Skip to content

NATURE’S MIRROR – Weekly Photo Challenge

“Ugly is the man who judges harshly what he sees looking out, Without first judging what he sees in the mirror.”

Suzie Kassem

PALMETTO REFLECTIONS
PALMETTO REFLECTIONS

For the past week or two I have been transitioning from a very old Mac to a spanking new one and from long-time use of Apple’s Aperture software to Adobe’s Photoshop and Light/Room. I won’t bore you with the details but there were definitely some bumps in the technology road. Always one to try to make lemonade out of lemons though, I found some captures I’d made several months back that I’d never imported, so they became my test shots. Happily, the shot above fit nicely into this week’s challenge, Mirror (thanks for that Jen!). It took me a moment to realize that the trees were actually reflections mirrored in the lagoon beneath.

DAYBREAK ON THE MARSH
DAYBREAK ON THE MARSH

“Only by glaring into the depths of ones own reflection can we find our true selves.”

Paul Morabito

Now I know I’ve often commented that early morning is NOT my favorite time of day. For these images however, I was indeed out and about at dawn. A good friend, who is a wonderful artist, asked me to join her for some captures of the marsh in the hopes that she would find some beautiful scenery for plein air painting at a later date. I’m happy to report the scenery was glorious as we ventured out to the very eastern end of our little island.

SYMBIOTIC
SYMBIOTIC

“Sometimes the heart of a weary soul needs a simple moment of love and light shined upon it, or reflected back to it.”

Molly Friedenfeld

Interestingly, the thing I found most compelling the morning of our outing was the commanding presence of the magnificent trees. Yes, the vista overlooking the marsh, which to me calls to mind the wide-open savannas of Africa, was wonderful. Somehow though, I was more drawn to the majesty of the beautiful coastal forest along its border.

HOLDING THE SUN
HOLDING THE SUN

“Life is like facing two mirrors at each other: there is no beginning, there is no end. Just the beauty within the reflected infinity”

Michael Biondi

Sometimes the coincidences in life are quite amazing. I had decided if possible to use the captures I’d made of the trees in this week’s blog when my “Tip of the Week” came in from Outdoor Photographer magazine. Yep, you guessed it, “Take Better Tree Photos“.  Of course, it was too late for me to heed any of the article’s advice this time around, but there were some interesting ideas in the article to which I’ve linked for anyone who is interested.

CROOKED TREE
CROOKED TREE

“Nature sometimes contrives to disconcert by reflecting the image of our creation.”

Sergio da Silva

Of course, one of the ever-present suggestions in the OP article was to shoot in the early morning or late evening when the light is best. Personally, I’m much more likely to be found shooting sunset than sunrise, but I must admit that nature’s colors at first-blush are about as good as it gets. There is nothing quite like the warm glow of the golden grasses as the first rays of the sun gently kiss them with light.

SWINGING TREE
SWINGING TREE AND SWEETGRASS

“The hardest thing of all, is just standing in front of a mirror and not recognizing the reflection.”

Klaudio Marashi

The captures for this week’s post were all made on a single morning this past fall (hence the purple sweetgrass in the capture above), although I’d not seen them since I shot them. Finding them on a card I’d filed away was like getting an unexpected gift; perhaps a fair exchange for the time spent setting up my new system, developing a new file methodology, and using new tools to edit my work. Now if my husband will forgive me for the time I’ve spent ignoring him while working on the new system, I’ll be home free 😀.

NOTE: For those who kindly checked in to see how we fared during this week’s Storm Hermine, thank you. We experienced some heavy wind and rain but no major damage, and the reward for having had the storm is a gloriously beautiful holiday weekend with lots of sun and no humidity. I’m off to enjoy as much of it as possible 😊.

107 thoughts on “NATURE’S MIRROR – Weekly Photo Challenge Leave a comment

Please Tell Me What You Think!

