Skip to content

Weekly Photo Challenge – Ephemeral

The ephemeral configuration of things in the moment; we see both their beauty and their death.”

Muriel Barbery

(5 Photos)

MAGNOLIA MEMORY
MAGNOLIA MEMORY

Krista’s challenge this week “ephemeral” is serendipitous for me because of a class I attended this week on the use of textures. While I don’t expect to be using them often, I believe it’s important to work on expanding your knowledge, and that trying something new often re-energizes us in our search for a new perspective. The shot above of a single, dying magnolia was altered using a texture from Frenchkisstextures.com. I thought the texture added to the message of the original photo, speaking to the passage of time and the ephemeral nature of the bloom.

CRACKLED DOGWOOD
CRACKLED DOGWOOD

 “What you see with your eyes is transient and ephemeral. What you see through your heart is everlasting and eternal.”  

Debasish Mridha

I was surprised at the cost of the textures when I visited the websites of some of the major providers. I decided to purchase a few small bundles from French Kiss which seemed the most reasonably priced, and justified my spending with some profits from print sales on my website this past month. 😊

DAISY, DAISY
DAISY, DAISY

“The ephemeral light is an attribute of the body and the flesh.”

Rumi

I played with several floral shots and a number of different textures. I’m really a novice at this, getting nowhere near the examples our instructor shared during the class, but I had fun creating some new versions of a few of my older prints. The shot above was my personal favorite because it feels so light and springy.

IRIS ON GREEN
SHADOWED IRIS

“Substance is enduring, form is ephemeral.”

Dee Hock

Another reason to try a few experiments, as the instructor reminded us, is because we retain knowledge more effectively if we use it soon after exposure. So what do you think? Have you tried working with textures and if so were you able to create some interesting new versions of the shots in your archives?

LOVELY LILY
LOVELY LILY

“The most ideal human passion is love, … and one of the most ephemeral.

George Santayana

If you’re in the WordPress Reader and have an extra moment, click on over to my original post. My favorite textured creation is in my header for the week. 😍  After that, to see what some other bloggers found to be ephemeral, click here.

124 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Ephemeral Leave a comment

  1. The textures are all quite lovely. I have looked at textures, but not experimented with them on my photos. Looking at what you’ve achieved, I need to give them a try.

  2. These textures are truly amazing… I’m a little intimidated by them as it is change and something different, but these shots do make me want to experiment. The Magnolia shots are my favorite…I love the flower itself, but then choosing a dying flower and then with the processing is tremendous. And for your gallery on your website 🙂 just typical Tina brilliance!

    • You’re very generous Rabdall, and I thank you for your lovely comment! I too am a big fan of the magnolia, which I think is beautiful from birth to death. Very unusual for a flower.

Please Tell Me What You Think!

