Skip to content

Weekly Photo Challenge – The Sign Says / Travel Theme – Costume

“Sign, sign, everywhere a sign. Blockin’ out the scenery, breakin’ my mind.  Do this, don’t do that can’t you read the sign.”

Five Man Electrical Band

Not long ago I posted about signs I enjoyed in Provence, France (check it out here).  This time, I thought I’d have some fun with our Weekly Photo Challenge “The Sign Says” by sharing some colorful signs from around the world.

We begin with a beautiful horse wearing his very fancy sign of honor – and of course a nod to Ailsa for her “Costume” challenge 🙂

HORSE OF HONOR
HORSE OF HONOR

“A horse is the projection of people’s dreams about themselves.”

Pam Brown

Now I don’t speak much German, but I can guess why the little fellow below is suggesting one should carry a bag while walking him.  For the unimaginative, the little green squares give us a further hint!

VIENNA VIXEN
VIENNA VIXEN

“A sense of humor is a major defense against minor troubles.”

Mignon McLaughlin

Apparently the proprietors of the Thai fruit shake stand below don’t speak English any better than I speak German 🙂

YUM, FURIT!
YUM, FURIT!

“Everybody laughs the same in every language.”

Yakov Smirnoff

And in Chile, some creative entrepeneurs have set up a well-signed “local” drug store complete with English and Japanese translations.

ROADSIDE DRUGS
ROADSIDE DRUGS

“A strong positive attitude will create more miracles than any wonder drug.”

Patricia Neal

From La Boca in Buenos Aires, a colorful vendor of sweets and treats.

BARGAIN BOMBONS
BARGAIN BOMBONS

“Never trust a skinny ice cream man.”

Ben Cohen

And who wouldn’t want to take home some lovely Elephant Dung as a souvenir of a fun trip to Thailand!

REALLY?????
REALLY?????

“A fool looks for dung where the cow never browsed.”

African Proverb

Last but not least, from here in the US, my favorite sign of all – look closely at the sign on the gas pump.  Can’t we all relate to this one sometimes?!

TOO POOPED TO PUMP
TOO POOPED TO PUMP

I hope you’ve enjoyed my colorful attempt at sign humor.   To see more weekly challenge SIGN entries, go here.


78 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – The Sign Says / Travel Theme – Costume Leave a comment

  1. hysterical!
    (don’t need to reply to my comments… i am playing catch up and have a lot of catchin up to do to enjoy all you have posted) thanx! dsup

    • Thanks Tom, I enjoyed this one. Of course once I posted I thought of several other shots I could have used. Oh we’ll, next time!

      Sent from my iPad

  2. Love the variety of photos here – the colourful horse is – well, colourful! Also love the translations (or part thereof) from different countries. Terrific signs! And thanks for dropping by my blog.

  3. Great selection and an amazingly diverse response to the challenge!! I do really love those images of signs from Provence too, : )))

  4. As always, your combo of quotes and photos is great. The decorations on the horse are amazing. I think there’s more going on than meets the eye.

Please Tell Me What You Think!

