Skip to content

To Market To Market – WPC Satisfaction

“If you are not content with what you have, you would not be satisfied if it were doubled.”

Charles Haddon Spurgeon

PERFECT PLACEMENT
PRECISION PLACEMENT

How many of us remember the old rhyme “to market to market to buy a fat hen”?  In times past markets were the only way to buy produce and protein for the daily table. Of late the street market is once again thriving in cities and towns everywhere.  Farmers and local growers enjoy an outlet for their products and consumers can choose from an array of fresh foods of all kinds.

PERFECT PEPPERS
PECK OF PERFECT PEPPERS

“He who is not satisfied with a little, is satisfied with nothing .”

Epicurus

One of the stops along our travel route this past month was in Santa Monica where we spent time with good friends at the local farmers’ market.  While much can be said about the quality and freshness of fruits and vegetable here in the south and across the country, to me there is nothing quite as wonderful as fresh produce in California.  Driving from LA to San Francisco, we were amazed by the incredibly vast fields of olives, almonds, avocados, oranges, garlic – you name it we saw it growing!

RED AS A RADISH
RUDDY RADISHES

“The more challenging the obstacles in life, the greater the satisfaction in overcoming them.”

Murad S.Shah

Because we had walked to the market we were a bit restricted in what we could carry home, but that didn’t stop us from buying some of the most delicious peaches, strawberries, tomatoes and breads I’ve ever eaten. Beyond the pleasure of the food, we also enjoyed people-watching and of course photography 😀.

GROWING GREEN
GROWING GREENERY

“To be able to look back upon one’s life in satisfaction is to live twice.”

Kahalil Gibran

One interesting activity during this visit was helping my friend research and purchase a new camera.  Since I’m not in the market for equipment I’ll admit I’ve not spent much time studying what’s out there. Things have certainly come a long way since I bought my last weapon several years ago. Searching for an easy-to-use, lightweight, fixed-lens alternative that wouldn’t break the bank led to her choice of the Panasonic Lumix FZ1000. It has an incredible zoom range of 25 to 400mm and good performance in low light – perfect for her upcoming trip to Africa (and yes, I’m insanely jealous of her trip!).  The farmers market provided a great opportunity for a quick photography lesson and some shooting practice.

PRETTY AS A PICTURE
PERUSING PERFECT PEACHES

“Satisfaction comes from working next to 500 photographers and coming away with something different.”

David Burnett

Hopefully the vendors that day were satisfied with the results of their efforts – I know we were more than satisfied with our choices. As for my friend’s camera selection, here’s hoping that by the end of her trip she’s satisfied with her decision. I’ll be awaiting her results with eager anticipation!

 

WPC: Satisfaction

 

 

 

 

 

 

92 thoughts on “To Market To Market – WPC Satisfaction Leave a comment

  1. It must have been fun helping your friend narrow down her camera choices. I had a different Lumix for a while, and loved it. I agree about California produce – it just makes me jealous every time I go there!
    My grandmother used to say she was going “marketing” and when we visited, she would go nearly every day. Her phrasing was a holdover from growing up in the early 1900’s in West Virginia, but by the time I was aware of her habits, I don’t think there were any real markets left – just a supermarket and maybe a few specialty stores, where she and my grandfather retired (another island south of you). By now, I’m sure the farmer’s markets have come back again – she would have loved it.

  2. YUMMY!!! love these beautifully shot veggies…so perfect ….also loving the words that accompany them 😜

  3. I am interested to learn how it goes with your friend’s new camera. I would like to find a simple camera for hiking and other trips where I want something more than my cell phone, without the hassle of my DSLR and accessories. My favorite shot in your collection is the cabbage (or is it lettuce? I don’t know, I get my groceries from the store in nice labeled shrink wrap. >grin<)

    • Unfortunately that camera is a bit too bulky for what you want John – I’m looking for the same thing. Maybe the smaller FZ200??? As for the lettuce/cabbage, that’s actually an indelible plant that grows all over the area. Not sure WHAT it is! >

    • Thanks Jann, much appreciated. Sorry, don’t know David but I see he’s nearly a neighborand is only a few streets away. We have a very small photography community here on Kiawah so I’m amazed we’ve not met. Will drop him a note and see if we can connect. Thanks for mentioning it!

  4. Satisfaction – I’d say – reading your beautiful posts, first thing in the morning! The B/W photo of the little girl says a thousand words, in pictures!

  5. Beautiful post Tina! I love the farmers market. I’m hoping to have produce to offer at our local farmers market myself next year. You saw a lot of beauty on your trip 🙂

  6. Absolutely love that phrase market to market! I heard it quite a bit during my childhood in Australia. It always feels like you are spoilt for choice when it comes to taking something home from the market – just so many selections sold by so many different personalities too. My favourite part of markets like these is the cheese selection if they have one – could stand there and taste cheese all day and probably spend a lot more than I should 🙂 So kind of you to give your friend a few pointers with her new camera. So lucky of her to have a new time and I’m sure it will get a good workout on her trip to Africa. It’s going to see the world 🙂

    • Many thanks Mabel – funny you had the same nursery rhyme a half a world away!! I agree with your thoughts on the markets but must admit cheese is probably last on MY list. I love a good cheese but don’t like strong flavors so tend to stick with the ones I know. Boring but true 🙂

  7. A very satisfying post Tina. Btw I have a Panasonic Lumix FZ200 and it’s low-light capability is awesome. Plus it’s easy to use and although bridge cameras have their limitations it is convenient not having to change lenses ☺

      • Currently I only use the Lumix. Previous to that I used a Fuji Finepix. I used a DSLR with several lenses in the pre-digital days, but did not want to fork out a lot of money to replace all of that when I finally went digital, so compromised on a bridge camera. I try not to use the digital zoom, but confess that I sometimes do just to get the shot even though it can be a bit grainy. I try to work within the limitations of the camera, but am still tempted to stretch it a bit even when I know I shouldn’t 🙂

      • Thanks John, and yes indeed I search far and wide for the quotes that fit my posts. Makes me happy that people actually read them LOL. And I do love to read as well. Appreciate your visit and comments

  8. Tina, your veggies are just asking to be eaten! Perfect! And who’s the girl in the last photo? Your granddaughter?

    BTW, I looked up the Panasonic you mentioned in your post — you cannot buy a good lens for that money! If it is a good camera, maybe we all should switch to something like that! 🙂

    • LOL thanks Svetlana – you do get what you pay for but these days you can get lots more than you used to!! As for the little girl, no she was just a sweet little thing studying the peaches and I thought she made a good subject!

  9. 🙂 Hi Tina,
    the market in Santa Monica is great. It’s been ages since I’ve been there.
    I like buying fresh laid eggs – the color is so much brighter than those purchased in the grocery store.
    I’m curious about your friend’s camera, too!
    A very HAPPY weekend to you 🙂

  10. Hi Tina,

    I love your market photos. I am going to work with mine and see if I can make them look as good as yours. 😊 xo Pam

    >

  11. I love photographing markets – what a great subject for the challenge. Satisfaction all round, including my satisfaction of viewing your wonderful photographs 🙂

Please Tell Me What You Think!

