Skip to content

Word-A-Week Challenge – Vibrant

“I like things full of color and vibrant.”

Oscar de la Renta

STAINED GLASS
GLORIOUS GLASS

Sue has given us an interesting challenge this week with her word “vibrant”.  In response, I’ve chosen a few vibrant photos from a trip to some of the beautiful cities of Central Europe. Today’s header, for example, was taken at a produce stand in Vienna.  Above and below, some gorgeous stained glass windows from a church outside of Prague.

STAINED GLASS-2
GLORIOUS GLASS II

“The energy of happiness is vibrant….waken and feel joy.”

Ritu Ghatourey

And of course, the amazing colors created by the light streaming through those same windows:

THE COLOR OF LIGHT
THE COLOR OF LIGHT

Beyond the churches, we found vibrant, energizing colors everywhere.  For example:

Costumes ready for use at the Vienna Opera

READY-TO-WEAR
READY-TO-WEAR

“Life is like a box of crayons….I’ve got some vibrant colors at my disposal.”

John Mayer

Colorful scarves on display in a Budapest street market:

KNOTS OF COLOR
KNOTS OF COLOR

“The more ugly, older, more cantankerous I become, the more I try to make amends by making my colors more vibrant.”

Vincent van Gogh

And finally, the classic red rooftops of Dubrovnik:

DUBROVNIK TWILIGHT
DUBROVNIK TWILIGHT

My thanks to Sue for giving me the incentive to revisit some fond memories!  To see more responses to the “vibrant” challenge, click here.

69 thoughts on “Word-A-Week Challenge – Vibrant Leave a comment

    • I find them amazing and can only wonder about the care and talent it took to create them so long ago. These were taken out and preserved during WWII so that they wouldn’t be destroyed by the bombs. Thanks for your comment BB!

  1. we had our honeymoon weeks in vibrant Dubrovnik. Not only the colors there were vibrant. The people, the music, the architecture, the ocean, the food, the friendliness: too!

  2. Tina, I just love stain windows … in Chicago they have a museum down on Navy Pier .. every time I’m in town I go down and delight myself.
    Your gallery here is so wonderful … colorful and just vibrant. Fantastic photos, but I wouldn’t expect anything else from you. My pick must be first glorious glass photo.

  3. I love your blogs, your photos are very beautiful. I’ll be back… I also have a second blog on old pictures.
    piallat.wordpress.com
    SENSUALITE | La beauté à l’état pure

  4. Lovely vibrancy for Midsummers Day here Tina !
    All gorgeous . Particularly like ‘the colour of light’ looking like slashes of pastels 🙂

    • Thanks Tish! Sometimes it’s hard to stop! I had so many photos from that trip :-). For sure there will be other challenges for them!

      Sent from my iPad

  5. Hi Tina … your photos speak of your life: vibrant and colorful! i specially like the reflection of the stained glass … its like you framed the rainbow 😉 have a great weekend, Tina — ABW

    • Thank you Seeker. I suppose in windows, as in photography, it’s all about the light. I cannot imagine the talent it took “back in the day” to create art like those windows!

  6. Love the colors – and the “light streaming through”. I’ll arrive in Prague July 6- would love to see this church. Thanks for sharing your travels.

Please Tell Me What You Think!

