Skip to content

Nature”s Transformations: Weekly Photo Challenge Transmogrify

“We are all butterflies. Earth is our chrysalis.”

LeeAnn Taylor

BUTTERFLY TO BE
BUTTERFLY TO BE
CATERPILLAR REBORN
CATERPILLAR REBORN

This week’s challenge is “Transmogrify” – quite a mouthful ! The dictionary defines it as a “transformation, especially in a special or magical way.”  While there are any number of interesting examples, my feeling is that nature does a pretty spectacular job of transmogrification when one considers the changes a butterfly goes through as it’s transforms itself from caterpillar, to chrysalis, to butterfly.

HERON CHICKS
HERON CHICKS
HERON ON THE WING
HERON ON THE WING

“Though I think and speak of greater becoming, I, too, am an infinite work in progress.”

T.F. Hodge

So too the amazing transformation of young heron chicks – while young they are boring brown, big-footed and clumsy. It’s hard to imagine these little guys will one day become beautiful, graceful great blue herons in all their glory.

FUTURE MAN-EATER
FUTURE MAN-EATER
NO LONGER CUTE
NO LONGER CUTE

“Choose love and joy as much as you can in each moment and watch your life transform.”

Amy Leigh Mercree

Finally, what of the cute little baby gators, no more than a foot in length from the tip of their nose to the end of their tails. Before too long they will be transformed into frightening, dinosaur-like beasts with jaws strong enough to break the bones of even the largest animals. And what about their parents? Their mothers carry them carefully from the nest when they break through their egg and protect them vigilantly until a few years later when they will eat them if they haven’t moved on to their own territory.  Talk about mommy dearest!!!

Seems to me transmogrification can be a good or a bad thing, depending on your species. How about you – have you ever transmogrified??

 

69 thoughts on “Nature”s Transformations: Weekly Photo Challenge Transmogrify Leave a comment

  1. Nice take on transmogrification. Some animal babies look so different from when they “grow up”.
    I also want to thank you for stopping by my f-stop fantasy blog. 🙂

  2. Wonderful transmogrifications, Tina! The heron chicks really tell the story…and the future man eater appears almost cute before its transformation 🙂

  3. Love your transmogrifications (???) – I now think of those darling cute babies who then transmogrify into sullen, grunting, eye-rolling teenagers! I suppose if you look at it like that we transmogrify all through our lives! 😀

  4. Spot on choices, Tina. I’ve transmogrified in too many ways to count, thankfully mostly positive 🙂 I hope I continue to do so until I die, when I’ll be transmogrified one final time into something so good I can’t even imagine it.

    janet

  5. Love the life cycle theme in this one, Tina. Amazing how each of us end up learning and finding our own way, and then going out on our own. We don’t just physically change, but mentally too. For instance, that croc probably feels more cunning and brave over time 😉

  6. Great shots of our feather and leather friends! When I go past and look into a window, I see I’ve transmogrified into an old lady.😎

  7. Oh … that I could transmogrifry Tina 😉
    You’ve done a great job here with your gallery for the WP challenge , not the easiest one I’m thinking ..
    Got to love those heron chicks x

  8. I had to look it up too, Tina. This is not a word that I have encountered before. Your take is great and adds a refreshing new definition. And no, I haven’t transmogrified! 🙂

Please Tell Me What You Think!

