Skip to content

Half-Light: Weekly Photo Challenge

“Every day you play with the light of the universe.”

Pablo Neruda

HALF-LIGHT, SAN FRANCISCO
HALF-LIGHT, SAN FRANCISCO

Krista’s challenge this week invites us to share a photograph of the magical half-light between dusk and darkness.  She further challenges us to tie our choices to a favorite story or lyric. As I thought about my choice, a capture I made as evening settled in during a visit with good friends in San Francisco, I thought of the lyrics to a favorite Simon and Garfunkel song “Bridge Over Troubled Water”.

BUCOLIC BRIDGE
BUCOLIC BRIDGE

“There is light in darkness, you just have to find it.”

Bell Hooks

For me, the thing about the lyric is the comforting thought that although we all face trouble at least occasionally, someone will be there to catch us as we fall, to light our way through the darkness, to offer a shoulder to cry on when it is most needed.

BRIDGE OF ZHOUZHUANG
BRIDGE OF ZHOUZHUANG

“If you have knowledge , let others light their candles in it.”

Margaret Fuller

For me bridges signify a connection – not only between opposite shores but also between souls – between friends, lovers, even strangers. There is so much that connects us if only we would  take the time to recognize what we share rather than that which divides us.

BUCOLIC BRIDGE
DISTANT BRIDGE

“Kindness is the light that dissolves all walls between souls, families, and nations.”

Paramahansa Yogananda

This past week my husband and I completed our move to our new home. Unfortunately I then managed to come down with a nasty flu which I am convinced resulted from the stress of moving.  Of course, none of that matters a bit when we look at the sadness visited upon our neighbors in Belgium.  Let us hope that the world’s darkness turns to light sooner rather than later.

Wishing you a light-filled week ahead.

86 thoughts on “Half-Light: Weekly Photo Challenge Leave a comment

  1. beautiful – and out of all the quotes from this post – your words are my fav….

    “For me bridges signify a connection – not only between opposite shores but also between souls – between friends, lovers, even strangers.”

    so true….

  2. The topic for this week must have brought a smile to your face (even amid all the chaos and turmoil moving and the flu brings…ugh), but you sure know how to work the light…and a great quote from Pablo Neruda to open the series “Every day you play with the light of the universe.” Hope you are feeling better ~

  3. Pleased to hear you are settled into your new home Tina, but hope the stress induced flue is now gone. Such lovely images they all could be framed and hung up to be appreciated.

  4. What is it about a bridge! Love looking at the difference in architecture, love riding over them on the bike, and seeing photos of them. Love all the images!

  5. Beautiful choice, Tina! I loooove the song that you’ve mentioned 🙂 And yes, let’s hope for and create a better world… with freedom and no fear in our hearts! Wishing you lots of happy days in your new home!

  6. absolutely MAGICAL shots….I can just feel lost in every one of them!!😜 All truly beautiful..visuals as well as words….here’s to u feeling better & enjoying your NEW adventure🍷🍸

  7. there is something about bridges that speaks of hope and friendship – as opposed to walls which separate and divide. a great interpretation of this post. thanks for sharing.

  8. 🙂 It appears you like water just as much as I do.
    I don’t know which picture Iike best – I think it’s the first and the third one.
    Hope you had a very nice Easter? 🙂

  9. Tina, congratulations on your new home! I’m very happy for you and your husband. I totally agree that stress can actually bring on illness and I hope that you are on the mend. I love your submission for this week’s challenge. Bridges are very symbolic for me; I often dream of them, especially when I am faced with a major decision. Beautiful words and images!

    • Hmmm…a bridge would be a very logical dream when involved in a decision, wouldn’t it?! Thanks for your lovely thoughts grace. Slow to recover on this one but getting there, thanks!

      • I’m so glad to read you are on the road to recovery, Tina. It has been a long time since I was hit with the flu, but remember well how frustratingly long it takes to feel 100% again!

    • Thanks Dor, sadly there’s nothing quick about this flu. Still a bit laid low but feeling better. Thank goodness I love the new house. Been spending a LOT of time in it!!

    • Hi there Seonaid and thanks. Yes, good eye, the last shot was the Harry Potter bridge taken from the very try to the field that precedes it. Such a beautiful country you have there!

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  10. Beautiful images all round, Tina. Love how you managed to get a bridge in all of them as well. Brilliantly down. Ah, a classic song that is Bridge Over Troubled Water. I remember singing that song growing up. Agree with you that we should all focus on sharing and what we all have in common – that could be the stepping stone for us to see the beauty in difference. Take care and don’t stress too much. Spring is coming your way and you need to get out 🙂

  11. These are beautiful photographs and even more beautiful thoughts of our connections with those around us. I hope you’re feeling better soon and don’t have what I have. I sound like I’m barking up a lung….. Very dainty and feminine! ML

    • Thanks very much Christina. That was actually a pretty little scene that we came across in New England last summer. Never know what might be around the next corner!

  12. I shouldn’t be online, but everyone else is taking a nap while the lamb is roasting, so here I am to enjoy your lovely post. I think my favorite is the third shot, the one from China. But they’re all peaceful and full of the connections you mention in the words of you post.

    Happy Easter!

    janet

    • Thanks very much Janet – hope the lamb was delicious! How nice to think of you surrounded by family for a special holiday meal. Easter was always a very special day in my family growing up but since we’ve moved away and the family has spread out we don’t typically get together for it any more. Appreciate your using your break for a quick visit!

  13. Beautiful photographs! One of my favorite songs as well “Bridge Over Troubled Waters” – and your words regarding bridges – I feel after all that has gone on – most recent Brussels we all need to stay connected in so many ways.

  14. Fabulous and inspiring post as always, Tina. What a gorgeous selection of bridges for the challenge. 🙂 Glad your move is done and hope you’re feeling much better soon. You’re so right about our problems being infinitesimal when compared to the tragic and heartrending events in Brussels.

  15. Really stunning images, Tina! I especially love the bay waters beneath the Bay Bridge. Wishing you every happiness in your new home!! Praying for peace.

    • ROO!! How nice to see you pop up – but of course you would know the Bay Bridge immediately. Was talking about you this week with a new neighbor who lived in PGH – recollected a few visits to shadyside 🙂 Thanks for dropping by

  16. Bridge Over Troubled Water was Lynn and my wedding theme. It has served us as a reminder of each other’s support for 45 years. As usual, beautiful photos fit the theme of the challenge. My favorite image is the bridge over the canal!

  17. Lovely images, Tina. I share your hopes that together we can create a bridge to a better world. I hope you feel better very soon and I wish you great happiness in your new home.

Please Tell Me What You Think!

