Skip to content

Weekly Photo Challenge – Creepy

“Perhaps this is the beauty of love, it doesn’t knock. It just creeps in slowly and steadily.”

Tarif Naaz

(7 photos)

FALLING DOWN
FALLING DOWN

Last week during our visit to Colorado, although it was mostly quite beautiful, there were several examples of rather “creepy” sites. Chief among them were the many abandoned mines such as the one above that are literally falling down. Of course we photographers love to focus on decay, so I had no problem at all coming up with some shots in response to Michelle’s challenge this week. 😊 The bigger challenge, I must admit, was finding interesting quotes that worked with the theme.

PREVASIVE PIPE
PERVASIVE PIPE

“Today’s creepy is tomorrow’s necessity.”

Sean Parker

My husband and I had a lovely hike along a river in Boulder which was beautifully accented by wildflowers everywhere. It also offered several examples of semi-creepy overgrown items like the pipe above and the abandoned building below.

WILDFLOWERS AND WINDOW
WILDFLOWERS AND WINDOW

“I’m a creep, I’m a weirdo. What the hell am I doing here?”

Radiohead

The use of black & white or sepia tends to add an element of creepiness or eeriness to many photos. Seeing a shed like the one above in broad daylight with lovely wildflowers is quite different from seeing it in the dark of night, or in a muted sepia. Are we not similar ourselves, in the way our moods can color our appearance to the world ?

BLACK TIRE
BLACK TIRE

Β “Tomorrow, and tomorrow and tomorrow creeps in this petty pace from day to day.”

William Shakespeare

One might think the building above was creepy but in fact it was simply a storage space for a lovely apartment in the heart ofΒ  Boulder. It would seem a bit out of place in a nice neighborhood but was actually hidden in a backyard and out of view of the pretty little residential street.

JUST A WHEEL
WHEEL AND CHAIN

“Creep into thy narrow bed. Creep and let no more be said.”

Matthew Arnold

Finally, there was some interesting industrial equipment that to me felt like it was more suited to monotone treatment. The wheel above and those below were part of an out-of-service dam that found their way to my lens.

THE DAMNED DAM
THE DAMNED DAM

“Love won’t go away. Push it to one side and it creeps to the other.”

Louise Erdrich

Last but not least, a shot of a rusty fence which in full color was lovely but in sepia has a much more austere appearance.

FENCE AND FLOWERS
FENCE AND FLOWERS

“Fate is not an eagle, it creeps like a rat.”

Elizabeth Bowen

We’re off on a new adventure next week – this time to Scotland – so I may not be posting for a few weeks. But I’ll be watching from afar and look forward to sharing lots of new (and probably wet) scenery when I return.😊 If anyone has suggestions for “can’t miss” spots, please do let me know!

To see some other “creepy” entries, click here.

 

44 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge – Creepy Leave a comment

  1. More great photos Tina πŸ™‚ Black and white photography always seems to work particularly well for photos involving man-made things, especially old industrial artefacts. I love the ‘Wheel and Chain’, and the ‘Damned Dam’, but the ‘Fence and Flowers’ is my favourite, even though it’s not very creepy! πŸ™‚

  2. Actually your cover pic is perhaps most creepy of all. Have a great time in scotland, look forward to your pics from there.

  3. A very nice set! The B&W tones render a mysterious, almost other-worldly feel to the images. ‘Fence and Flowers’ is my favourite πŸ™‚ Have a great time in Scotland, Tina πŸ™‚

  4. I love your “creepy” shots–especially the close ups. B & W does add to the creepiness and “abandoned” feeling. Enjoy Scotland! How wonderful that you’re doing so much traveling. I can’t wait to see and hear about your next adventures.

  5. Well seen creepiness Tina. The B n W treatment gives them that feeling of abandonment and well done with the quotes not an easy theme to find them for. I look forward to Scotland through your eyes. Lots of misty moors, lochs and mountains…

  6. Gosh, it’s been too long since I’ve visited! and you are off to Scotland! How wonderful! I do love that shed image with the tire in front. To my eye, the use of monochrome brings out the vintage. Love it

  7. A wonderful post Tina. Like Randall, this post makes me want to visit Colorado very much!
    I hope the weather is kind to you in Scotland. There really is no place like it when the sun shines. I posted earlier in the year from a visit I made when we had wall to wall sunshine our entire trip. It was stunning. That said, some moody weather can create some stunning photographs.
    I studied for my degree in Stirling, four years, and liked it so much, I signed up for another 3 years to study for postgraduate degrees. I loved every minute of it.

  8. The b/w works perfect for ‘creepy’…nice post. Oh man, Scotland…I’m jealous Tina πŸ™‚ Have a great time…can’t wait to see the shots you bring back from there.

  9. Great quotes and photos. Fence and Flowers was also a favourite for me. Have a wonderful trip to Scotland. I’m sure you will be inspired by The Trossachs. I was many years ago. Safe travels.

  10. love these shots…and the quotes!! So true how the sepia/B&W tones instantly change the mood of the photo….YES perhaps a tad creepier feel!! Enjoy the next adventure…look forward to experiencing it myself…through your lens😜

  11. You should contact Sally Cuskley, they will be in Scotland looking at properties for their daughter next weekend. They may lead you to some interesting spots! Love your pictures and your thoughts! Amazing. Let us know when you are back. Marge

  12. Beautiful take on the challenge, Tina. Love how you turned the photos into BW – very cool tones about them and I felt like I was looking at a whole other era. Love the shot of the wheel with the spikes. Not often people pay attention to industrial equipment but these things work so hard to keep the world turning πŸ™‚

    Love the first quote by Naaz. I might use that in a future post at some point. It really is very meaningful to me. Happy and safe travels and take lots of photos πŸ™‚

  13. I’ve yet to experience Colorado and your series of shots and writing just makes me wish for such a visit soon. The final shot, rust and the flowers had a special capture and meaning to this post and it blends in well the great quote from Radiohead (great song) along with your first quote of β€œPerhaps this is the beauty of love, it doesn’t knock. It just creeps in slowly and steadily.” It is great when life works this way ~ slowly being swept up slowing with the great things life offers. Enjoy Scotland and look forward to your views, sights and stories of your next adventure πŸ™‚

  14. The black tire shot was actually my favorite. Happy to hear it was one of the lovelier ‘creepies.’ Scotland? Sounds wonderful! Have fun and I cannot wait to see your photos. Take care, Tina.

Please Tell Me What You Think!

