Skip to content

Weekly Photo Challenge – From Above

“Treasure the love you receive above all.”

Og Mandino

I’ve been wanting to post some of the wonderful flowers I saw during our Magnolia Gardens outing recently.  The Weekly Photo Challenge, “Above” gave me a nice opportunity to do just that.

SIMPLE BEAUTY
SIMPLE BEAUTY

“A flower cannot blossom without sunshine, and man cannot live without love.”

Max Muller

As spring is finally upon us, the flowers are coming into full bloom – delivering photo opportunities at every turn.  For the most part, I’ve tried to include shots that were taken from above, as challenged 🙂

IRIS IN BLOOM
IRIS IN BLOOM

“See heaven in a wild flower.”

William Blake

Here in South Carolina, spring brings an amazing bounty of flora, including the magnificent southern magnolia (the one below taken here on Kiawah, where magnolias bloom each May).

SWEET MAGNOLIA
SWEET MAGNOLIA

“Love is like a beautiful flower which I may not touch, but whose fragrance makes the garden a place of delight just the same.”

Helen Keller

FROM ABOVE
HIBISCUS FROM ABOVE

“There is no color in this world that is not intended to make us rejoice.”

John Calvin

The creamy whites of the magnolia and some of the iris are as  glorious as the brilliant orange of the hibiscus or the lovely pink of the azalea.

AZALEA PAIR
AZALEA PAIR

My favorite though, is catching a bud just before it blooms, showing us nature in its infancy.

BUDDING BEAUTY
BUDDING BEAUTY
ALMOST THERE
ALMOST THERE

“Love is the flower you’ve got to let grow.”

John Lennon

I will close with a photo of a stone (taken from directly above of course) which was one of the last gifts given to me by my mother before she passed away.  It is prominently displayed along our front walk to be seen by anyone who visits our home, and serves as a reminder of the love she gave me without question every day.

A SPECIAL GARDEN
A SPECIAL GARDEN

I hope you’ve enjoyed my visit to the gardens of Magnolia Plantation, as well as my nod to love, and to mothers, who are its personification. Finally, let me add my early wish for a Happy Mothers’ Day to all of you who mean so much to all of us.

To see more weekly challenge entries, go here.


96 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – From Above Leave a comment

  1. A bouquet of gorgeous photos. Hibiscus orange particularly stands out to me. Plus overall the flowering details of the pistons (I think they are pistons ?? …. Plant biology class was so long ago Lol)
    Your mom’s gift is a heartwarming special gift. Sweet.

  2. Yes, love the promise of a budding flower. Also love the variety of colors and forms of the flowers and plants in nature.

    • Thanks Madhu, they were all beautiful in their own way. I’m not usually drawn to strong color so I think the first was my fav but don’t want to hurt their feelings LOL

  3. A lovely collection Tina .. ‘A Magnolia Gardens’ outing sounds dreamy …and you’ve brought a little back with you 😉

  4. Beautiful photos! I think your pretty blooms finally chased the rain away. I never should have mentioned the drought the other week.

    • Thanks Sherry – I’m a magnolia lover myself and have many favorite shots of them. I think it’s the creamy color and texture of their petals. I’m like a crazy person for the 2 or 3 weeks while they’re blooming here–running to and fro trying to get yet another shot 🙂 Fortunately no one has called the police about it yet LOL !

  5. Happy flowers.. Lovely reflections,,,brightening my day in gloomy, gray Charlotte. The last Mother’s Day present I gave my mother was a beautiful white camillia that she planted next to the front door…

  6. I’m amazed but happy you were able to find a dry day, Tina, our spring in Atlanta has been a big washout. Fortunately I have your lovely photographs of (dry) spring blooms to enjoy!
    Elisa

Please Tell Me What You Think!

