Skip to content

Weekly Photo Challenge: Split-Second Story

“It’s amazing how photography can capture just a split second of something exquisite.”

Kiera Cass

THE SINGER
THE SINGER

The thing about photography, and about art in general, is that’s its very personal.  This week, we’ve been challenged by Shane to post a single photo that tells a story. In the shot I’ve chosen, I feel the joy of the musician, the happiness of the moment, and the rhythm of the music comes shining through. The shot is another example of my love of impressionism, which may not be your cup of tea, but somehow it speaks to me.

Those who follow me know I was at our friends’ daughter’s wedding in Austin, TX last week. The capture above, and those that follow, were taken at a Mexican-themed party the night before the main event.

THE BASEMAN
THE BASEMAN

 “Every mistake has a halfway moment, a split second when it can be recalled and perhaps remedied.”  

Pearl S. Buck

I had decided not to travel with my trusty Nikon D/300s and instead took my little Nikon point-and-shoot.  Although it performed well, in the very dim light of the party’s venue it wasn’t quite up to the task of capturing the band.  When I saw the result of my first photo in the camera, it occurred to me that this was a time to turn lemons into lemonade.  I loved the look of the out-of-focus singer in motion, so I set out to capture a few similar shots to make a series. I think my first capture achieves the goal of telling the story through a single shot.  But since I visualized this as a series, I’m including several that I felt worked best as a group.

STRUMMER
STRUMMER

“It only takes a split second to smile and forget, yet to someone that needed it, it can last a lifetime.”

Steve Maraboli

 Are you a fan of artistic creativity or are you a traditionalist? For those who find traditionalism more interesting, I offer my final capture. Here, the guitarist has stopped moving to pose for my camera. He was quite the ham and seemed to enjoy his moment in the limelight. For me, the movement in the earlier photos makes them more interesting, that somehow they do a better job of telling the story. Sure, I could have increased my ISO or used Shutter speed mode to capture the motion without blur, but personally I prefer this approach. But then, that’s why there’s vanilla and chocolate, right?

THE REAL DEAL
THE REAL DEAL

“One tiny decision can change a life. A decision that takes only a split second to make.”

Anita Shreve

To see some of the moments captured by other bloggers click here.

 

94 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Split-Second Story Leave a comment

  1. Love the effect you created both with the band and the background walls. Those walls were so beautifully painted, was checking them out that night. And with your artful treatment, enhances them even more!

    • Thanks Linda! I agree, the walls were extraordinary and are a large part of why the photos work! Thanks for stopping by and for commenting–good eye! Sent from my iPad

      >

  2. I just LOVE this post…..my favorite shot being the opening “the singer”…..just feel that there is an entire book that could be written from this one moment!! I, like U, love the impressionism….so much feeling & emotion….but love the comparison as well…with ‘the real deal’ truly 2 different worlds…2 completely different emotions…at least for me!!

  3. Tina – can’t agree more with you 🙂 One look at the first photograph and I can tell it was an exhilarating performance by the musician. You’ve expressed his passion, his love for music in a very unique and creative way. I doubt if fast shutter speed would have really captured the ‘essence’ of that moment.

  4. the mexican themed party looks like it was so much fun – and I enjoyed your photos – oh – and well said with this dear Tina “The thing about photography, and about art in general, is that’s its very personal.” well said. 🙂 have a nice week.

  5. Absolutely agree with you, the photos with motion makes it more possible to envision the scene and feel the environment of music. Your final shot, the portrait of the musician is a great shot as well, but the motion makes it possible to know that it was a fun night.

  6. The real difference between a photographer and an artist!
    Many times I’ve been asked about which is the best photographic camera? I always answer: “the one you have on hand”! ; isn’t it Tina?

  7. Several years ago these sort of photos would have ended up in my recycle bin! Then I started using art effects on blurred photos that I liked so I could make something out of them. Motion can be difficult to capture well. I rather like your 3rd image, but not so sure about the first two. A post to ponder over this week Tina 🙂
    Jude xx

  8. Interesting.. This one went to Junk… But the others did not appear anywhere… Making progress! Checking my settings again,, thanks for sticking with me on this…

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  9. Tina, marvelous post … and entry. I’m not able to view the original from READER -it doesn’t open up, maybe something wrong with WP. Love the movement in your images. Have a nice weekend now.

    • Hi Viveka- thanks so much! Not sure what’s going on w WP, it worked fine when I checked it and have had no other complaints. Thanks for giving it a look despite the reader issues!

      • I could view and read the whole post from Reader – but I prefer to visit the original. Had loads of problems this evening with adding photos too. That’s internet in a nutshell – great when it works, but frustrating when it doesn’t.

    • Thanks Andrew – yes it was a truly miserable, stormy day in Austin and we ended up overnight in Atlanta after missing our connection but it could have been worse and we were very happy to get home !

  10. In this series… I love the impressionistic approach to the split-second theme, Tina.
    The energy and emotion of music is difficult to capture and I think your first photograph does a terrific rendering 🙂 Makes me want to get up and dance.
    Jane

Please Tell Me What You Think!

