Skip to content

Wild Weekly Photo Challenge: Distant / Weekly Challenge: A Day in My Life / Weekly Travel Theme: Smoke and Mirrors

“A nomad I will remain for life, in love with distant and uncharted places.”

I. Eberhardt

ABOVE THE CLOUDS
ABOVE THE CLOUDS – ALASKA’S GLACIER BAY

This week multiple challenges caught my imagination and led me to this post.  Let’s Be Wild’s Challenge this week is “Distant”, and the Daily Post has asked us to focus on “A Day in My Life“.  While most blogs focused on a typical day at home, for us a more “typical” day just as easily means exploring some far-away, “distant” place versus daily life on our own little island.  I’ve chosen to feature the former rather than the latter.

THROUGH THE MIST, ANGKOR, CAMBODIA
MORNING MIST, ANGKOR, CAMBODIA

“The dawn is not distant, nor is the night starless.”
Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

When we took early retirement some 13 years ago, we promised ourselves that we would take advantage of our opportunity to see the world.  Combining my enthusiasm for photography with our shared love of travel has proven to make for many wonderful adventures.

 HERE COMES THE SUN - ASHEVILLE NC
HERE COMES THE SUN – ASHEVILLE NC

“My life is anything but typical”

Margaret Cho

Some adventures have taken us as far away as Southeast Asia, Europe, Canada, Alaska or as seen in today’s header, Africa.  Others, like the photo above, are as close as our good friends’ home in North Carolina.

DOUBLE RAINBOW, PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND
DISTANT RAINBOWS, PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND, CANADA

“When you look at the world, it isn’t just one palette.  It’s a beautiful rainbow.”

Joan Smalls

Whether in the distant, incredibly rich ochre ridges of Roussillon, France…

DISTANT RIDGES,ROUSSILLON FRANCE
COLORFUL RIDGES,ROUSSILLON FRANCE

or in our own back yard here on Kiawah’s beaches….

MOONRISE, KIAWAH ISLAND
MOONRISE, KIAWAH ISLAND

“Hand in hand on the edge of the sand, they danced by the light of the moon.”

Edward Lear

as Margaret Cho says, “my life is anything but typical”.   And I wouldn’t want it any other way :-).

In addition to both of the weekly photo challenges, I’ve also linked this post to Ailsa’s Travel Theme Challenge “Smoke and Mirrors” and to Frizztext’s “Tagged N” challenge for NATURE.
I’m participating in the onlineadventure travel and outdoor photography magazineLetsBeWild.com’s Wild Weekly Photo Challenge for bloggersThis week’s Challenge is: Distant!

68 thoughts on “Wild Weekly Photo Challenge: Distant / Weekly Challenge: A Day in My Life / Weekly Travel Theme: Smoke and Mirrors Leave a comment

  1. Oh, I just love that moonrise. It’s exceptionally beautiful! Great photo’s and love the quotes. I love quotes. 🙂

  2. Super distant shots Tina the lovely natural graded tones in the mist are perfect ! and I wish you an untypical life as you would want 🙂

    • Thanks much Gracie! That night actually WAS magical! I couldn’t really see the controls on my camera and forgot a flashlight so had no idea what the photos would look like when I got home :-). The moon was really brilliant so I was happy to have captured it :-).

    • Thanks Laurie! I felt the same way when I saw it. Rainbows are so hard to photograph but these were so brilliant it was amazing! I suppose because there is absolutely no air pollution there to get in the way.

      Sent from my iPad

    • Thanks so much. We absolutely loved Alaska. Hard to choose between glacier bay small boat cruise and Brooks Falls bears where you see the classic salmon jumping into their mouths. SO far away tho!!!

      Sent from my iPad

  3. I just love the morning mist photo it is so ethereal and serene, It would be beautiful on a large canvas. Hanging on a wall it would bring peace to any home

      • It really does look like some kind of sunrise, but different with all the blues and purple hues.

        Somewhere in my blog I posted photos of the superperigee moon we had a couple of years back, although it is much darker and more moody than your shot. I think that was one of the largest moons I had ever seen, too! I really love the moon, such an interesting subject.

  4. “Here Comes the Sun” is my favorite. I also am enamored with cloud formation and please do watch for a series that I’ve been accumulating. Well done–your editing lends a painterly effect.

  5. just incredible…the moonrise actually blinded me….would love to leap into any one of them!! GREAT eye!!

Please Tell Me What You Think!

