Skip to content

Victoria Harbor Fun

“There is no pleasure in having nothing to do; the fun is having lots to do and not doing it.”

Andrew Jackson

TUBBY TAXI
TUBBY TAXI

On my 30th birthday my younger brother sent me a card.  Inside he wrote “Happy Birthday.  Don’t ever grow all the way up.”   Many years later I can still see that card as if it were yesterday.  I’m sure by now he’s long forgotten his message but it has stuck with me longer than I care to admit.

HARBOR FERRY
HARBOR FERRY

“Never get so old that you forget about having fun.”  

Tom Giaquinto

Sometimes as grown-ups fun means forgetting how silly we look and just enjoying the ride – as we did in the Victoria Harbor Taxis above. It means focusing on the thrill rather than the danger – like not worrying about whether the rusty joints of the un-inspected harness will hold as you parasail high over the ocean on an island vacation.  Or giving in to the turning of your stomach as the helicopter pilot decides to give you a nosedive thrill landing on a remote glacier.

JUJU AND VIRGO
JUJU AND VIRGO

“Have fun, even if it’s not the same kind of fun everyone else is having.”

C.S. Lewis

My husband is a master of having fun. Although he has a serious side, he lives his life with an amazing sense of joie-de-vivre. Perhaps that’s why everyone says he’s so young for his age. Truth be told, a great many of the fun things I’ve done in my life have been a direct result of his urging. He is always pushing for us to go, to do, to explore, to have the next adventure – and so we have 😄

SHIPYARD
SHIPYARD

“The purpose of water is to drink it but we swim in it for the fun of it.”

S.A. Tawks

As we wind down this summer’s adventure, we’ve added some wonderful memories to our list. One very special one was our day with the orcas in Victoria which I posted about earlier this month. Before and after that experience, we enjoyed some fun activities in the harbor, highlighted above.  For now we’ll take a lesson from the happy harbor seals pictured below and relax a bit before summer ends and we wonder, as always, where it went!

FLOATING BLISS
FLOATING BLISS

So, back to my brother.  This year his daughter and her new husband quit their jobs, rescued a puppy, and are setting off on a rock-climbing adventure in their self-outfitted, refurbished camper. Sounds like the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree doesn’t it?!

To see what everyone else is doing for fun, click here.

 

82 thoughts on “Victoria Harbor Fun Leave a comment

  1. Lovely series, colours are fantastic. Are these from the Canadian West Coast?I do think if you strive to have fun in everything you do you will always seem to have an aura of youth about you. That is a great way to live! Have a great day

  2. Great view of life Tina, and I think if those around you also hold the same attitude of you of never growing all the way up, life will continue to be exciting and full. This is definitely reflected in your photos and adventures while photographing 🙂 The youth of summer with your photos along with your words are a good inspiration for staying relaxed and going with the flow 🙂

  3. Great post, Tina. I love your brother’s birthday message. It sounds like you married the right man to keep the fun aspect of living a part of your lives. Gorgeous photo of the orcas. The C S Lewis quote should be everyone’s motto. Perfect! 🙂

  4. These photos are the epitome of fun! The colors, the themes, and your words that go along with them all send the message that life should be fun (at least in part!).

  5. This looks like it was a great time, Tina! So much fun! I agree, remembering how to enjoy ourselves is important no matter how old we are. I really enjoyed looking at your pictures. xx

  6. What a fun, frivolous and yet reflective post … So glad you and B continue to ” seize the day” … Love those colorful boats!

  7. All your quotes resonated with me this week … as did the message of the post. The harbour seals are funny. I’d love to float on my back without a care in the world. Have a wonderful August. I’m filling mine with fun !

  8. Super post, loaded with FUN images. Victoria is on my list of places to visit! I just need to get to planning, and doing, and stop talking about it.

  9. Wonderful photography, as always! Do you find it difficult to take pictures on such an overcast day? I find that it messes up my aperture settings and it’s hard to get the right exposure. Well, for me anyway!

    • I don’t have a problem with aperture settings on overcast days. It tend to shoot as little of the sky as possible since it’s so darned boring! Ya gotta take what you get when you’re traveling tho so we do what we can, don’t we?!

  10. Wonderful post – really enjoyed it. My husband also is the one who brought joy into my life. Before him, I had never gone hiking or spent much time outdoors. Now – the very things I love, he brought to my attention. You really took beautiful pictures. Thank you so much for sharing!

  11. I LOVE this post!!!! I am already fantasizing about a Victoria tubby taxi ride….I am just blown away by this shot….WHAT FUN!!! Truly made me smile….enjoy rest of summer…

  12. I’ve ridden several water taxis but never one as cute as those. Love your brother’s message to you but wonder if he found the same satisfaction in his own daughter and SIL taking a long hike from the real world. 🙂 I hope they have a blast and why not do it while they are young with less responsibilities. Safe travels to them both and hope they have all the fun they handle along the way.

  13. So fun to see and read this post. Love the hysterical belly up seals especially… Thanks for making my day! Cheers! xo

  14. I was hoping there was going to follow a picture of you and Bailey floating on your backs like the orcas! What’s the point of life without laughter?

  15. That was such a fun trip! The harbor taxis and the harbor ‘home’ boats were amazing. I love what your brother said, I also believe in it. I like to think like Peter Pan, I don’t want to grow up! Life is so much fun we don’t want to miss anything. xox

  16. I love that Tina, ‘Never grow all the way up’. No wonder it stuck with you. It’s so important to make fun part of every day. It sounds like you’ve got people around you who help make that happen. It really helps! Smashing post as always! 🙂

  17. Great post. If we don’t enjoy life then we need to do something about it. I know some, less fortunate, might not have the same choices, but you only have to travel to some developing countries and you see people with so little having fun.

    • Agree wholeheartedly Jules. I’ve often thought how amazing it is to see people with so little enjoying life so much more than those who have everything. Thanks for your thoughtful comment.

  18. Your brother has a good sense of humour 😀 Good to hear that you are game enough to go adventuring with your husband, Tina. I am sure he is happy to put up with you along the way as you are a good sport. Love the first quote. I like having a lot to do…and then put it aside to relax and unwind knowing that I have fun stuff ahead yet to be done. Sometimes that turns into procrastination…

    Enjoy the last of summer. It sounds like the weather is still nice and warm over there 🙂

  19. Love this post! Somebody said It’s not the years in your life, but the life in your years! Can’t remember who, and I’m feeling too lazy to look it up… But I abide by that sentiment as much as I can

  20. Thanks dear for the shout out but I think it is just the opposite with you always pushing me to the extreme……..The Sydney Harbor Bridge Climb(scariest thing in my life) , Tiger Leaping Gorge(1200 steps down/ 1200 steps up),Fox Glacier Climb, Cascades Mountain Hike,etc,etc. Always saying you can do it you can do it,you can do it.
    Bravo!

  21. Tina, the beautiful colors of your photos brought brightness and joy into a gloomy, hot, humid Saturday morning. Thank you for that and for the reminder to always have fun, a command I try to always follow. Have a great weekend.

    janet

  22. What a wonderful family trait! The pursuit of fun. So sad, isn’t it, when people wait to have fun and they wait too long? I am so sad when I hear of people retiring and then getting ill before they travel and do all the things they wanted to do but postponed because of work. Great post, Tina, as always!

Please Tell Me What You Think!

