Skip to content

Weekly Photo Challenge -Room

“There’s always room for a story that can transport people to another place.”

J.K. Rowling

HERE COMES THE BRIDE
HERE COMES THE BRIDE

As I was thinking about this week’s ROOM challenge, I had several ideas about how to approach it. So why not let you, the reader, decide which is the most appropriate? First, the capture above, shot several years ago in Cambodia.  Seated in a small room amongst the beautiful ruins of Angkor Wat, I came across this pensive bride. I thought she looked a bit sad for a person about to have one of the happiest days of her life. Here’s hoping she was pondering some small detail of the day, rather than wondering about her upcoming commitment. No room for doubt on one’s wedding day, is there?!

ROOM TO ROAM
ROOM TO ROAM

 “Keep some room in your heart for the unimaginable.”  

Mary Oliver

My second thought was this capture, taken in the vast, incredibly beautiful wilderness of Patagonia. Here, we found ourselves in a place where there wasn’t a whisper of civilization as far as the eye could see. Miles upon miles of room to roam. I remember thinking that if I were a horse, this is exactly where I’d want to be 🙂

ONE-ROOM SHACKS
ONE-ROOM SHACKS

 “Closed in a room, my imagination becomes the universe, and the rest of the world is missing out.”  

Criss Jami

Finally this shot, from our visit to Vietnam. On our way to spend the night on a sailing ship on glorious Ha Long Bay, we passed these bizarre one-room shacks sitting on stilts on the water.  We learned they were fishing huts, each manned by a single fisherman working the local waters.  And here I thought the aliens had finally landed 🙂

So what do you think – which of the three “rooms” is your preferred response and why?

Oh, and one more thing……..Happy Anniversary to me! WordPress happily reminded me that I started Travels and Trifles exactly two years ago this week. Time flies doesn’t it?!

Got room to look at a few more examples? Click here.

 

132 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge -Room Leave a comment

  1. Hello Tina. I like all three but if we have to choose one I think I will be doubting between the first and second photos forever because I just can’t decide which photo I like more. I would hang both on my wall. Excellent photos.
    Kind greetings,
    Marianne

  2. WOW….WOW..I just find myself lost in all of these rooms..just amazing shots…..there is truly a story in each one of them!!! I am most intrigued with the bride pondering SOMETHING …perhaps concerning her???? Hmmmmm…will need to think this one through!!!
    CONGRATS to u…..and to me for being the ‘very lucky’ recipient of your wonderful work. I have thoroughly enjoyed all of ‘our’ travels….has been a fascinating journey! I look forward to more!!
    HAPPY ANNIV!!!

  3. Tina – tried to pick one out but could not! All three of them are superb. The moment captured in the first one, the composition and lighting in the second photograph and the uniqueness of the third one – all worked for me. And finally, congratulations on completing two years! Tina I think I ‘met’ you about a year ago and have since travelled around the world vicariously through your photos 🙂 Thank you!

    • No, thank YOU Uday! For your continued support, lovely comments, and most importantly your inspirational photography. You don’t post often, but when you do I know it will be something very special.

  4. First of all Tina, congratulations on your two year anniversary. Nothing like an anniversary to make you ask “where did the time go?” A year ago we were about to start our trek to Machu Picchu – “where did the time go?” 🙂 Now to your wonderful photos and post, so beautifully put together. Each of the photos is memorable in a different way but for me Room to Roam is the winner. It reminds us that there are still wide open spaces to explore and marvel at in this world of ours. Warmest good wishes as always…Andrew

    • Lucky indeed Sharon! He and a few of his pals had miles and miles of glorious countryside in which to romp. Then again, it gets MIGHTY cold down there in the wintertime!!!

      • When I saw that photo, I thought of another post you did which showed how a photo shows only part of the scene and how only part of the story is told. I was imagining other horses waiting outside the frame.

  5. Well Tina – I know this was written to the world-wide-web of folks – but it felt so personal and as I started reading – and as I was invited to “decide which is the most appropriate” – it was just a nice interactive.

    and my vote is for that first photo. Oh my gosh is that one of my favs of yours. I will try and tone down the energy here – but I like it for at least 6 reasons (1. the pensive mood as you noted, 2. the soft feel of her hand floating in air with the softness of the dress against the harder structure, 3. the tone, 4. the pillars and their placement; 5. the natural – gentle feel of the bride – with her not overly styled and the simple, yet rich feeling of the style and fabric dress…, 6. and that center square – looks like you could walk right in to the frame and go on and on – which by the way – I am done with my comment on this photo – ha!

    anyhow, interesting variety with these three – and it looks like the horse is thinking about some of your quotes – and I was laughing at this comment on the unique one room shacks:
    “here I thought the aliens had finally landed”

    have a nice week Tina –

    • Hi Yvette! Thanks for the lovely comment – I truly appreciate the thought and care you put into it! I agree with your comment about the bride feeling somehow “gentle” – that was particularly well-said. And ya gotta admit those shacks DO look like Alien pods 🙂 You have a great week too.

Please Tell Me What You Think!

