Skip to content

Dance – Weekly Photo Challenge

Everything in the universe has rhythm. Everything dances.

Maya Angelou

GREAT BLUE
GREAT BLUE

This week Ben challenges us to find the beauty of dance in unexpected places. To me, the flight of the graceful wading birds that surround us here on Kiawah offers a perfect example. Wings spread, powerful digits extended, they create their own music as they soar across our creeks and ponds.

Woodstork taking flight
LIFTOFF

“Dance is a delicate balance between perfection and beauty.”

Author Unknown

One of my favorite memories comes from a moment I experienced while walking the fairway alone one morning. As I was meandering in the total quiet, I heard an amazing sound. It was the swoosh-swoosh of hundreds of coordinated wings from a flock of wood storks moving in perfect unison directly overhead. The zen-like gift offered by their precise V-formation has stayed with me for years.  In my opinion no dance could possibly have been choreographed more beautifully.

Finally, I offer two captures of great white egrets that I shot using a slow shutter speed to illustrate the graceful motion of their flight.

Great White Egret
ANGEL WINGS

How can we know the dancer from the dance?”

William Butler Yeats

EGRET ON THE WING
EGRET ON THE WING

Dancing faces you towards Heaven, whichever direction you turn.”

Terri Guillemets

To see some other bloggers’ interpretations, click here.

 

97 thoughts on “Dance – Weekly Photo Challenge Leave a comment

  1. ok – last comment from me as I stalk your blog this morning – ha! but it feels nice to get caught up.
    I really like how you chose birds for the dance theme –
    and your artsy share with the last two shots at slow speed are like whisps of air –
    I once went out and saw some low flying geese – honking and not so graceful – but it was moving inside to see….. and the way you describe your early meandering was magical -and would love to have witnessed the “zen-like gift offered by their precise V-formation”

  2. Love how you capture their cute feet dangling as they lift off Tina.
    So creative doing the slow shutter speed… Gorgeous .. Thanks for sharing the beauty & your talents !

  3. Beautiful words, beautiful shots, Tina. Birds certainly have their own kind of dance, and so creative of your to equate their flying formations with a kind of choreography. So apt. It must be in their nature to do so. Love the slow shutter speed shots – the birds look like mythical beings 🙂

  4. I fully agree with you, the flight of these gracious birds is like a dance! Love your slow shutter speed images too, Tina. Beautiful response!

  5. These are just beautiful Tina! I absolutely love love love your Angel Wings shot and Egret on the Wing – they are works of art! Can I ask how slow you set your shutter for these shot? I am curious as the effect is just breathtaking. Debby

    • Hi Debby, and thanks so much! The shutter speed on Angel Wings was 1/5 with an Aperture of f/4.8; Egret on the Wing as 1/4 second, same aperture.Trust me, lots of trial and error goes into shots like these! The beauty of digital memory 🙂

  6. Beautiful, Tina. I especially love the third image. So airy light.

    I have just visited the dance exhibition about the famous Pina Bausch at the Bundekunsthalle in Bonn.
    She said: I’m not concerned about how people move, only what moves them.

Please Tell Me What You Think!

