Skip to content

Weekly Challenge – One Shot Two Ways

“There are only two ways to live your life.  One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle.”

Albert Einstein

ROOTS
TREE

This week we have been challenged to look for opportunities to present the same subject in multiple ways.  Shooting multiple ways is something I do often, and typically I prefer the vertical result although there are always exceptions especially with landscapes.

KNOT
KNOT

“Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity; and I’m not sure about the universe.”

Albert Einstein

In response, I offer a single tree that called for multiple shots. Rather than two, I am sharing three of my favorites as well as a full shot for perspective.

ROOTS IN THE ROUND
ROOTS IN THE ROUND

“Two possibilities exist: either we are alone in the Universe or we are not.  Both are equally terrifying.”

Arthur C. Clark

Finally, a shot of the subject in its entirety:

LEANING
LEANING

“We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect.”

Anais Nin

With a nod to all those who see endless possibilities in the many miracles of nature, I leave you with this well-known line from Joyce Kilmer’s most famous offering: “I think that I shall never see, A poem lovely as a tree.”  True that!

To see more Two Shot entries,  click here.

 

 

98 thoughts on “Weekly Challenge – One Shot Two Ways Leave a comment

  1. Tina, the textures in all of your photos here are exquisite, the fingers of my eyes ( as ee cummings might phrase it) can feel the nubs and edges, rough and smooth, of the bark and roots, and I love the various shades of brown. brown is sometimes a color that doesn’t get a lot of respect. The quotes you’ve chosen are all thought-provoking, especially the Clark passage. Well done!

  2. Cool pix + an ink blot test!
    I see a pumpkin & stem, a clam, & a horses head.
    Ps – Where is lobstah ?
    From your boston /jersey /k fan, dsup
    🙂

  3. Once again, you never fail to impress me with your amazing photography skills! Amazing photographs, great way to respond to this week challenge! Just incredible. 🙂

  4. ” looking at life from both sides now… ” that song came to mind as you took different photos of same subject,,, loved it… Linda

    • Me too Alexandria. We have a tree near my home in SC called Angel Oak that is magnificent (google it for some images). One of these days I will go out and attempt a shoot! Thanks for your lovely comments.

  5. Beautiful shots Tina! One subject, different perspectives and each perspective has a different meaning, a different story:) Great that you’ve posted a shot of the subject in its entirety, it makes the series all the more beautiful.

    • Thanks Uday! It was one of many wonderful specimens but I especially liked the way it was leaning and the way it’s roots clung for dear life! Appreciate your lovely compliment, as alwaysM

  6. Excellent entry …. some strong and powerful tree … great photos, but you always deliver fantastic photos. My pick of this terrific bunch most be – the knot. Just love that close up. Great choice of quotes too. Lovely post.

  7. I like your quote:
    “We write to taste life twice,
    in the moment and in retrospect.”
    Anais Nin
    P.S.:
    After reading Henry Miller’s trilogy
    I read all the books of Anais Nin –
    there are movies too …

  8. The knot shot is definetly the eye of the beast!! Joyce Kilmer’ s “Trees” was my mother’s favorite poem…she recited it perfectly until the end..96 yrs.! Very special Tina!

  9. Love the tree. In thinking about your quotes, there is even another way to see it…..as in your mind’s eye as it will be in its next season when the miracle of renewal begins…..in the moment but with anticipation for the future. That tree looks like it has a lot of stories to tell and more to come. SQ

  10. I love the first shot, the roots lead the eye into the picture really well. It’s interesting to see the full subject alongside the close up shots. And the quotes were a good read too. Thanks for sharing.

    • OMG I hope so John!!! I have shown that photo in a few different environments and have been asked many times what it is 🙂 I need to save your interpretation for the next time I’m asked!! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

    • Thanks Sharon – you’re right! Perhaps that’s what appealed to me in the first place. Its position was quite precarious yet it was definitely not going anywhere!!

    • Yes, that second quote really made me smile! Easy for a man of his genius I suppose!!! And love your comment about the mobility – those roots could be a wheel for sure 🙂

Please Tell Me What You Think!

