Skip to content

Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge – Signs

“Buy, buy says the sign in the shop window; Why, why says the junk in the yard.”

Paul McCartney

FRENCH FRUIT
FRENCH GROCERY

Cee has given us a fun opportunity this week with her
“Signs” challenge. I’ve chosen to share some of the fun signs my husband and I encountered in our exploration of beautiful Provence, France.

MENU DU JOUR
MENU DU JOUR

“If it doesn’t taste good, it doesn’t go on the menu.”

Heston Blumenthal

Somehow, most of what I captured had to do with food or wine – what a surprise–NOT!  Is it because the French are more focused on les choses gastronomique, or because we are?!  Probably both.  Here then, a few of my favorite food and wine signs from Provence,  the land of food and wine.  First, taking full advantage of real estate:

WALL 'O WINE SIGN
WALL ‘O WINE SIGN
WINE SIGN II
WALL ‘O WINE SIGN II

“Language is wine upon the lips.”

Virginia Woolf

And then, awaiting the opening of the local bakery:

BREAD LINES :-)
BREAD LINES 🙂

“A jug of wine, a loaf of bread, and thou.”

Omar Khayyam

Next, a nod to the French esprit de corps:

LIFE IS GOOD
LIFE IS GOOD

And, the perfect accompaniment to good food and wine – some lovely music 🙂

FOR MUSIC LOVERS
FOR MUSIC LOVERS

 “Without music, life would be a mistake.”

Fredrich Nietzsche

Finally, from an ancient, beautifully preserved church, a “sign” that the French rejoice in the power of prayer through their love of music.

MUSIQUE D'EGLISE
MUSIQUE D’EGLISE

With appreciation to my followers for tolerating the frequency of my posts this week, I’m “signing” off on this one.  My thanks to Cee for the fun challenge.  (Check out some other “signs” entries here).

 



40 thoughts on “Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge – Signs Leave a comment

  1. Can see you were rather taken with La belle France Tina !
    Great selection . Oh the smell from the Boulangerie and all those gorgeous little pastries all beautifully wrapped and beribboned even if just one purchased 🙂

    • Thanks PT! Was indeed taken :0) I still remember when I was studying in Dijon and went into my first boulangerie – oh the aroma and the beauty of their pastries. I chose a cream puff and sat down on the curb to devour it. One big bite and i learned for the first time that the French use sour cream (aka chantilly) in their cream puff. EWWWWW !!!! Can still cry if I think about it LOL!

  2. Wow – some really stunning sign photos here…. a beautiful coffee table book in there somewhere perhaps..?

    • LOL, thanks Anne! I’m a master of coffee table books (check out the link at the top of my blog) and actually teach classes on it locally. Pretty soon ill need a few more tables! Thanks as always for your lovely comment!!

      Sent from my iPad

  3. I like the “Life is Good” for its simplicity. But “French Grocery” and the wall behind the fresh vegetables reminds me of my visits to Provence, and those are luscious memories.

  4. Please no checking out while Mr Wyatt is recovering.. Your blog in this state of recovery is one of my few bright spots.. You think I am in pity party mode! Seriously, always enjoy your posts… Love these signs thanks for interpretations.. Linda

Please Tell Me What You Think!

