Skip to content

Small Wonders

“Wonder is the beginning of wisdom.”

Socrates

SANDDOLLARS REPURPOSED
SANDDOLLARS REPURPOSED

This week Krista provided us with a double challenge. First, she asks us to share something that has been repurposed – such as the sand dollars in my opening capture.Β  These pretty little creatures, which I’ve found over the years washed up on Kiawah’s beach, are on permanent display in my antique kitchen scale. I’ve seen them in several of my friends’ homes as well, most interestingly used with ribbons to decorate a Christmas tree.

Krista has also challenged us to address this week’s Discover challenge, going against Conventional Wisdom . Never let it be said I was unwilling to rise to a challenge!

TINY SHELLS
SMALL PERIWINKLES

“Go big or go home”….. “Bigger is better”….”Big is beautiful”….. Says who?? I contend there is wonder at the opposite end of the spectrum and in fact tiny can also be terrific 😬.Β  Case in point, my opening capture of the little sand dollars that often end up stranded on our beach. Even tinier, the scene above of the Small Periwinkle snails which dot the landscape in the salt marshes here on Kiawah.

SPOT OF RED
SPOTS OF RED

β€œTo see a World in a Grain of Sand… And a Heaven in a Wild Flower.”

William Blake

So too the tiny red flowers that dot the wild marsh grasses. No matter the season there is always an element of beauty and a spot of color to be found by those willing to look.

TINY OLIVE
TINY OLIVE

β€œThe more clearly we can focus our attention on the wonders and realities of the universe about us, the less taste we shall have for destruction.”

Rachel Carson

In my recent year end retrospective I mentioned my goal to shoot more frequently here on ourΒ  beautiful island. With the exception of the sand dollars, all of today’s captures were made this past week in one small area of our salt marsh, where I was challenged to find interesting subjects at sunrise, noon and sunset on a single day.Β  The most difficult, of course, was the midday shoot. I was amazed at the number of interesting subjects I found once I committed to the search, including those in today’s post.

MARSH PAN
MARSH PAN

“It is happiness to wonder.”

Edgar Allan Poe

Of course, if all else fails, nothing beats a pan of a visually interesting scene such as the one of our marsh above….noonday sun notwithstanding 😊. Here’s hoping YOUR week is filled with small wonders too.

Β 

63 thoughts on “Small Wonders Leave a comment

  1. Sounds like a lovely day you had strolling about. My fav is olive shell with the blurred surround. Heard a ton of sand dollars have been washing up lately. Yours are so beautiful !

  2. enjoyed your small wonders, and your repurposed sand dollars, Tina.
     
    a very thoughtful post.
     
    i too enjoy the wonder of discovering small treasures, and i have found that photography has greatly contributed to that. it’s so easy to be busy and it is good to be reminded from time to time to slow down and take in the moment here and now, even if my camera happens not to be with me.

  3. A wonder of a post I’m glad I didn’t miss!! πŸ˜€ Tina, this is such a joy to read, I just love the quotes and am saving these. Then the photographs – wow! The last one is amazing, like a Monet painting. Beautiful reflections, Tina thank you so much for sharing. BTW, what is a sand dollar?!

  4. This is the first time I’m hearing of sand dollars. They almost look like the top of mushrooms, in my opinion. They have such a lovely pattern in the middle. Maybe I haven’t been to the beach enough. Haven’t seen them at all. Or maybe they are the kinds that blend right into the sand, shy πŸ™‚ Love what you did to the landscape shot of the marsh in the last shot. Very creative and abstract. Lol, while there is a lot of light in the day so you can keep your ISO low, you are spoilt for choice as to what you can photograph first πŸ˜€

    • Thanks Mabel. Happy to introduce you to these beautiful creatures. They are very delicate, nearly transparent. Those in our part of the world always have that pattern on the shell. Although they exist in most of the worlds oceans, they are much more prevalent here on kiawah than most other places I’ve been. Not sure why, just lucky I guess!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  5. I love this post… after spending some time lately where my world is a little confining… .I am reminded to look for ” small places” of gratitude, beauty and splendor… you seem to find beauty and renewal in whatever world is yours at the moment. Love those sand dollars we take for granted ..

  6. Beautiful Tina, as always!! Those are really great photo’s of the salt marsh…we have one also here in our inlet but I’ve yet to wander and take pictures..one day soon though! You give me inspiration!! T. πŸ™‚

  7. Spot on, Tina! Incredible shots and sayings. I just love sanddollars! I discovered them a few years ago in Costa Rica and couldn’t believe Nature does this on its own! Wow!
    All little things are little bits of happiness. Less is more. And you’re showing it beautifully today!

  8. I thought I passed you out on the parkway with your camera last week and I wondered what in the heck you were shooting! Silly me ……..it became the beautiful marsh shot! Have you gone from being T to Miss TM? ( a proper double southern name πŸ™‚ )

    • LOL, I was looking pretty foxy that day, mucking about in the marsh don’t you think ML?! My shoes may be forced into retirement but I was happy with the treasures I came across along the way πŸ™‚ And no, still just T for me LOL. >

  9. Great post. I have learned a few things and I have seen the first sanddollar in my life. I have to look it up, I’m not quite sure what it is and if I can find it on our beach.
    Beautiful photography and thought provoking quotes as always, Tina. Thank you!

  10. “Marsh Pan”…oooohh…but of course you knew I would love it πŸ™‚ Great post Tina. The beauty of your salt marsh is treat for the eyes full of its “small wonders”. Makes me think of my favourite quote from Albert Schweitzer, β€œIn the hopes of reaching the moon men fail to see the flowers that blossom at their feet.” Have a great week yourself.

    • Love that quote Andrew! And of course humbled by your comment re the marsh pan :-). Must admit of all of my shots this week, I’d have expected that one to catch your eye. >

  11. A good challenge, and a wonderful gallery of little beauties! And it is so true, about the beauty of little things around us. I love especially the red spots …and the quotes. William Blake speaks in my blog as well. thank you for sending reminders!

  12. Wonderful post; I love the pan! I also love that you were challenged (and excepted) to photograph the same area Morning, Noon, and Sunset. If we look hard enough, we do find beauty in everything around us (as you have shown us here today). Thanks for the reminder. πŸ™‚

  13. just gorgeous shots…thank u for reminding us on kiawah how much beauty there is just outside our doors….great eye!!!

Please Tell Me What You Think!

