Skip to content

Around the Corner in China – WPC

“Always there has been an adventure just around the corner.”

Roy Chapman Andrews

DRAGON CORNER
DRAGON CORNER

For this week’s challenge I am reaching into my archives for some favorite corners in China. It was an amazing journey that resulted in some wonderful memories. I remember distinctly feeling that around every corner there was a marvelous surprise just waiting to be captured.

TEAHOUSE ROOFTOP
TEAHOUSE ROOFTOP

“The great thing about life is that you never know what’s around the corner.”

Stockard Channing

One of the interesting things about the Chinese is the effort they put into their decorative rooftops. Two of my favorites are the opening dragon capture and the beautiful tea house just above. Can you imagine they remain this beautiful after centuries of abuse by the elements?

CHINA'S GREAT WALL
CHINA’S GREAT WALL

“Around the corner from every ugly thing there’s something really beautiful.”

Soledad O’Brien

Of course the ultimate example of endurance through the ages, (and quite a few corners I might add!) is China’s Great Wall. It was one of my lifelong dreams to visit the wall and I am happy to report that it met and exceeded even my wildest expectations. For more of my Great Wall photos click here.

SHEEP AT THE CORNER
SHEEP AT THE CORNER

“The secret heart of the known awaits just around the corner.”

Alex Webb

Of course the delightful surprises of China’s corners went far beyond their structures. For example, who would expect a group of sheep to come marching around the corner while strolling the streets and alleys of China’s naturally-glorious Shangri-La?!

ALL ABOUT THE LIGHT
ALL ABOUT THE LIGHT

“A work of art is a corner of creation seen through a temperament.”

Emile Zola

Or just as interestingly, a simple corner when infused with light and reflections, might become a work of art if we are open to seeing it.

THROUGH CHILDRENS' EYES
THROUGH A DAUGHTER’S EYES

“Still round the corner there may wait, a new road or a secret gate.”

J.R.R. Tolkien

The message for the week, captured in my final example above, is to see the world through the eyes of a child – always expecting and therefore seeing wonders around every corner.

WPC: Corner

99 thoughts on “Around the Corner in China – WPC Leave a comment

  1. Love this post, of course πŸ™‚ I’m now back in Hong Kong for a couple of weeks, and head up to Hangzhou next week for a few days and it will be great to see those tiles, ornate architecture and food of the Middle Kingdom once again. Your photo and thoughts of the Great Wall, perfect. I had high expectations, and the Wall exceeded them. Wish you a relaxing weekend ~

  2. Wonderful images and corner quotes (not coroner quotes!)
    The summary is perfect – beholding things in wonderment like a child.
    We have lost the sense of wonder and awe in God’s amazing creation.
    Good for you to remind us. Also I notice that you have published a number of interesting books – you
    are a very creative and industrious gal!

    • Thanks ever so Michael – sorry I didn’t see this one when you posted it. My husband and I love to travel and most of my books are a celebration of our travels. Saving memories – what could be better?!

  3. I travelled twice to China in the 1980’s and I remember those fascinating roof tops. What a delightful set of photos and quotes for the Challenge “corner”. Thank you I did enjoy this!

  4. Those are gorgeous photos! I’ve been to Taiwan and it’s incredible how Asia can still just really amaze you, even when you think you’ve seen it all..

  5. A gorgeous collection of photos Tina. I especially love the tea house shot with the rice terraces behind and the shot of the wall. When we went it was so polluted, gray and cloudy that none of my shots turned out very well. But it was still very memorable. Beautiful post!

    • Thanks Mar, the best way to eliminate the tourist is get there before or after them LOL! Seriously tho, that’s why our trip planner insisted we drive 2 hours out from Beijing, so that the tourists were missing. We saw only 1 all day and had complete run of the area. It was heaven!

    • Thanks so much Judy – I think I took as many photos in China as I did on our African safari – and that’s saying something!! It’s an amazing place with much to see and do.

  6. Wow! All those details. I’m a fool for beautiful details. The rooftops are absolutely gorgeous. I haven’t seen the great wall in person, but that is on my list. Thank you for sharing your adventures around the corners πŸ™‚

    • My pleasure NCZ – it’s truly a wonder and well worth the arduous trip, first to get to china, then to get to a more remote part of the wall as opposed to the touristy spots closer to Beijing. Appreciate your stopping by!

  7. What a stunning post Tina. Love all the quotes and your photos are just gorgeous. I’ve always wanted to see the Great Wall too. Looks amazing. Thanks for taking me there virtually.

  8. Tina, as always you delighted my eyes, touched my heart, and brought back so many wonderful memories when I journeyed through China with my sister.

  9. I agree with Sally’s comment. Beautifully done, as always.
    The photo of the Great Wall is magnificent. It was a gloomy day when we were there, all my photos looked foggy…
    Thank you for the post, Tina! πŸ™‚

Please Tell Me What You Think!

