Skip to content

Weekly Photo Challenge – Golden Hour / Travel Theme – Simplicity

From within or from behind, a light shines through us upon things, and makes us aware that we are nothing, but the light is all. 

Ralph Waldo Emerson

IMPRESSIONS OF LILY PADS
LILY PAD IMPRESSIONS

This week we’ve been challenged to post photographs which were made during Golden Hour –  just after sunrise or just before sunset.  Interestingly, although photographs of sunsets and sunrises are lovely, captures of everyday things lit by the golden rays of the sun are, to my eye, much more interesting.

My archives have many photos from golden hour, since that is prime time for photography, including some personal favorites from the past.  However, I’ve chosen instead to post a few captures from my week here in Michigan, which has been wonderful.  Sunset here arrives between 9 and 10 pm, a bit of a challenge but not impossible.  I shot the opening photograph from a boat on a lake ripe with lily pads.  Because I wanted to capture the light but had no tripod with me, I chose to deliberately work on making an abstract photograph of the lily pads and flowers.  I was pleased with the results, especially considering the challenges.

HAY BALES AT SUNSET
HAY BALES AT SUNSET

“There is a crack in everything.  That’s how the light gets in.”

Leonard Cohen

Initially,  I saw the scene above in harsh, mid-afternoon light.   I returned at sunset to find better conditions, but the light was quite flat due to cloud cover.  Luckily the sun peeked out for just a few moments to allow the capture I’d been hoping for as the late evening sun reflected off of the yellow hay.

SAILBOATS AT SUNSET
SAILBOATS AT SUNSET

Only when we are brave enough to explore the darkness will we discover the infinite power of our light.

Brene Brown

Finally, our location here in Michigan overlooks beautiful Little Traverse Bay on Lake Michigan.  My husband and I took a walk one evening at sunset to see what my lens might find.  I was particularly enamored by this scene, which looked to me more like Venice than Michigan.  We’ve very much enjoyed our visit here in the north, and are now heading back home to South Carolina.  With any luck, the light will be just as beautiful there as it has been here.

Before closing, I’d like to thank Ese of Ese’s Voice for using my photograph (also made during Golden Hour) to illustrate her lovely Haiku “Companions”.  Check it out hereSecondly, thanks to Andrew of Tylko fotografia (click here to see some of his wonderful photography) who has nominated me for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award.  Those who follow me know I very much appreciate the recognition, but choose not to formally participate in award programs. 

Finally, in closing, I’ve included this post as a response to Ailsa’ challenge this week “Simplicity”.  From my perspective, the opening photograph “Impressions of Lily Pads” is an example of taking a very simple subject and creating art.  Hopefully you agree 🙂

To see more “Golden Hour” posts, click here.

 

 

126 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Golden Hour / Travel Theme – Simplicity Leave a comment

  1. Good Morgen
    have you subscribed to, if you also subscribe to me you can find me better in the reader and there see my older articles, and if like like.The eye is as you know.Let …auch inspire my images when I have written much on German, you can enter it with your naked eye.
    My name is Andrea and come from Oberhausen is located in North Rhine-Westphalia.
    And what’s your name?
    Your pictures are great, are great, I think all good, very toll…ich am looking forward to more.
    These are pictures from their homeland?
    Where exactly are you from.
    To have beautiful they made in the wide Univerum.
    All the best for you and your family
    Wish you have a pleasant Tag.Herzlichst Andrea

    • Nice to “meet” you Andrea! I’m Tina and I appreciate your visit! Yes, these are photos from the US but not near my home. I was traveling to visit with friends when I made these.

      • (Hello, Tina :))
        And find something nice for me?
        You can see my older articles if you’ve subscribed myself better in the reader and if you makes you seem pictures can you also like.

  2. I love hay bales. I can’t tell you how many times I stop my car while I’m driving through Ohio to take pictures of them. They’re hypnotic!

    • Me too! I have MANY more shots of them 🙂 Long ago I worked for the company that invented the round hay baler (I was in their computer business) and it was a really big deal! Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Lilly Pad Impressions is an interesting image, I really like the movement. I always “toss” those images while in camera (less to download). Having seen this, I am thinking perhaps I will wait to toss until I see it on my screen! Thanks for sharing

  4. Wow! Thanks for commenting on my lilies. What a coincidence. Frankly, mine could have looked like anything – I was blinded by reflections on the water and just hoped for the best, but please don’t tell anyone 😉

Please Tell Me What You Think!

