Skip to content

Vineyard Views – Weekly Photo Challenge: Narrow

“Go wherever the narrow way passes.”

Israelmore Ayivor

NARROW ROWS
NARROW ROWS

I admit it; I don’t like wine. There, I’ve said it. My husband, a world-class oenophile, might have reconsidered marrying me if I’d felt that way when we first met. (just kidding……or maybe not!!)  What I DO like, are vineyards. Ripe with grapes, just harvested, newly planted – you name it, they’re a photographer’s dream.

RED ROOF
IN THE FOOTHILLS

“Pursue some path, however narrow and crooked, in which you can walk with love and reverence.”

Henry David Thoreau

Happily, most vintners don’t mind my wandering through their countless rows of wine-to-be while my husband happily samples their wares.  Admittedly, there have been many occasions when I’ve stared glassy-eyed as he expounds with other like-minded wine lovers on the earthiness/fruit=forward/tennis ball in the mouth (REALLY?!??!) qualities of one vintage versus another.  On those occasions I’ve felt a bit like ET must have felt before he was able to Phone Home 😊.

ON THE VINE
FRUIT OF THE VINE

“A narrow neck keeps the bottle from being emptied in one swig.”

Irish Proverb

Perhaps my favorite thing about visiting vineyards is that wine lovers to a person all seem to know and appreciate good food. Count on it – where there are vineyards, there will definitely be wonderful restaurants. Now THERE’s a quality that gets my attention.  Walla Walla Washington, where these captures were made, was no exception. Good food. beautiful weather, good photo ops and a happy husband? Priceless!!

save salmon

“Small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.”

Matthew 7:14

In closing, I shot the advertising poster above in one of the vineyards we visited because a) it made me laugh and b) when explained it made perfect sense.  The Walla Walla vineyards join others across Oregon and Washington in protecting water quality and bio-diversity for native salmon. They do so by planting trees on streams, growing cover crops to control run-off, and applying natural methods to control weeds and pests. Who knew?!

Cheers – whatever your libation of choice – until next week.

 

69 thoughts on “Vineyard Views – Weekly Photo Challenge: Narrow Leave a comment

  1. Oh, yes, Tina! Vineyards are a stunning theme for any photographer. I love to follow the seasons passing by, watching the colours changing and the cycle of life in a single vinegrape. Wonderful post, Tina!! Cheers 🙂

  2. I’m sorry I haven’t been here in so long…taking a look now to catch up a little. The salmon are being saved all over the PNW – even looking down at the sidewalk on a busy street corner, one sees brass signs about clean water draining into the sound, for the salmon. Yes, it’s pretty cool! I like the processing – looks like you had fun with these photos!

    • Well thanks for stopping back in Lynn, and for all of your comments on my recent posts. Had totally forgotten you were in the PNW, BUMMER! Will catch you next time 🙂

  3. That’s really interesting about protecting the water quality. It would be good if all vineyards partook of that behaviour. I like the odd glass of wine but not enough to tell them apart. Lovely picturesque images.

  4. Great post T. Brings back fond memories of our trip to Napa/Sonoma. Too bad I didn’t learn the phrase “I’d like to revisit that wine” at the beginning of our trip!! Great photos and wonderful comments. Do they serve Cosmos at the wineries???

    • LOL, sadly no cosmos, hence my wandering the vineyards while others partake of the offerings. Hmmmm…..”revisit”…I must share that w my beloved!!! Always great to hear from you GF!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  5. Interesting fact there at the end. Lovely to know that vineyards keep clean water going. As long as none of the juices and wine flow back into the water 😀 I don’t drink, but I love a good vineyard view. Brilliant shots 👌

  6. What a great way to show narrow, beautiful pictures! Living in the Okanagan Valley in British Columbia, I get to see vinyards every day, but I did not know about the tennis ball description either. I’ll have to remember that if we go wine tasting, thank you for sharing.

  7. I love wine, but I hope the bit about the tennis ball was a joke 😉 I prefer the mint and chocolate with vanilla and liquorice – maybe not all in the same glass!
    And I love the first image – has a painterly texture to it. Been on the effects again Tina?

    • Thanks Jude, but no, that one was straight out of camera! Tho I must admit I thought these might be worthy of some experimentation. Perhaps in a later post! RE the flavors, I agree! But if you think about it, she meant it touched all the sensors of the mouth so was actually a pretty good analogy!

  8. As usual, I love your photos and I especially love these quotes. We are headed to Sonoma next week and you inspired me to get my camera out again. And, I’m not much into wine either. Champagne – YES! Glad you and Bailey are enjoying your summer.

  9. We live fairly close to a small vineyard and I’ve visited a couple of times. Those rows are a sight to behold and admire. I do like wine but prefer light and fruity which I’m pretty sure is not what your husband his peers are enjoying. I like the poster too. 🙂

  10. OMG I WISH I didn’t like wine…maybe I can learn😜 Just wonderful details in these shots….also love the advertising poster….sort of dreamy……….🍷

    • Thanks Isadora. We’ve spent time in vineyards in France, Argentina, and Chile as well beautiful Napa and Sonoma. These in Walla Walla were up there with the best of them. Well worth a visit

  11. Great post, Tina. I love how you describe the way oenophiles describe wine! Your husband would love the documentary on Netflix that my husband and I watched on the ASI international sommelier competition. I can see what you’re up against. 🙂

  12. I enjoy wine, the taste, if it’s good or bad, and there’s the extent of my wineogology. I’ve never heard the tennis ball one, but it made me laugh! Thanks for a great post!!

  13. Oh, Tina–I had to laugh at the descriptions wine lovers give of the taste. I love the movie “Sideways” for that reason. Charcoal and leather? Really? I’m drinking that? Great post.

Please Tell Me What You Think!

