Skip to content

True Colors – Weekly Photo Challenge: Cover Art

“I see your true colors”

Cyndi Lauper

(5 photos)

TRUE COLORS
TRUE COLORS

Having participated in the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge for some time now, I must admit I found Pete Rosos’ challenge “Cover Art” to be one of the most interesting yet. Pete invites us to post photos that might be used as cover art for a book, album, movie, or any other art form of our choice. Since I was playing around with abstract shots featuring the colors of nature earlier this week, it seemed only right that I should choose to illustrate Cyndi Lauper’s famous “True Colors”. My opening shot was a composition that blended the beautiful colors of the twilight sky with the earthtones of a fallen branch.

FRONDS
FRONDS

“True colors are beautiful, like a rainbow.”

Cyndi Lauper

Here in abstract form is a capture of one of Kiawah’s prolific ferns. While the opening photo was made by moving the camera during a long exposure, the motion in this shot was created by slowly zooming in while shooting.

BARK AND BRANCH
BARK AND BRANCH

“Don’t be afraid to let them show, your true colors”

Cyndi Lauper

Again using motion, here my thought was to capture the rays of skylight peeking through the palm fronds versus the solid texture of a tall pine. One of my favorite things about photography is that it causes you to stop and absorb the peaceful moments that might otherwise pass unnoticed. The colors of nature’s palette are really quite amazing when you focus your attention on them.

SPINNING
SPINNING

“Your true colors, that’s why I love you”

Cyndi Lauper

Last week my post featured some of the beautiful yellows and oranges of our state wildflower, the goldenrod, and some visiting butterflies. Here I’ve created an abstract of that same flower by rotating my camera while shooting. I find it interesting how differently you can present a subject by looking at it in a new way.

SOLAR EVENT
SOLAR EVENT

“Shining Through.”

Cyndi Lauper

I’ll close with a capture I made on the beach as the solar eclipse was finishing its brilliant show here on Kiawah. While I had my white balance set on cloudy to add a bit of warmth, I have not otherwise manipulated the colors in the shot. The evening sky was quite something, and although I was very tired after a long day, I was happy in hindsight that I’d made the effort to catch the final solar event of the year.

The thing I most enjoyed about Pete’s challenge is the latitude it provided for being creative. I expect we’ll see a very wide range of responses this week. To check some of them out, click here.

111 thoughts on “True Colors – Weekly Photo Challenge: Cover Art Leave a comment

Please Tell Me What You Think!

