Lens-Artists Challenge #12 – PATH

“Relax, breathe deep and trust the path you’re on.”

Lalah Delia

BEACH PATH

BEACH PATH

Having recently spent many hours glued to the weather channel tracking the path of Hurricane Florence, it seemed appropriate that this week’s challenge should be Path. Your path may be literal, such as I’ve illustrated in today’s images, or figurative, giving us a glimpse into the direction in which your life is moving. 

CART PATH AMONG THE OAKS

CART PATH AMONG THE OAKS

“If you light a lamp for someone it will also brighten your path.”

Buddhist Proverb

Personally, my life’s path has been nearly as unpredictable as that of Hurricane Florence – a perfect example of the old adage “Man plans, God laughs.”  Rather than bore you with details, I’ll simply say that early on I was taught that if we work hard and do our best, things will work out in the end.  Somehow, though not necessarily according to plan 😊, for me they always have. 

DEER PATH

GOTCHA!

“If you don’t know where you want to go, then it doesn’t matter which path you take.”

Lewis Carroll

Certainly, luck has a great deal to do with it. I was fortunate to have been born into a supportive family in a stable country during a time of peace and prosperity. I never worried where my next meal might come from nor whether I might become a victim of the ravages of war or the whims of a ruling despot. The choices along my path seem far less challenging when viewed from a global perspective. 

GARDEN PATH

GARDEN PATH

“The presence of a path doesn’t necessarily mean the existence of a destination.”

Craig D. Lounsbrough

As another stroke of pure luck, my degree in languages was a primary target for recruiters in the technology business before there was any such thing as a computer science major.  Who’d have thought that someone who once said “no one will ever buy a computer in a retail store” (yep, that was me, DUH) would end up with a career in computers and networking. Go figure.

BOARDS TO THE BEACH

BOARDS TO THE BEACH

“There are no wrong turns, only unexpected paths.”

Mark Nepo

Finally, a long term North-easterner, I would never have imagined living in the south. My husband and I have now been here for 20 years. I’ve learned to love hot, humid summers (he hasn’t), fried chicken, and sand in my shoes. Along with the things I love I’ve learned to anticipate, follow, and despise tropical storms. My heart goes out to those affected by Hurricane Florence – may their paths lead to recovery very soon.

Like many others I’m sure, my path thus far has been filled with twists and turns I’d never have anticipated. Fortunately, along the way I’ve learned to roll with the punches and so far it’s been a wonderful ride. Here’s to wherever our paths lead next 😀.

 

HAVE YOU SEEN THESE?

There were many terrific responses to Amy’s “Small Is Beautiful” challenge last week, thanks to all who participated!

 

To learn more about how to participate in our challenge, click here. Be sure to link to this post and to TAG YOUR POST LENS-ARTISTS. Finally, tune in next Saturday when Patti of Pilotfish will host our next challenge.

 

 

 

 

250 thoughts on “Lens-Artists Challenge #12 – PATH

  1. Pingback: Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #53: Your Choice (Gratitude) | HHC Blog

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Posts from Your Archives – #Potluck #Poetry – The Sun Welcomes Me by Miriam Hurdle | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  3. Pingback: Relax Breath Trust – Indians Abroad Desi Videsh Me

  4. I feel this every time I see the newspaper; I was so lucky to have a good mother and father, and have plenty to eat, and live in a beautiful city. I just think how horrible it must be to feel hungry at night going to sleep.

  5. Pingback: The Path Leading Home | The Day After

  6. Pingback: ~ Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #12: Path ~ | Lindy Low LeCoq

  7. Pingback: Lens Artists Photo Challenge: Path – mazeepuran (माझे e-पुराण)

  8. Pingback: Lens-Artists Photo Challenge – A Once-Familiar Path | The Nature of Things

  9. Pingback: Up the Garden Path – Earth laughs in flowers

  10. Pingback: lens.artists photo challenge 12 – path – photo roberts blog

  11. Pingback: Lens-Artists Challenge – Traveled Paths – Blog of Hammad Rais

  12. Pingback: Lens Artists photo Challenge – Path | Journeys with Johnbo

  13. Pingback: Cărare, cărări…/ Path | doar nicole...

  14. Pingback: Path – Hadd Hai Yaar

  15. Pingback: CLIMBING ON MT. SINAI / EGYPT | BANACTEE

  16. Pingback: Lens-Artists Challenge #12 – PATH | Balance

  17. Pingback: Finishing Hole – Nes Felicio Photography

  18. Pingback: Lens-Artists PC: Path to glory – Mexi Movie the Third

  19. Pingback: My Ever-Changing Path of Life - Thirdeyemom

Please Tell Me What You Think!