Skip to content

Impressions of Art – Weekly Photo Challenge

“Art is not what you see, but what you make others see.”

Edgar Degas

ESSENCE OF PROVENCE
ESSENCE OF PROVENCE

In the late 1800s, artists like Monet, Degas, Cezanne and Renoir developed an artistic style that became know as impressionism. It focused on depicting the visual “impression of the moment”, especially as related to light and color. They were known to have been influenced by early photography and were among the first to have painted “en plein air”. Although I truly appreciate all forms of art, I have always been partial to impressionism as my favorite style.

ESSENCE OF PROVENCE-BEFORE
ESSENCE OF PROVENCE-BEFORE

“I have nature and art and poetry, and if that is not enough, what is enough?”

Vincent Van Gogh

The opening capture above is my impression of the original shot which follows it. In Provence, there are vineyards at every turn – one more picturesque than the last. For this week’s Art challenge I’ve attempted to creatively present an impressionist view of several scenes using post-processing tools – including the lovely vineyard scene. For me, the scene spoke of simpler days gone by – thereby leading me to present it in a rather nostalgic way.

LONE EGRET
LONE EGRET

“Art should comfort the disturbed and disturb the comfortable.”

Bansky

Creative courage involves trying new things and pushing boundaries. Although I love nothing more than a wonderful photograph, I also admire those who step outside the box and use imagination to create another view entirely. I am the first to admit that my skills with textures and effects are seriously limited but I do enjoy playing with images now and then to see what might result. My goal with the capture above was to create an ethereal feel similar to my own impression as I made the shot here on Kiawah early one morning.

LONE EGRET - BEFORE
LONE EGRET – BEFORE

“Every form of art is another way of seeing the world.”

Claudia Gray

WHITE HORSE
WHITE HORSE

“In art as in love, instinct is enough. ”

Anatole France

I’ve seen many horses in my travels, but it seems white horses are the most elusive and rare. I captured this beautiful creature during a visit to La Camargue in Southeast France. The region is known for its beautiful salt marshes and its white horses. To me they are rather ghostly in appearance, but in an appealing way. My interpretation is an attempt to portray that quality.

WHITE HORSE - BEFORE
WHITE HORSE – BEFORE

“Art is not a thing; it is a way. ”

Elbert Hubbard

PEACEFUL MOMENT
PEACEFUL MOMENT

“A work of art which did not begin in emotion is not art.”

Paul Cezanne

The final image captures a truly peaceful moment on one of Kiawah’s smaller lagoons. There our many species of water fowl, in this case bufflehead ducks, find calm waters and a variety of small fish and grasses on which they can feed undisturbed. I wasn’t especially happy with the original capture (below) which I found a bit busy. But after de-saturating it and applying some textures I felt it better delivered the peaceful impression that struck me while shooting the scene.

PEACEFUL MOMENT - BEFORE
PEACEFUL MOMENT – BEFORE

“Art is literacy of the heart.”

Elliott Eisner

Like the impressionists before us, the best artists bring heart and emotion to their work. They achieve success when the viewer not only sees their work but also feels it. Here’s to the effort as much as the result.

Happy Valentine’s Day to all! If you’d like to learn more about impressionism, click here. 

118 thoughts on “Impressions of Art – Weekly Photo Challenge Leave a comment

  1. Well you have certainly created beautiful artworks. I like the egret & the ducks the best. Although the original duck pic is busy, it must have looked lovely in real life, with those reflections.

    • Hi Maamej and thanks for your visit. Yes the ducks were VERY peaceful but the foliage around their little pond was quite a mess!!! I think they like it that way though as it gives them places to hide from predators.

  2. Lovely work, Tina. I share your love of impressionism. I think my favorite is the first–the essence of Provence. You’ve really “nailed” it with the choice of the photo, the textures, and colors.

  3. Amazing impressionists photos Tina S!
    Love them all ! The colors are more subdued yet the feelings express exactly what a Monet masterpiece would project.
    Fantastic !

  4. So, so cool! I would love to have the skills and time to play around with something like this … maybe someday! And your skills are far from basic; these are spectacular!

    • Thanks so much Lex – I’m lucky to have the time to play with techniques like these. I’m sure you’d love experimenting with them when things settle down for you. thanks for stopping by!

Please Tell Me What You Think!

