Skip to content

Time of Year: Weekly Photo Challenge

“There are memories that time does not erase”

Cassandra Clare

GRAINS OF SAND
GRAINS OF SAND

Nanci’s challenge for the week “It’s not this time of year without…” brought to mind many possibilities. For me though, the holiday season is a time to remember the friends and family who have shared holidays past but are either no longer with us or are too far away for a visit.

A TOUCH OF BLUE
A TOUCH OF BLUE

“All photographs testify to time’s relentless melt.”

Susan Sontag

Rather than making me sad, my memories bring me smiles and warm my heart as the weather begins to chill.  Holidays were always a time for our large family to gather, whether for a beautifully browned turkey in the over, or for festive lights and the scent of evergreen, as my brothers and I watched the sky hoping to see the infamous red sled and magical reindeer.

BROKEN
HALF-DOLLAR

“Time is a slippery thing: lose hold of it once, and its string might sail out of your hands forever.”

Anthony Doerr

Here on our little island, this time of year means that the summer tourists have returned home and our beautiful beach is once again quiet and peaceful. Like the grains of sand time is passing and we are reminded to live every moment and to treasure memories as they happen, mentally thanking those who enrich our lives by their presence.

TIME PASSES
BROKEN

“With endless time, nothing is special. With no loss or sacrifice, we can’t appreciate what we have”

Mitch Albom

We often read of those for whom depression and melancholy come with this time of year. Luckily for me nothing could be further than the truth. I treasure my memories of the past and thoroughly enjoy the ones I’m making for the future. I’m hoping the same is true for you.

80 thoughts on “Time of Year: Weekly Photo Challenge Leave a comment

  1. You always have a masterful way of weaving together text, images and quotes. What I’m drawn to here is those fragments from the sea island beach…so familiar, after many childhood days spent on one of the islands a little south of you. I read that you’re determined to take more pictures close to home – that will be good! And in Charleston, there’s another great location. Have a wonderful holiday.

  2. What a wonderful post Tina and I love the new look to your blog. Makes me think I should make some changes. Hope all is well with you and that you have lots of seasonal cheer in the next few weeks. Warmest wishes…A

  3. I can imagine that things get pretty hectic in the summer and it’s a relief to be shed of the hustle and bustle that tourists bring. Not sure why, but this post reminded me of the movie “On Golden Pond” and the closing of the cabin and going home. I can see you’ve found that home and don’t ever have to leave. Have a happy holiday season!

    • LOL, not quite at the Golden Pond stage yet thank goodness. Yes, we love September when we and all of our friends return from cooler climes and reclaim our beautiful little island! Thanks John. >

  4. Oh Tina, I needed these words. Your last paragraph speaks to me as November is usually dark and gray here. I also have my birthday coming up and will be 45 and am wondering where on earth the time has gone? Time just seems to race by. Funny, I was just dwelling on the memories of my youth with family in town but now I see after reading your words that I shouldn’t dwell that 45 years have raced by with breakneck speed but cherish them. There is so much more to come! Thank you!!! 🙂

    • Thanks very much Nicole, your comment warmed my heart. Time does race by and believe me it moves faster and faster – hold on to those special moments all around you – they’re such a gift.

  5. So lovely, Tina! It must be beautiful on Kiawah once the tourists leave. Do you usually travel for Thanksgiving or does your family come to you? I don’t think I would ever want to leave your beautiful island!

    • Hi Grace, thanks so much. It is indeed beautiful here – probably our best weather of the year. Bright sun, cool breezes, no humidity. Our version of winter usually follows within a week or two. In the past we hosted our whole family but as their kids grew up and started having their own families that died a natural death. Now we choose to celebrate with good friends here and we travel back to our northern roots for Christmas. Hope your holidays are joy-filled.

  6. Your post is a good reminder about the fluidity of time. Instinctively, many of us posted about things that remained the same over the years. Yet, on a closer look, even the things we think are similar are but different versions of things and places we got used to.

  7. The imperfections of the broken shells & shadows along with your quotes & deep thoughtful words stir the thankful soul..
    I always find myself rereading / re-admiring your weekly posts. This one is especially moving. Thank you Tina!

  8. Ever aware of the passage of time and the rolling towards another year end does turn ones mind to such thoughts Tina . The dwindling Christmas card exchanges and family memories can be bittersweet …
    I like your personal reflection at the end . Lovely beach treasures !

  9. T- Such a clever and unique pairing of pictures of shells on the beach with sincere sentiments about the holidays. It brought a smile to my face.

Please Tell Me What You Think!

