Skip to content

Chihuly Glass – Weekly Photo Challenge, Details

“At the root of creativity is an impulse to to understand, to make sense of random and often unrelated details.”

Paul Caponigro

CHIHULY DETAILS
CHIHULY DETAILS

This week we are challenged to show the little things, the details that make up the whole. Having recently visited the Chihuly Garden and Glass exhibit in Seattle, I thought I’d share some of the details of his amazing creativity.

COUPLED
COUPLED

“Details create the big picture.”

Sanford Weill

I will admit that I’m not typically drawn to contemporary art, nor to glass, but one cannot help but be amazed at the sculptures Dale Chihuly can create. His creations have been featured in over 200 museums worldwide including The Louvre in Paris, the Victoria and Albert Museum in London and the Tower of David Museum in Jerusalem.

RED AND YELLOW
RED AND YELLOW

“Art is beauty, the perpetual invention of detail, the choice of words, the exquisite care of execution.”

Theophile Gautier

Interestingly, if you go to Chihuly’s website the first thing you see in the page about him is his quote “The magic is in the light.”  It’s a message that rings true to the photographers and artists among us, but not one I’d have associated with glass-blowing. In hindsight, I would agree that indeed his work is magical in large part because of the way the pieces absorb, reflect and magnify the light.

CHIHULY IN SEATTLE
CHIHULY IN SEATTLE

“Beware of the man who won’t be bothered with details.”

William Feather

I loved the way Seattle shone through the glass building which featured red and yellow glass flowers (shown in detail in the previous shot).

SAIL AWAY
SAIL AWAY

“In photography, the smallest thing can be a great subject. The little human detail can become a Leitmotiv.”

Henri Cartier-Bresson

The capture above was my favorite piece. The brilliance of the colors, reflected in a mirror below, was amazing. I’ll never think of a rowboat the same way again 😊.

Sometimes when the world around us presents horrors beyond our understanding it helps to take a moment to focus on some of the world’s beauty.  Wishing you all a week of peace.

77 thoughts on “Chihuly Glass – Weekly Photo Challenge, Details Leave a comment

  1. Wonderful photos, and yes…another site that literally is a few blocks away, and yet to visit (seriously, what is wrong with me?!? 🤔). Your opening shot is fantastic.

    • LOL, thanks Randall. I think this one is high on the “touristy” list but I was a tourist so I made the effort. I suspect most locals just don’t get around to it!

  2. This post brought back great memories of Chihuly. I cannot actually remember where we saw the exhibit but I remember thinking I would not be too impressed, as like you, I am not instinctively drawn to glass, but these works are SO creative and SO colorful and SO unique one cannot help but be impressed by them. Thanks for sharing!!

    Peta

  3. Love the colors and your creativity in capturing this unique subject. I recall having hot air balloons drifting overhead – not a camera priority – but I just had to click away to try and capture the brilliant colors against a robin egg sky.

  4. Tina, I have long been a fan of Chihuly, is work never ceases to amaze me. So glad you used him for this week’s challenge, I never tire of seeing photographs of his creations! xx

  5. What an amazing contemporary glass art exhibitoin by Dale Chihuly. “The magic is in the light.” Such a profound phrase. As your captures show, with light, there is colour. With colour, often comes the feeling of life and being alive. And when there’s light and life you’ll come to see the finer things that make each of us, us. Beautifully composed shots, Tina. Funny how when we aren’t drawn to a kind of photography we usually end up taking a bit of a liking to it 🙂

    • Thanks Mabel. Love your comment about light and life. So much sadness out there these days. If only abut of light and color could change the world. Sent from my iPhone

      >

  6. Beautiful! I always love to see his work. I just saw a piece in a museum in PA this past weekend, but my favorite exhibit ever was at the Garfield Park Conservatory in Chicago, where his glass sculptures nestled into all the greenery. Your photos are great!

      • Then it is new. I will have to check it out the next time I visit. I think he was supposed to be involved in the glass museum in Tacoma but pulled out for his own project.

  7. In this darkness , I love that your choice of Chiluly’s wonderful colors brought some joy today! Thank you for always taking a higher road than we seem to be traveling.

  8. Hi T,
    What an amazing exhibit and your pictures capture it so well. Assume you are not missing the brutal heat here!!! Miss you girlfriend!

  9. He is one of the most well-known American contemporary glass artists, and his work is greatly influenced by nature. You’ve honored his work in your images. A few of his pieces have hung in our local museum for years.

  10. I really like how you present Chihuly’s work, Tina. I saw an exhibition in a botanical garden in Florida some years ago and thought his art, the very special setting and nature made a magic appearance. This is a lovely take on the challenge.
    Sunny greetings from Norfolk,
    Dina & co

  11. These are wonderful captures Tina of some incredible work. I love the sculpture in the glasshouse. Amazing. Indeed light is what drives our photographic creativity and your photographs clearly demonstrate how working with glass is about working with light too. Transparency and reflectivity (is that a word?) are clearly key.

    • Thanks very much Adrian. Incredible is the perfect word for his art. Somehow they’ve managed to capture it in the very best light making it that much more amazing. >

  12. Thank you Tina, we are going there in two weeks and frankly didn’t think I would enjoy it all that much, now I am excited to see..thanks to you….Lee Anne

  13. Thought of you this morning, Tina, as I ground my Charleston Coffee Roasters Organic Kiawah coffee beans. Our local museum had a Chihuly exhibit several years ago. The best one we have ever had. I am so glad you selected his work for ‘details.’

    • LOL, hope it was delicious Lois. Must say I haven’t heard of Kiawah coffee beans – will have to give them a try! It seems Chihuly may have hit every major city to some degree – incredible isn’t it? Glad you had a chance to see it! >

  14. I saw that exhibit a couple of times. You have captured all of that beauty in your photographs! Well done. Hope you are having a great time out West! Miss you. Joan

Please Tell Me What You Think!

