(SUN)RISE AND SHINE – WPC

“Sunrise, how lovely it seems to see from my window a sky full of dreams.”

Frank Sinatra

BEAUTIFUL BOTANY BAY

BEAUTIFUL BOTANY BAY

Those who know me might think I would focus on sunsets in response to Erica’s Rise/Set challenge, since my reputation for disliking early morning is well known. Never let it be said, however, that I cannot “rise” to the occasion now and then. The photography gods know better than to offer me a mediocre sunset on those times when I’m up before dawn to shoot morning’s glory. As seen above at Botany Bay and below among the oaks of Ace Basin, the South Carolina sun has put on some  spectacular shows to reward my pre-dawn efforts.

LIVE OAKS, ACE BASIN

LIVE OAKS, ACE BASIN

“Sunrise and the new day’s breakin’ through.”

Uriah Heep

While both of my opening captures were made within an hour or so of my home here on Kiawah, I’ve also been known to make my way down to our own beautiful beach in the early morning hours. Admittedly it doesn’t happen often but when it does I can usually count on a lovely light show here as well.

KIAWAH BEACH SUNRISE

KIAWAH BEACH SUNRISE

“The world is waiting for the sunrise.”

Stan Freberg

Yet another beautiful nearby spot can be found on Deveaux Bank, where there is a densely-populated bird sanctuary replete with winged creatures of many species.

DEVEAUX BANK SUNRISE

DEVEAUX BANK SUNRISE

” Then came sunrise, fading the moon and stars from sight.”

Engelbert Humperdinck

I’ve often been known to wake before the sun while traveling.  Since I follow a “one and done” philosophy, I’m always anxious to take advantage of as many hours, and to see as many places, as I can squeeze in. I have a fond and distinct memory of shooting sunrise with a good friend at Angkor Wat, especially since the shoot took place from a hot air balloon (no worries, we were tethered to the ground 😀). The sky that day was quite hazy, which only added to the beauty of this ancient place.  

SUNRISE, ANGKOR WAT

SUNRISE, ANGKOR WAT

“Good morning sunrise, you brighten up my day.”

The BeeGees

Speaking of hot air balloons, I captured the sunrise moment below during a visit to beautiful Bend, Oregon. 

UP UP AND AWAY

UP UP AND AWAY

“Sunrise, a symphony of golden sunlight.”

Casting Crowns

Who could forget sunrise in Patagonia in beautiful Torres Del Paine National Park? Happily we shot sunrise on our first morning, as it was the last time the early morning sun broke through the clouds.

SUNRISE, TORRES DEL PAINE

SUNRISE, TORRES DEL PAINE

“Sunrise, Sunset….Swiftly fly the years”

Jerrold and Harnick

I could go on and on (and I suppose perhaps I already have!).  I’ve enjoyed my sunrise meander down memory lane and hopefully you have too. Here’s to a lifetime of beautiful sunrises for us all.

 

 

 

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

114 thoughts on “(SUN)RISE AND SHINE – WPC

  1. Pingback: Most Important Goal – A JOURNEY OF A THOUSAND MILES

  2. Yes you have gone on which makes me happy as it indicates that I am not the only going onner. These captures are in serious competition to be adjudged the winner and fortunately I am not the adjudicator

  3. Pingback: Sunrise

Please Tell Me What You Think!