Skip to content

Half and Half – Weekly Photo Challenge

“Always do what is right. It will gratify half of mankind and astound the other.”

Mark Twain

(4 Photos)

GOOD GRAPHICS
GOOD GRAPHICS

One of my favorite things about last fall’s China adventure was the dichotomy we found everywhere we went. Those who followed those posts know I was fascinated by ancient sites like the iconic Great Wall  and the  Terra Cotta Warriors of Xi’an.  But in addition to those amazing places, I also found some interesting contemporary graphics that caught my eye. For this week’s challenge “Half and Half” – which asks us to share photos that are “split in two”, I thought several of them just might fit the bill.

BLACK AND WHITE
BLACK AND WHITE

“A half-read book is a half-finished love affair.”

David Mitchell

If you’re wondering where I found them, I have no idea 😄; they were simply somewhere along the journey along with the many other wonders we experienced.  I’m normally quite traditional in my taste, and have no contemporary art in my home. But I am somehow drawn to bold graphics such as those above and below, as well as the more classic piece that closes today’s post.

TWO-TONE
TWO-TONE

“Half of seeming clever is keeping your mouth shut at the right times.”

Patrick Rothfuss

As my followers know, I am a big fan of quotations and work hard to find wise words that work with my posts. I want to thank Juls of Les Petit Pas de Juls who, because of that, nominated me to participate in the Three Quotes Challenge. Juls is a blogger who knows well the power of just the right quote at just the right time!  So Juls, consider this my response to your invitation – although I must admit I’ve not quite followed the rules of the challenge. 😉

SHADES OF BLUE
SHADES OF BLUE

“Believe only half of what you see and nothing that you hear.”

Edgar Allan Poe

Finally, because I’ve focused on art for this post, I would like to point you to Andrew Seal of The Changing Palette.  Andrew’s site is one of my favorite blogs. He’s a very talented painter – especially in his use of color and impression. Unlike those of us who highlight our thoughts with quotes, Andrew lets his art speak for itself – and quite beautifully so.

After all that, if you still have time, give a look at the other responses to this week’s challenge here.

75 thoughts on “Half and Half – Weekly Photo Challenge Leave a comment

  1. It is funny you mentioned the dichotomy between the great ancient and historical art/sites that China has versus the contemporary graphics/art that they also produce, as I was talking with a friend of mine in Seattle about this last week. How I have a hard to enjoying China contemporary art because I do not see the country that way… Well done. Great photos and also a great quote by Patrick Rothfuss.

    • Thanks Randall. I found the same thing – I much more appreciated the signs of ancient China like Ping An or the historic sites like Xi’An. BTW, some day if you have extra time, I’d love to hear your thoughts on my posts from China back in Sept/Oct 2013. We’ve traveled a large portion of the world and I found China simply amazing. I’m so glad I saw much of it before the cranes and high rises consumed it.

      • Yes, the development has been fast and in many ways very destructive (although shiny new streets and buildings have their advantages too). I will check out your earlier posts after my trip (off to Elinor and then Utah for a couple weeks…), as I am becoming fascinated by this bizarre split in China’s ‘personality’.

  2. GREAT shots!!! I love that they all have their own story…..truly a lot going on especially in ‘good graphics!! Wonderful EYE!!

  3. Very nice shots, Tina. I like how in every image each half complement’s the other in colour and contrast. It’s interesting how one half can be truly appreciated only when put next to the other.

  4. Certain quotes are very apposite, Tina, and you use them well. Mark Twain and David Mitchell- an unlikely pairing, but both good quotes. Off now to see your symbolic horses. 🙂

    • LOL Andy – artsy, eh? Stepped outside my box this week – then quickly jumped back in for the close-up challenge. A girl’s gotta try something different once in a while, don’t you think?!

  5. I love these minimal abstract shapes Tina as you knew I would. Thank you so much for your lovely words about my blog, they are so very much appreciated, but particularly as they come from someone whose blog has always been one of my favourites. Travels and Trifles is one of the jewels of the blogosphere and I look forward to visiting as often as I can as I always come away enlightened, informed and enriched. My warmest good wishes and sincere thanks once again. Have a great week. 🙂

  6. Very thoughtful post, Tina. Love the artistic twist to it. I suppose as artists – whether we’re painters, illustrators, writers, sculptors musicians – often we think two sides of the story or more than two sides of the story as we create our work. In the end, our work is made up of many, many halves 🙂 Really like these abstract shots, you got an abstract eye 🙂

  7. wow that first quote by Mark Twain, along with that first picture touched me deeply! I loved them! Fit both this week’s challenge and the quote one!
    Thanks for the mention along with the 3 quotes. It’s impressive that they match the photo challenge too. And your pictures always are spot on.
    Great great interpretation of everything!

  8. Lovely and different take on the challenge as always, Tina. My favourite is the first image and the last quote is a gem. Thanks for introducing Andrew to us, I’ll pop over to him now. 🙂

  9. I, too,love the quotes you have found for this week’s challenge; my favourite is the last one about believing only half of what you see. That is very true with the amazing magicians that are around today and also the clever technology that exists.

    • I forgot to add that in regards to the second quote, it’s usually true. But in books, as in relationships, if you don’t choose carefully, sometimes breaking up is the only thing to do. 🙂

      janet

    • Thanks Janet – decided to try something a bit different this time out. Must admit I snuck the last shot in more because it appealed to the usual me vs the out-of-the-box me LOL.

  10. I was wondering how you would interpret this week’s challenge Tina. You have found some interesting quotes – I really like the last one. And shades of blue wins it for me 🙂

Please Tell Me What You Think!

