Skip to content

Weekly Photo Challenge – Golden Hour II

“Sun, sun, sun, here it comes.”

George Harrison

MORNING HAS BROKEN
MORNING HAS BROKEN, ACE BASIN, SC

Earlier this week my response to Cheri Rowland’s Golden Hour challenge included a number of evening shots from my week in Michigan.  Afterwards my blogging friend Tom, of the Palladian Traveler, challenged me to share some work (such as the shot above) from the early morning hour.  So, I’ve chosen some favorites from my archives and Tom, this one’s for you!  🙂

AN ELEPHANT'S EYE
AN ELEPHANT’S EYE. BOTSWANA

“Morning has broken, like the first morning.”

Eleanor Farjeon

In Africa, photography takes place in the earliest morning hours or in the late evening.  At mid-day the animals are sleeping and the day is too hot for anything but rest. You can see the morning’s golden sidelight in the warmth of this beautiful creature’s skin.

DOOR KEY
DOOR KEY, ANGKOR WAT, CAMBODIA

“Light is precious in a world so dark.”

Kate DeCaillo

The same is true in Cambodia, where the temples of Angkor Wat seem to glow in the early morning hours.  The warm hues of the ancient stone come alive with a near other-worldly hues of orange, red and gold.  In both places, a 4 am wake-up call is the most difficult part of the day, but is surely worth the effort.

WINDOWS ON THE WORLD
WINDOWS ON THE WORLD, ANGKOR WAT, CAMBODIA


“You’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world.”

Matthew 5:14

Those of you who have been following me for some time will recognize the next two photos.  The morning of this shoot it was freezing cold as I ventured out of my warm, cozy “yurt” at 5am.  There was no guarantee of  a sunrise, as most mornings are cloudy and the mountains are either dark grey or totally obscured.  This particular morning we were greeted by brilliant sunlight which changed colors several times before the ever-present clouds closed in once again.  It was the only time the sun broke through at sunrise for the next two weeks.

DAYBREAK, PATAGONIA
DAYBREAK, TORRES DEL PAINE, CHILEAN PATAGONIA
DAYBREAK, TORRES DEL PAINE
MORNING SUN, TORRES DEL PAINE, CHILEAN PATAGONIA

“The sunlight was a benediction.”

Dan Simmons

And speaking of clouds and fog, they are not always a bad thing for the early morning photographer.  Our travels in Alaska included many brilliant mornings, and very long beautiful sunsets, but the quiet morning stillness of the shot below made it one of my favorites of the trip.

LITTLE CAT FEET
LITTLE CAT FEET, SITKA, ALASKA

The fog was thick and full of light, and sometimes voices.”

Erin Bow

As you can see, although I am not a morning person, I do sometimes rise to the occasion 🙂  In closing, a beach sunrise from my home here on Kiawah, just to let you know that I also do sunrise at home when the mood is right!

SUNRISE, KIAWAH ISLAND
SUNRISE, KIAWAH ISLAND

“It’s hard to be angry when one has seen the sun rise.”

David Gemmell

To see more Golden Hour entries, click here.

77 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Golden Hour II Leave a comment

    • Thanks so much PJB, that first shot is one of my all-time favorites. The filtering sunlight was spectacular. I have SO many shots from that day, which was a gift to me from a good friend. She and I (both photographers) went out with a local professional for a few hours of 1-on-1 coaching. It was a great day in so many ways 🙂

  1. Beautiful, artistic compilation! You have captured the mood of the time of day…I personally particularly love the Angkor images. And well done with those quotes!

  2. great stuff….LOVE the Patagonia work….stunning…have to mention the amazing kiawah sunrise….brilliant….the detail lines in the elephants skin…you certainly captured all of them….wonderful……

    • Thank you Sriram-appreciate your comment, which led me to your blog, which is beautiful!

      Sent from my iPad

  3. Terrific landscape pictures, as always, Tina but I really love how you’ve captured the light falling on the elephant’s skin. The tough skin and the soft light make such an amazing contrast. Love it!

    • Many thanks Uday; that was one of my favorites of the trip–which was of course fantastic!

      Sent from my iPad

  4. The photos are really wonderful, made with a sure feel for the moment. May I say that I like the song even more anyway?

  5. Your photos are breath-taking, Tina and the quotes chosen are absolutely spot on. So enriching. It is impossible to choose favourites – too much beauty, so many different moods…I just let it “sink in”.

    • Thanks Shakti! Actually it was another blogger. My first response was all evening shots and he challenged me to show some sunrise work. So I went back thru my archives to find some of my favorite morning work. I try to post photos with a consistent theme but for this one I did get a bit eclectic!!

      Sent from my iPad

  6. It’s been my pleasure to spend Golden Hours with you on this beautiful journey captured both by your photos as well as ever lasting memories. These shots are all fantastic but what could be better than being next to that elephant! Oh, I know ,staying in that warm bed beside a crackling fire at 4:00 am in Patagonia.

    • Thanks so much dogear! Yes, the long evenings in Michigan made for a perfect evening opportunity, while travel sometimes dictates early rising. Appreciate your support !

    • Thanks so much Ryan! The last one is actually a 5 minute walk from my home. Somehow we tend to focus on the beauty we see in other places rather than in our own backyard. Although I have made a point of shooting here as well!

    • Thanks Robin 🙂 Sometimes we have to leave because it feels so darned good to come back!!! BTW you are suffering the wordpress spam issue. I restored your comment – appreciate your visit!

  7. Wow !! You demonstrated how Light really affects everything !!!

    Internal Illumination w/ the same Creator (or source) as the External Illumination you so beautifully captured to enrich all of us . Thank you Tina,

    Besos, Molly

  8. Beautiful photos. Hard to have a favorite in this group. I really like the morning photo in Ace Basin. And Patagonia shots are amazing. You are expanding my ‘bucket list’ !!

  9. ooh such amazing detail in all these beautiful postings. Especially love the one that looks like gigantic quartz crystal shards – ‘Morning Sun..’
    And elephant is a fav — Darling wrinkles and tender eyelashes 🙂 Thanks T- Stay cool! dsup

Please Tell Me What You Think!

