Skip to content

Weekly Photo Challenge – Fleeting / Travel Theme – Peaceful

“To photograph is to hold one’s breath, when all faculties converge to capture fleeting reality.”

Henri Cartier-Bresson

EPHEMERAL
EPHEMERAL

I’ve been a bit behind on blogging of late, as my husband and I have been away visiting family in the northeast.  When I saw the subjects “fleeting” and “peaceful” I knew immediately what I would post.  Those who have been following my blog may remember some time ago I included a simple poem written by my granddaughter Elisabeth.  For today’s post I’d like to share her poem “Everyone Has A Place”, which she wrote last week for her first-grade assignment on Nature.

CRISS-CROSS
CRISS-CROSS

“Everyone Has a Place” 

by Elisabeth Schell

I would like to go
To a place that
Is quiet and peaceful
Like a little garden
With no one there
But me
where I could
listen to the
Soft sound of birds
Tweet tweet
Chirp chirp
Where I can hear the
Wind glistening
In the air
I will find this place
And you can find your place
Too

BURSTING WITH LIFE
BURSTING WITH LIFE
FADING BEAUTY
FADING BEAUTY

“Life is short. Time is fleeting.”

Swami Sivinanda

The peaceful beauty of nature, although we may document it with our photography, is fleeting.  So too is childhood, as I am powerfully reminded whenever I see my lovely granddaughter.  Sadly, our time with our families is fleeting as well, especially when we are geographically distant.  Treasure your moments with those you love – as the Buddha said “Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future. Concentrate the mind on the present moment.”  Too soon it will be gone, never to be recaptured.

To see more fleeting moments, click here.  To enjoy more peaceful moments, click here.



119 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Fleeting / Travel Theme – Peaceful Leave a comment

  1. You’ve achieved ‘Fleeting and Peaceful’ so well Tina ! Your sentiments and choices chime in well with many of us here I can see 🙂
    May young Elizabeth hold on to her lovely outlook in the words of her poem .
    Love the soft grasses….

Please Tell Me What You Think!

