Skip to content

Weekly Photo Challenge – Future Tense

“I never think of the future.  It comes soon enough.”

Albert Einstein

PROMISE OF SPRING
PROMISE OF SPRING

The weekly photo challenge, “Future Tense” presented me with an interesting opportunity for introspection.  My photo above, for example, was taken just last week as spring arrived on Kiawah.  It would seem on the surface to promise development into a lovely pine tree branch, or perhaps even a new tree.  But what if the birds eat it?  Or it falls off the branch to the ground?  Or someone decides to use it in a beautiful flower arrangement on their dining room table?

The thing about the future is that we have no way to know what it holds.  There is an old Yiddish proverb that says “Man plans, God laughs.”  Yes we can do everything possible to help determine our own futures, but at the end of the day, there is always the element of chance lurking in the background.  So for me, it’s learning from the past and living in the present.  Planning for the future of course, but knowing part of the fun is dealing with whatever surprises await around the corner.  Good, bad or indifferent, count me in!

To see more weekly challenge entries, go here.


42 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Future Tense Leave a comment

  1. Your written word makes me think. I’d like to think I have control of my life but I know God is laughing. Every day is something new. Love your insight and beautiful picture. Thanks.

  2. LOVE the photo ‘a new beginning’…..also LOVE your words…..a kind ‘wake up’ if u will……so well spoken!! THANK YOU!

  3. I liked what you say about the future. I had a hard time with this one too because I think the same way you do. Staying open to what may come and learning from the past is our challenge in life.

  4. There’ s so much truth in that old Yiddish proverb – I do agree with what you said. No matter how much thoughts, time and energy we put into planning there’ s always something…unexpected, out of the blue that can change everything in a split second. Not that this keeps me off planning in general but…when I do, I try to keep “possible changes” on the back of my mind.
    Beautiful photo, Tina – as well as the quote! 🙂

  5. “Yes we can do everything possible to help determine our own futures, but at the end of the day, there is always the element of chance lurking in the background. So for me, it’s learning from the past and living in the present. ”

    Perfectly well said words of wisdom.

  6. The what ifs or possibilities of the life of that pine reflection were so timely… As I have been in prayers for your Scott all week.. His future. . This is an appropriate subject… I thank God that His future plan for Scott included a whole and healed heart…so I get a little “sappy.” Linda

Please Tell Me What You Think!

