Broad Horizons

“Infinite horizons belong to those who have infinite imagination.”

Mehmet Murat Ildan

THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE HOME

THERE’S NO PLACE LIKE HOME

This week, as we approach the end of another year, Krista has challenged us to think ahead to new horizons. It’s an interesting process – taking a moment to leave the present and look to the future. What challenges will we set for ourselves as we consider our lives and the world in which we live?

BLUE HOUR AT THE BEACH

BLUE HOUR AT THE BEACH

“Change lives on the horizon.”

T.F. Hodge

Challenges drive us to become better – at what we do, at who we are, at knowing ourselves and what makes us tick. Ah, but there’s a rub; set challenges that are too easy and we get no sense of accomplishment. Set challenges that are too difficult and we become frustrated. Finding the right challenge(s) is even more difficult than Goldilocks’ quest for the perfect bed.

UNDER AFRICAN SKIES

UNDER AFRICAN SKIES

“Every horizon, upon being reached, reveals another beckoning in the distance.”

W. Eugene Smith

As a photographer, this year I challenge myself to do more shooting close to home, respecting the beauty around me as I do the landscapes of my travels. I also challenge myself to shoot more often in charming downtown Charleston, and to shoot locally in some of the amazingly glorious locations not far from my home. As for non-photography challenges, I’ll keep those to myself for now 😀.

SCOTLAND'S ROCKY HORIZON

SCOTLAND’S ROCKY HORIZON

“There is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun.”

Christopher McCandless

What about you? What will your challenges be once the smoke clears and the holidays end? To check out some other bloggers’ horizons, click here.

107 thoughts on “Broad Horizons

Please Tell Me What You Think!