.”

John H. Johnson

I went out with the best of intentions on Sunday, convinced that I could overcome my resistance to i-phonography. I left my trusty D300s at home and came across some amazing (as always) photo ops. There was a gorgeous blue heron with a giant fish in his mouth, and a beautiful white egret standing right next to a large alligator. There was also a fierce battle between an osprey and an eagle over either nest space or a freshly-caught fish. I couldn’t be sure of the subject of their fight, and candidly I’m not sure I could have caught that one even WITH my Nikon, but it sure was amazing to watch!

ON GUARD
ON GUARD

β€œLife is a myriad of territories to discover.”

Jeanne Moreau

Sadly though, all of these wonderful opportunites went for naught, since I proved once again to be totally inept with the i-phone 😦 So I have resorted to using my existing files to share with you some of the amazing everyday sightings here on our beautiful barrier island.

BABY GATOR
BABY GATOR

And of course, another beautiful Kiawah sunset – this one taken just yesterday.

DAY'S END, KIAWAH
DAY’S END, KIAWAH

“Twilight fell: The sky turned to a light, dusky purple littered with tiny silver stars.”

J. K. Rowling

And, just to show you what a good sport I am, here, sadly, is the best I could do with the i-phone photo of the heron with the fish. Just so you know I tried πŸ™‚

I-PHONOGRAPHIC HERON
I-PHONOGRAPHIC HERON

“It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood.”

Fred Rogers

To enjoy more of them, visit the other entries in this week’s challenge here.

67 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – My Neighborhood Leave a comment

  1. I don’t have a mobile phone, let alone an i-phone. Despite being handy, I don’t think I would ever give up my digital cameras for a phone camera. It is always fun to experiment, but in the end, do what comes natural to you.

  2. Heron plays ‘catch me if you can ‘ !
    Tina, I have no doubt if you are so … what did you say … ‘ perservering ‘ … there will be another time for sure πŸ˜‰
    Superb shots from Kiawah !

  3. I personally am happy to hear that someone else out there struggles to get a decent photo with their IPhone. I’m with you on this. Loved the photos.

  4. The”other” pictures are great, as always! I love your part of the world…but why in the world was the iphone picture out of focus? Makes no sense! No wonder you’re frustrated! I have an older Android and it has its limitations for sure (and you have to have a different mindset to use it) but the focus is usually pretty good. I don’t feel any great loss though, because I know I will continue to enjoy great photographs here.

    • Thanks so much BB. I’m assuming the iPhone shot is out of focus because unlike my DSLRS, the shutter speed ismnotmfast enough to capture the bird’s slight movement. Lesson to be learned, shoot still life’s with the phone :-). Thanks for dropping by!

      Sent from my iPad

  5. Today on River #3 – a small gator had a tennis ball stuck in his mouth.. I remarked that we needed you with your camera to capture his agony as we were calling for someone to come help out the little guy… You always seem to capture these critters in their most unique way… Linda

  6. love these….even with the iphone……u truly have an amazing eye…there isn’t any technology that could mess with that!!

  7. Well…you can kinda, sorta see its a…bird…..with, some kind of…thing…in its bill. πŸ˜› I do like the other shots, though. I love the turtle and the alligator shots.

    • LOL, not easy! That day I was out in a boat and for some reason the dolphins were really putting on a show. I have several other really fun shots and will do a full post of them one of these days! Thanks Sherry

  8. Your worst picture with an iPhone is my best picture with a great camera. I love that silly heron with the fish! I can relate to that picture.

  9. Your worst picture with an iPhone is my best picture with a great camera. I love silly heron pondering his fish before the inevitable.. Linda

  10. I’m not a big fan of iPhone photos either, but I have gotten some amazingly good shots from it. I did upgrade to an app called Camera+ which really helped.

    When I went to see Chilhuly, I didn’t realize I could take my camera as the ticket clearly said I could not take photos. Well, I could take photos and all I had was my iPhone. Granted, the exhibit was not moving but it was pretty low light.

    http://livingtheseasons.com/2012/10/25/the-beauty-of-glass-chihuly/

    DeWitt Jones is doing a lot of iPhone photography and I’m awed at how it looks. If he can do something that incredible, I should be able to more consistently get something passable, but I don’t have it figured out for sure.

    http://livingtheseasons.com/2012/02/07/iphone-photography/

    Nancy

      • I have an iPhone 3 (bought before Siri came out). Of course, running anything through Lightroom helps a lot, but it’s really hit and miss whether my phone shots are good or not. That’s what drives me nuts the most is the inconsistency. I don’t know why some are so good and others are not, although the upgraded app helps.

  11. It is a brave new world out there to be sure–I miss the heft of my camera but I will admit the iPhone has possibilities-it just means time and patience for me-Your photographs are amazing-I look forward to seeing more-

  12. I’m surprised at your bad luck with the iPhone 4s. I don’t often use the camera in mine, but on a few occasions it’s been all I had with me and I managed to get acceptable pictures with it. Two examples (and the only two) that I’ve posted are:

    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com/2012/09/02/mortgages-investments-business-services-retirement-and/

    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com/2012/03/29/a-wider-view-of-dense-bluebonnets/

    • Are you trying to make me feel bad?!?! LOL. I think the issue is that I am trying to photograph moving subjects. The phone is just too slow to capture it without Blur. I’ve done ok with still lifes. Thanks for dropping by Steve!

      • You’ve got a good point there: I’ve never tried to photograph a moving subject with my iPhone. An SLR has some big advantages over a cell phone camera (it better have, considering the prices I’ve paid for some of mine).

  13. Enjoyed your post. I had an Android phone but decided I would rather spend money on camera equipment then data packages. You tempt me to try again. I always carry my Canon G12 and get some great pics with it so I suppose that will do instead. Your blog is amazing and I look forward to it. thanks Tina.

  14. Beautiful, beautiful – no matter how you take your photos – and share your thoughts.

    On Tue, Mar 12, 2013 at 11:28 PM, Travels and Trifles wrote:

    > ** > Tina Schell posted: “”Where we love is home. Home that our feet may > leave but not our hearts.” Oliver Weldell Holmes WELCOME TO > KIAWAH OK, I admit it. I’ve given up 😦 It doesn’t happen often. > “

  15. Iphone makes terrible photos unless you just need to,record the image unclearly….glad you surrendered and went back to your other camera so we can enjoy the beautiful photos!

Please Tell Me What You Think!

