Skip to content

Weekly Photo Challenge: Twinkle

“There is light in the world, and it is us!”

Eliezer Yudkowsky

( 7 photos)

I must admit that Jen Hooks’ challenge this week, “Twinkle” had me scratching my head a bit. ‘Tis the season for twinkle – holiday lights, the star of Bethlehem, Hanukkah’s 6-pointed star. But because my husband and I travel to visit with our families for the holidays, our “decorations” are a bit on the spare side. That notwithstanding, I thought I’d share a capture from our happy little tree.

FORE
FORE

This fellow reflects the fact that my husband and I are golfers, so of course our glass snowman ornament is a golfer too 😊.  And, since no holiday home is complete without the light of a few candles, here are some of ours.

SHINE A LIGHT ON IT
SHINE A LIGHT ON IT

“How far that little candle throws his beams! So shines a good deed in a weary world.”

William Shakespeare

Beyond a look into our holiday home, the things I’d like to share today are the real highlights of Kiawah. Fellow blogger Annette from Beauty Along the Road, who was staying with a friend here on Kiawah, took the time to get in touch with me earlier this month. Together yesterday we visited some of my favorite spots for photography.

DOUBLE IBIS
DOUBLE IBIS

“You’re here to be light, bringing out the God-colors in the world.”

Matthew 5:14

On one of our stops we came upon the two beautiful Ibises above taking in the late afternoon sun. It was one of those moments when everything comes together. The birds, the light, the green of the tree branches…..and a new friend / fellow photographer with whom to share it.

FRONDS
GOLDEN GRASSES

“Deep in their roots, all flowers keep the light.”

Theodore Roethke

On another stop, we came upon a group of marsh grasses beautifully back-lit by the sun’s golden light. They reminded me of a challenge from yet another blogging friend, Jane of Just Another Nature Enthusiast. When I commented that I loved her “Gone But Not Forgotten” quote last week, she challenged me to use it in one of my own posts. So Jane, how’d I do?! I couldn’t decide if I preferred the shot above or the one below, so I’ve included both.

LONELY IN THE LIGHT
LONELY IN THE LIGHT

“Live, love, laugh and let your light shine!”

Rob Liano

Next on the agenda with Annette was a stop to shoot a group of egrets and ibises feasting on the tiny fish that populate the creeks of our beautiful marsh. We were actually driving to another location when I spotted them, so I quickly U-turned to take advantage of yet another Kiawah photographic opportunity.

AFTERNOON'S GLOW
AFTERNOON’S GLOW

“Light is more important than the lantern.”

Nizar Qabbani

Last but not least, I’d like to share a final “twinkle” from our time together here on a winter’s afternoon.  I happily introduced Annette and her lovely friend Asma to one of our favorite residents (in fact several of them), the American Alligator. You can’t tell me that’s not a twinkle in his beady little eye! What do you suppose he was thinking about as we came in close to capture his portrait?

HAPPY GATOR
GRINNING GATOR

“May it be a light to you in dark places, when all other lights go out.”

J.R.R Tolkien

Happily Annette’s visit caught one of Kiawah’s truly beautiful days when the late afternoon light warmed both the temperature and nature’s colors. I thank her for taking the time to reach out to me, and for introducing me to her friend, my sometimes-neighbor Asma. As the sunlight was fading and we were about to head back home, Asma asked me “Does it ever get old?”. I answered No, not so far 😍.  But sometimes it takes the pleasure of sharing it to remind us how very special it really is.

To share in the twinkles captured by some other bloggers, click here.

107 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Twinkle Leave a comment

Please Tell Me What You Think!

