Skip to content

Weekly Photo Challenge – Foreshadow

“A memory of golden grey, foreshadowing a pale tomorrow.”

Taproot, The Episodes

AMIDST THE ROCKIES
AMIDST THE ROCKIES

Long ago, as a young girl, my parents drove me through the Appalachian Mountains of Pennsylvania on the way to my first day of college.  I can clearly remember a conversation from that trip, which I was reminded of when I considered my response to this week’s challenge “Foreshadow”.

RIDGES AND SHADOWS
RIDGES AND SHADOWS

Shadows present,  foreshadowing deeper shadows to come .”

Herman Melville

I had been admiring the mountains, commenting on how beautiful they were.  My mother, never interested in anything much beyond our  own backyard, concluded that my interest was inherited from my father – who always looked for beauty in nature and often talked about traveling to see the world.

ALPINE FLOWERS
ALPINE FLOWERS

There are things that are not yet, but which cast their shadow before.”

Agatha Christie

Now, I am the first to admit that, like many little girls, my father was my idol.  It seemed to me even at a young age that he had chosen a much more interesting path than my mom.  Her comment that long-ago day foreshadowed what was to become one of my passions – seeing the world and all of the wondrous things in it.

WIDE OPEN SPACES, ALASKA
WIDE OPEN SPACES, ALASKA

“A way foreshadowed is not a way made.”

Donald G. Mitchell

As a nature lover, mountains are high on my list of favorite things.  I’ve been fortunate to have seen and photographed some of the world’s most impressive ranges.  One of my fondest memories was waking up in crisp white linen sheets and down quilts surrounded by the Austrian Alps in the middle of summer.  We’d arrived in the dark the night before and the snow-capped peaks were dazzling as they reflected the morning’s light.

PATAGONIAN PEAKS
PATAGONIAN PEAKS

“Difficulty need not foreshadow despair or defeat.”

William Hastie

On another adventure my husband and I arrived in Denali National Park at about 9pm one evening during our trip to Alaska.  Mount McKinley, the highest peak in North America, was glorious in the deep dusk of Alaska’s midnight sun.  I happily shot away until finally turning in at 11pm.  Little did I know this would be the last time the mountain would be visible during our entire week’s stay in the park.  It remained shrouded in fog, which I later learned is much more the norm than our first night’s clear view.

ROAD TO GLORY
ROAD TO GLORY

Foreshadow, plot buster or red herring… only time will tell.”

Tana French

This summer, my husband and I will add to our mountain experiences as we explore some of China’s majestic peaks.  Who could have known that the wanderlust and sense of adventure foreshadowed so long ago would take me to so many amazing places and introduce me to so many incredible sights.   Here’s to adventure, wherever it takes us!

This week for the first time I’m also posting to Sonel’s Black & White Challenge “Upward” .  To see more of those entries,  click here.  For more “Foreshadowing”, click here.

 

 

136 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Foreshadow Leave a comment

  1. Brilliant post Tina. The black and white approach really helped me to focus in on the unique forms. And your commentary and quotes pulls it all together into a wonderful story about your mountain experiences. Well done. Happy trails in China!

  2. Now I have seen most of the post to this theme and to me, yours is the winner, Tina. It’s the right mix of words and images, memories and wonderful quotes that gives it a deeper meaning and totally captures me. My das was my hero as well, so different from my mother. Your words brings back so much to me right now. Thank you! ♥
    Big hug
    Dina

    • What a lovely compliment Dina-thank you so much! I found this one a bit more difficult than most but once the memory of the moment occurred to me it became a pleasure to write.m happy to have jogged your memory as well!

      Sent from my iPad

    • Thanks Dana! Checked out your site–looks great! I linked my Angkor Wat post of last week since its more travel oriented. If you can edit that, you might change its name to Angkor Wat instead of my name, didn’t realize what was being asked for! See you again with my next travel post, thanks for the invite!

    • Probably true Brad! It would be interesting to see how many girls favor daddy and boys favor mom vs same-sex favoritism!

      Sent from my iPad

    • Thank you Srini, haven’t been bitten by the large format bug…..yet! Appreciate your visit and comment.

      Sent from my iPad

    • Thanks FT! Sadly my mom didn’t share his interest so mostly he only traveled on business

      Sent from my iPhone

Please Tell Me What You Think!

