Skip to content

Retrospective Anticipation: WPC

“Thank the past for all the lessons it taught you; anticipate the future for all the blessings it has in store for you.”

Matshona Dhilwayo

INTO THE SUN
INTO THE SUN

As photographers, we continually practice anticipation as we work to capture life’s special moments. The reward for our patience is a remarkable library of memories that we can enjoy again and again in retrospect. As recently noted in The Daily Post, this is a perfect time to consider a year-end review of our blogs. Going a step further, I thought it would be fun not only to revisit some 2016 favorites, but also to compare them with selections of similar subjects from prior years.

I’ve opened with one of my personal 2016 favorites (also one of yours), a weather-worn shrimp boat, nets extended, headed out to sea in anticipation of a good catch. It reminded me of a photo I made in 2010 during a trip to Southeast Asia, featuring two boats moored in a harbor. Their weather-beaten appearance led me to create a vintage look using textures and effects.

YESTERDAY'S PASSAGE
YESTERDAY’S PASSAGE

“When we recall the past, we usually find that it is the simplest things that in retrospect give off the greatest glow of happiness.”

Bob Hope

CHARCOAL FOREST
CHARCOAL FOREST

“Wisdom consists of the anticipation of consequences.”

Norman Cousins

I have always loved nature, and trees in particular. One of this year’s highlights was a 2-day session with famed photographer Joyce Tenneson focused specifically on trees as art. My capture above was a vertical pan post-processed with Nik’s Silver Efex Pro 2. There is something so striking about a simple B&W, especially one with strong graphic lines.

Some favorite trees from years past took a more colorful approach. First, a capture I made during a glorious sunrise at nearby Botany Bay.  I was honored to have it chosen for publication in Charleston’s largest newspaper’s annual magazine special.  It is followed by a personal favorite from nearby Ace Basin, also captured at sunrise as beautiful light filtered through moss-laden oak trees.

PRAISE FOR THE MORNING
PRAISE FOR THE MORNING
THREE LIVE OAKS
THREE LIVE OAKS

“Retrospect: the sweetener of life.”

Kamand Kojouri

No review of 2016 would be complete without mention of Hurricane Matthew – our first mandatory evacuation since moving here 16 years ago.  We were fortunate to suffer only minor damage from the storm, although many neighboring islands were not so lucky. We were able to find a beautiful “evac-u-cation” spot about 4 hours north in Greenville, SC.

BRIDGE REFLECTION
BRIDGE REFLECTION, GREENVILLE

“We need the sweet pain of anticipation to tell us we are really alive.”

Albert Camus

Speaking of storms here in the south, the incredible power of 2004’s winter storm Leon comes immediately to my mind. While they didn’t last, the amazing ice sculptures delivered on a cold day in January were a photographer’s dream and a warm-blooded southern girl’s nightmare!

BRRRRRR
BRRRRRR
FROZEN BERRIES
FROZEN BERRIES

 “So much of our time is spent in preparation, routine and retrospect, that the amount of each person’s genius is confined to a very few hours.”

Ralph Waldo Emerson

In 2016 I featured the two little beauties below, captured during a hike with good friends in Asheville, NC.  How sweet of them to stop and pose for me smack in the midst of a field of brilliant yellow flowers 🙂.

COLORS OF SPRING
COLORS OF SPRING

“The anticipation of discovering new possibilities becomes my greatest joy.”

Jerry Uelsmann

Of course, when thinking of the beauty of the many animals with whom we share our planet, I am immediately drawn to remember our life-changing 2006 trip to Botswana and South Africa.

OLD SOUL
OLD SOUL
MAJESTIC
MAJESTIC

“One day in retrospect, the years of struggle will strike you as the most beautiful.”

Sigmund Freud

Hopefully your anticipation of my second set of 2016 favorites compared to prior years’  efforts is a positive one! Look for more to come in my next post. In the meanwhile, here’s hoping your holiday preparations are complete and you can relax and enjoy the beauty of the season.

 

80 thoughts on “Retrospective Anticipation: WPC Leave a comment

  1. tina – what an eloquent and reflective post…. it was nice to journey with you and I knew many of the pieces, which reminds me I have followed your blog for a while now. that is fun.

    and witth his:

    ” remarkable library of memories that we can enjoy again and again in retrospect”
    sometimes it feels like

    jam packed folders of photos that need to be sorted so they can be enjoyed… ha!

  2. Tina, your photos are stunning. I am so late to comment because I seem to have stopped getting notifications from WordPress when you post…perhaps because I moved the website? I now have a Feedly account so that I don’t miss any more posts! Have a wonderful holiday!

  3. So much to enjoy in this wonderful retrospective. With your amazing photo library you should do one every week 🙂 Of course that Charcoal Forest is still my favourite. Have a wonderful holiday season and a Happy New Year. Looking forward to Travels and Trifles in 2017.

  4. So much creativity Tina ! It really has been a pleasure to look back at some of your favourites as well as ours 🙂 One never stops learning and adding to skills , ways of seeing , mastering new skills whether that is with new kit or by processing techniques .. oh yes and enjoying taking the photographs in the first place 😉 Lovely , really lovely pictures to view again .

      • 🙂 Tina … I think I’m overwhelmed by the sheer number of images I’ve taken they need looking through properly … I’m really hoping to get together a post this week before Christmas 😉

  5. enjoyed your images and stories. your tree images – new and old – are quite striking. i am quite a fan of silhouettes, so that sunset click is my fave.
     
    thanks for sharing these beautiful moments. wishing you a wonderful Christmas! 🙂

  6. Thank you for these T. I was totally mystified by the closeup on the elephant. His eye was so beautiful to me. Dar

    Sent from my iPad

  7. Beautiful retrospective and quotes. I love that image of the elephant’s eye and the shrimp boat. Fabulous! Have a wonderful holiday and 2017, Tina. I’ve enjoyed our exchange of ideas this year and hope it continues for many years to come!

  8. Loved seeing your favorites (and quotes). I’ve gotten away from photography since moving, but I’m inspired. Happy Hanukkah, Merry Christmas, Happy New Year!

  9. Such a treat for us to see some of your past beauties. I really admire the way you tackle these challenges, constantly surprising me in the way you think. Lovely quotes too. I wish you a lovely relaxing festive season and a fruitful photographic new year 🙂

  10. As always, I simply shake my head in admiration when I see what you have to offer. Thanks for another year of wonderful photos, excellent quotes (today I particularly like the first one), and interesting stories. Here’s to an even better 2017 for all of us.

    janet

  11. This is a wonderful retrospective, Tina. It showcases the different styles and topics you have ‘frozen in time’ very beautifully. My favorites are the icy captures, maybe because I cannot get that kind of shots here in central FL.

  12. Fabulous shot as always, Tina. I was not so active in blogging this year. My times were consumed so much to do something else here and there. I do hope next year I will be more productive.

  13. As usual, a beautiful gallery. I am just learning the power of Nik Tools. I see you’ve mastered Silver Efex Pro 2. That’s my favorite photo in the gallery. I have a lot of learning to do. Now to get started on my year in review!!

Please Tell Me What You Think!

