Skip to content

SPARE (Time): Weekly Photo Challenge

“You have no minute to spare… All you have is to dare”

Israelmore Aviyor

AT REST
AT REST

In early June my husband will be celebrating a landmark birthday and I have been hard at work getting ready for it with some time-constraining activities (which shall remain unmentioned since he is a follower of my blog!). Hence my lack of a post last week and a short one this week.

BLUE ON GREEN
BLUE ON GREEN

“There’s time enough, but none to spare.”

Charles W. Chesnutt

When I got word this week, however, that there would be another trip to the bird rookery I posted about here last year, I had to make time to participate. So, I was up at 5:30 and off to shoot the baby birds at a friend’s private farm. (Those who know me know mornings are NOT my favorite time but ya gotta do what ya gotta do!)

PERCHED
PERCHED

“Gather the flowers but spare the buds.”

Andrew Marvell

The farm did not disappoint. There were even more birds than the previous year and I cannot wait to share them in future posts. However, for something a bit different I thought I’d take a simpler, time-saving approach this week and include some of the dragonfly (or damselfly-hard to be sure) captures that I made at the end of the visit. We spotted them by chance as we were leaving the rookery. Their little faces reminded me of puppies with their big eyes –  they are well known for their incredible eyesight and amazing speed.

Enjoy the week, and if you have a few moments to spare, have a look at some of the other entries on the topic.

60 thoughts on “SPARE (Time): Weekly Photo Challenge Leave a comment

  1. The detail on the dragonfly is gorgeous. Well done with your spare time. I haven’t been able to settle on a entry for this week’s challenge that makes me feel satisfied!

  2. I’m looking forward to your birds but in the meantime the dragonflies are very quirky & delightful. Happy birthday to hubby, have a great birthday :).

  3. You certainly had a sharp eye there. Brilliant shots of the dragonfly, and well done on making its colours of green and blue shine through. Love the pattern on its wings – almost makes its wings look like little nets. Well worth the early wake-up, and as a fellow sleep-in person, I understand your struggle that morning 😀

    Good luck with the celebration and hope it will be a good birthday. Pretty sure there will be cake 😀

    • thanks Mabel – they’re really beautiful when seen up close. Hard to recognize the detail live because they are so quick but they show up wonderfully on camera!

  4. Well caught Tina they are difficult as they dart around so quickly and yes when I looked at their little faces they do rather look like pug dogs. I look forward to your bird sanctuary photos. I remember them from last year. Find it hard to believe it was a full year ago your were there…

  5. Nothing quite like getting up early in the morning 🙂 While it can be painful, from these shots (especially the Blue on Green) and your bird shots it seems it was well worth it. Good to hear the spring is treating you well, and good luck on the celebration:-)

    • Thanks Randall – yes it’s a definite stretch for me but always ends up being worth the effort. Birthday celebration coming up on saturday. Fingers crossed all goes well. Lots of people flying in so hoping the weather cooperates

    • LOL, you know I do it when the opportunity is good enough GF – exhibit A, sunrise shooting in Patagonia. I can still feel the freeze of leaving that toasty warm yurt 😊

  6. Happy bday to the hubs – and glad you could spare some time to share this purdy dragon-damsel fly – the wings in the second photo was my fav takeaway – such intricate stuff – and the blue amidst all this green- have a good week T- ☀️☀️

  7. When I read “puppies ” on your blog, I had to reply. I’m about to board a plane to Charleston, returning to nyc, well, CT, 2 hours later, with a little baby sister for Toffee! He’s been our solo dog since we gave Sundae a loving farewell early this past week. But not for long!

    ❌🐶❌ Suz

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  8. Happy weekend, nice close up photo’s I wanted to take the time to say thank you for coming by my blog. I am posting day 4 on face today. Bless you, ~Jackie your fan

Please Tell Me What You Think!

