Skip to content

Hungry Hummingbirds – A WPC Collage

“In order to see birds it is necessary to become a part of the silence.”

Robert Lynd

This week as we continued our travels we spent time in the Colorado mountains. While we had many excellent adventures 🙂 I’m featuring a very special element of the visit. My brother and sister-in-law’s home outside of Denver is at about 8,000 feet and is a favorite stopping point for hummingbirds. I spent time watching and shooting these amazing little creatures and while I didn’t have the equipment necessary to really capture them, I was able to get close enough to create some interesting textures. In response to this week’s challenge, I’m including a collage of some of my favorites.  Hope you enjoy my impressions of these fast-moving beauties!

97 thoughts on “Hungry Hummingbirds – A WPC Collage Leave a comment

  1. Hope you’re enjoying your time here in Colorado. The hummers are quite fast when they descend upon a feeder. I tend to favor the stake-out method, watch the feeder for about an hour or so with camera in hand. Not the most reliable method since it is like watching for the kettle to boil. 🙂

    Continued safe travels and good adventures.

  2. Tina

    As always great pictures. I’m glad you didn’t have the “right” equipment. You may not have captured this Impressionist painting look.

    Hope your trip is going well.

    Andy

    _____

    • Aww, thanks Andy. I hadn’t thought of it that way. It did make me revisit my quickly eroding photoshop layers skills :-). Having a great summer, hope the same for you. >

  3. This summer was going to be the ultimate Hummingbird photo. I planted bee balm, salvia, and several other plants in the garden surrounding a hummingbird feeder. I positioned my camera at the window on a timer. They do come but only for a couple of seconds. It is impossible to get a decent picture much less multiple photos of this elusive bird. Would your brother mind visitors. 😏

  4. T…. we are in Montana where the hummingbirds are larger and more. Numerous than ever! How in the world you caught these rapid little creatures is amazing… love this very creative post!

    • EVERYTHING is bigger and more abundant in Montana, don’t you think???!!!! Is the canola still in bloom? It was SO beautiful when we visited. Have a ball and thanks for taking the time to stop by!

  5. Ummm .. yes T you really did capture them ! !
    I saw my first hummingbird this summer out by my new feeder😊& I quickly pulled out my camera … no luck …they disappear too fast for me! So I will just happily enjoy my window view along with your talent that brings us such awesome photos! Thanks !!

    • Thanks Diane – I’d love to have captured them properly with the right equipment but was happy to get anything at all considering their speed! I had to work especially hard to keep the feeder and the house out of the shots!

  6. Seeing hummingbirds is such a joyful thing! Their fluttering wings are amazing….. How lucky to have seen and captured so
    many, so beautifully displayed! 8000 ft eh! Wow! I’m impressed 🙂

    • I agree ML, they’re amazing to watch. The thing that amazed me, beyond their beauty and speed of course, was how quickly they polished off the sugar water. Once it was gone they’d fly directly in front of the glass door and stare at us, as if to say OK folks, time for a refill LOL!

  7. Stunning. Simply stunning and each shot a winner. Love the sepia tones that you added in as well, a really lovely collage. Imagine getting to see these every day…what a treat. Safe travels and happy holidays 😊

    • Many thanks Mabel – I had fun working to find the right background for each little beauty so appreciate your comment on the tones. I told my brother if they were as plentiful where I lived I’d never put my camera down 🙂 Appreciate your visit as always

  8. just gorgeous Tina…love ‘fluttering by’….they r very special birds!!!😘 great eye as always!! enjoy!!!

  9. Beautiful Tina! I love my hummingbirds and your photo’s with the backgrounds are wonderful! 🙂 I’ve been taking photo’s of the Hummingbirds all week, some of the young ones are making appearances! 🙂

    • I googled how to photograph them and quit reading after the part where they explained how to set up 3 separate remote flashes LOL. They’re pretty amazing little creatures – lucky you to have them nearby. I had to travel halfway across the country and up to the top of a mountain for my views!!!

  10. Wonderful creatures and what a good job you did, Tina! Lovely work, love the textures. If I had these beauties outside my window, I’d be glued to the place.

  11. Wonderful images, Tina! BTW, I don’t remember whether I told you how much I enjoyed your Maine photos. They are so wonderful. You obviously had a great time there! Thank you for sharing with the rest of us:) Maine is on bucket list — even more so now that I’ve seen you photos!

    • Thanks Svetlana. Maine is a beautiful place – quite wild and undeveloped in many places. It takes a hearty soul to brave their winters but then you’d know all about that 🙂

  12. There are collages like my daylilies and then there are collages of hummingbirds – you win hands down. 🙂 I love everything about hummingbirds. We have seen a great decline over the past ten years. I may see one or two a summer. So, for you to have been able to catch these beautiful birds as they fly at mock speed, I applaud your skills, and I thank you for sharing – beautiful. Be a good guest so they invite you back for more photo opportunities. 🙂

Please Tell Me What You Think!

