Skip to content

Mainly Maine – WPC Bridges

“I demolish my bridges behind me…then there is no choice but to move forward”

Fridtjof Nansen

BRIDGE REFLECTION
BRIDGE REFLECTION

Many of the opportunities for photography during our visit to Maine were natural wonders, while others, like the bridge in my opening capture, were man-made.  This sweet little bridge is one of the most photographed in the entire state and simply sits by the side of a busy road. My ever-patient husband drove the 20 minutes back from our rental home so that I could shoot it, after we’d passed it several days earlier on our way to a family wedding.

WALKWAY TO HISTORY
WALKWAY TO HISTORY

“Gratitude builds a bridge to abundance.”

Roy T Bennett

During one of our days in Bar Harbor we came upon this idyllic scene which reminded me of bygone days. The 4-masted schooner is a recreation of one of the many ships that would have dotted the harbor in this seafaring town long ago.

 

SAFE HARBOR
SAFE HARBOR

“The hardest thing to learn in life is which bridge to cross and which to burn.”

Bertrand Russell

Maine is well known for its lighthouses, one of which is shown above. Its rocky shoreline presented a challenge for sea captains as they traversed the area going about their dangerous work.

ON THE ROCKS
ON THE ROCKS

“Build your opponent a golden bridge to retreat across.”

Sun Tzu

Speaking of rocky shorelines, the little glint of sun caught my eye as I was capturing some macro shots of the seaweed early one morning. I couldn’t resist including it in my captures for the day. I suspect the sea captains found it much less appealing than I did!

LOBSTER CATCHERS
LOBSTER CATCHERS

“Men build too many walls and not enough bridges.”

Joseph Fort Newton

While not strictly a bridge, the shot above epitomizes Maine for me. The lobster traps are neatly stacked waiting for their next deployment, lending color and atmosphere to the waters beyond. The pier on which they sit is fully exposed but in a few hours will be completely hidden as the tide comes in and they are once again put to work.

SPECIAL DELIVER
SPECIAL DELIVERY

Maine’s lobster business is thriving, much to the delight of visitors like yours truly. The little red truck above fronted one of our favorite dinner spots, Thurston’s Lobster Pound. Their LBLT (lobster, bacon, lettuce, tomato) sandwich is enough to make even the strictest dieter stray from their rules.

RED
RED

“If you’re gonna burn a bridge behind you, make sure you’ve crossed it first.”

Quentin R. Bufogle

Each of the companies that trap in Maine’s harbors has its own colors to identify its traps. Thurston’s were a bright red, which of course caught my eye as I meandered through their work areas while waiting for dinner to be served.

THROUGH THE LOOKING GLASS
THROUGH THE LOOKING GLASS

“Love is the bridge between you and everything.”

Jalaluddin Rumi

I’ll close with a capture of a sea-weathered little window I spotted that was chock full of the tools of a sea-faring trade. It’s a difficult life the lobster fishermen live. Short seasons, rough weather and seas, abundant competition and fluctuating prices all combine to present challenges only the strongest can survive.  I’ll think about that the next time I’m enjoying the fruits of their labor.

WPC: Bridge

 

 

 

85 thoughts on “Mainly Maine – WPC Bridges Leave a comment

  1. Interesting quotes and amazing photos which is merely what I expect of you. But please do not be driven with what people expect of you. A wise woman (you may know her) once placed a quote of a certain Roy T Bennett in her blog, rather experience that.

  2. The schooner fits well with a large house. It reminds me of one of those vintage scenes in which the ship is docked near owner’s or captain’s home.

    Like the long shot of your header. When you come to Colorado, it’ll have to be a shot from the summit of a fourteener. 🙂

    • Funny you should say that David. My S-I-L and I spent the day touring the Red Rocks area yesterday and spotted a few fourteen era in the distance. The only way I’d get shots from there is from a car window😃

  3. P.S. I was looking or another fellow blogger in the reader (search) and found you here. Congratulations!! Is this like freshly pressed?

  4. The first quote by my fellow countryman put a big smile on my face. 🙂 More wonderful impressions from Mainly Maine, Tina – a great title by the way. 🙂
    Enjoy our Sunday. 💕

  5. Great images paired with meaningful quotes and your personal observations – your very own style. Well done, Tina. I was amazed at the immense tidal changes when I was in Maine quite a while ago. And the fresh fish/seafood was really outstanding.

  6. Maine has been on my list for a while…hard to beat the combination of photo opportunities and lobster 🙂 Nice series Tina, love your header shot.

    • Thanks Andy – especially for noticing the header. I took it from the top of Cadillac Mountain in Acadia. That’s a HUGE cruise ship that looks like a little rowboat LOL.

    • Hi Elisabeth! Thanks for commenting on my blog – glad you liked the picture of our bridge :-). Enjoy your nana’s visit and we’ll see you again soon. xoxo

      >

  7. I loved the bridge, it took me a bit to figure it out…thank you…
    My iPad is acting up so I hope I didn’t post this 3 times!!!

  8. great ‘summertime’ post…loving all your brilliant shots….look forward to some of that lobster…enjoy!!!

  9. What beautiful photos! A few years ago, Al and I stayed at the old hotel in your second photo. Can’t remember the name, but it was so peaceful and idyllic. Great food in the dining room, and a croquet tournament in late afternoon.
    Thanks for sharing!

  10. Thank you for your beautiful capture of Maine. I am heading that way on Wednesday. (Well, NH) You are a gifted photographer. A visit to your page is not just inspiring, but calming. I love Bar Harbor. AND lobster!

  11. I enjoyed your response to the challenge of “bridges”. I am also so happy to learn that the lobster fishery is thriving. It is a hard way of life and in many parts of the world fish stocks are so low that people are loosing their livelihoods. So Maine’s lobster fishery is good news.

  12. Wow, can’t believe I’m the first one this week. As always, I greatly enjoyed both your always-wonderful photos and the apt quotes as well. I haven’t been to Maine for some time, but it’s a very beautiful place…and much of that beauty isn’t even on the coast. 🙂 Have a happy weekend, Tina.

    janet

    • Thanks Janet – sorry it took me a bit of time to respond – tough while traveling. Anyway, as always great to see you pop up, especially in first place 🙂

Please Tell Me What You Think!

