Skip to content

Weekly Photo Challenge – The Sea

“Smell the sea, and feel the sky
let your soul & spirit fly.”

Van Morrison

MOONLIGHT
MOONLIGHT BECOMES HER, KIAWAH ISLAND

How appropriate that this week’s challenge should be The Sea.  As many of you know, I am about to leave the beautiful beaches of my island home for an exciting adventure in China.  Our proximity to Kiawah’s ocean,  shown above on a lovely moonlit evening, is one of the things I miss most when my husband and I travel.

SPLASH!
SPLASH!

“The voice of the sea speaks to the soul.”

Kate Chopin

Beautiful though it may be, our beach is a bit steamy in mid-summer, so this past July we journeyed to Michigan’s Mackinac Island.  I was amazed at how similar it was to the Caribbean, complete with waves, sandy beaches, and turquoise waters.   Above, the water splashes against the window of our jet boat ferry as we speed by the Mackinac Bridge.

AMONG THE GLACIERS
AMONG THE GLACIERS

“The heart of man is very much like the sea, it has its storms, it has its tides and in its depths it has its pearls too.”

Vincent Van Gogh

I’ve been fortunate to experience some of the sea’s many faces around the world.  Some examples include the Patagonian Sea off the coast of Chile (above), and the brilliant turquoise of the Adriatic in Dubrovnik (below).

AZURE SEA, DUBROVNIK
AZURE SEA, DUBROVNIK

“There is one spectacle grander than the sea, that is the sky; there is one spectacle grander than the sky, that is the interior of the soul.”

Victor Hugo

Here, the jagged coastline of Spain’s Costa Brava, flowering in mid-September,

FINGERS OF THE COSTA BRAVA
FINGERS OF THE COSTA BRAVA

“What an incomparable creature is the sea!”

Julian Hawthorne

As compared with a calm moment of twilight in the fishing village of Kinsale, Ireland.

TWILIGHT, KINSALE, IRELAND
TWILIGHT, KINSALE, IRELAND

“I need the sea because it teaches me.”

Pablo Neruda

And finally, a summer paddle on the South China Sea off of the coast of Hoi An, Vietnam. 

OUT WITH THE DOGS
OUT WITH THE DOGS

“The sea answers all questions, and always in the same way.”

E.B. White

The lesson, of course, is that unless we leave the comforts of home we will never experience firsthand the many wonders the world has to offer.  So, with that in mind, we’re off on our China adventure.  While we’re away I have no idea what to expect in terms of internet access but I’ll try to check in on my friends in the blogosphere when I can.   If not, catch you next month!

To see more Weekly Challenge entries,  click here.

 

 

159 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – The Sea Leave a comment

    • Hi James! First, thanks for the compliment! Yes, I have a couple of favorites but just a few. I may add a few from China tho. I was very pleased with them I’ll admit 🙂

      Sent from my iPad

  1. your photos are truly works of art. i love the colors, the composition, the way you give life to each one of them, the way you see and project those otherwise simple subjects with respect and compassion…as a professional photographer and as a human being..

      • I don’t live all that close to Mackinaw–I split my team evenly between the Chicago and Indianapolis areas. But I’ve photographed in the UP extensively–four different week-long occasions–and I’ll be up there again (for the fifth time) in early October; it’ll be my first trip to the UP in five years. Truth is, I’ve never been over the bridge; I always travel up there on the west side of Lake Michigan, through Wisconsin.

  2. Tina, all are lovely but I think I like the one of the Mackinac bridge the best. Three special people in my life are from China…my adorable nieces were each adopted from there. Blessings and traveling mercies on your trip.

  3. Wow. They’re all incredibly beautiful. I’m not sure which I like best, though that romantic moonlit shot from Kiawah Island is the one I keep going back to.

    Enjoy China! I can only imagine all the pictures you’ll take there.

  4. What a beautiful varied selection from your far flung travels .
    I’m quite envious 😉
    Kiawah is hard place to beat I can imagine Tina .
    Oh … do have a wonderful trip 🙂

  5. Beautiful pictures! My favourite picture is the one taken in Ireland! I have been waiting for the opportunity to take such a picture all the time.
    Almost no waves, great colours and such a peaceful ambience.
    Cheers,
    Charlie

  6. Beautiful pictures as always, Tina! I like the picture of Azure Sea the most because of its unique composition. That said, each image is beautiful in its own way. The beautiful foreground in ‘Fingers of the Costa Brawa’, the man and his dogs in ‘out with the dogs’ really complete those images.

    • Thanks PJ, yes the colors in Dubrovnik are incredible! The azure sea against the red roofs is one of my favorite photos ever. I posted it a while back on another subject. Appreciate your visit and comment!

  7. Truly beautiful images, especially the Azure Sea. I like the texture and colour.
    Your site is very nice but I find the blue text very hard to read. I’m pretty sure it is not my browser as it only occurs on your site. Do you have some special setting for the schema?

Please Tell Me What You Think!

