Lens-Artists Challenge #129 – Favorite Images of 2020

LAST FLIGHT OUT

A new beginning is a blank canvas ready and thirsty for paint. 

Chaker Khazaal

The Lens-Artists team is back after our brief hiatus and is happy to wish a warm welcome to 2021. More than ever, this New Year brings with it a sense of hope that life will return to something closer to normal – perhaps with a greater appreciation for what is most important. Our annual “Favorite Images of the Year ” challenge presents a different opportunity this time around. While typically we might include visits to faraway lands, or to family in other places, 2020 was a very different year. Rather than highlight what I might consider 2020’s best photography, I’ve chosen instead to include images that tell my personal story for 2020.

I’ve opened with an image taken during our only trip of 2020, an early March visit with family in New York City. In fact, it was the last time we were with any of our family, our biggest disappointment this bizarre year. As it happens, we were but one tiny step ahead of the first major outbreak in New York. We remember joking about it, thinking it had been over-hyped and was nothing to worry about. We could not have been more wrong and in fact our timing was simply pure, dumb luck.

SHELTER FROM THE STORM

“The magic in new beginnings is truly the most powerful of them all.”

Josiyah Martin

We returned to the shelter of our small island, where we have taken advantage of fresh air, nature’s many gifts, and relative safety. As the COVID storm swirled around us we were able to spend time with friends – our pod members if you will – playing golf, walking the beach, bicycling and dining outside in our typically mild climate. We were unable to visit our families, and prevented from traveling for pleasure, but because we have been much more fortunate than so many others we cannot help but count our blessings.

LIME TIME

A new dawn always breaks after darkness, but only those who have survived the night live to see it.”

Tristan Roulot

I will admit my enthusiasm for photography waned a bit this year, as the news continued to grow darker each day. Having become used to seeing new faces and places, the idea of capturing the “same old thing” failed to interest me. It was a visit with a friend whose beautiful garden drew me in that helped me to remember Mother Nature’s wonders were more than worthy of my attention. The luscious fruit above was one of my many images that day.

HANGING AROUND

“You can do the impossible, because you have been through the unthinkable.”

Christina Rasmussen

Once re-energized it seemed nature’s gifts were everywhere. I took to biking around the island with my camera, with an eye toward being more observant. It was on those outings that I captured the images above and below.

IT’S NOT EASY BEING GREEN

“The key to a better life isn’t always a change of scenery. Sometimes it simply requires opening your eyes.”

Richelle E. Goodrich

Happily, our local photography club continued its weekly meetings using Zoom. We were able to host amazing professionals who would otherwise have been on the road leading groups exploring exotic locations. There were wonderful opportunities for expanding our skills, including an introduction to the concept of Wabi-Sabi which struck a chord with me. The two images that follow resulted from that session, which explored the beauty that can be found both in aging and imperfection (two concepts with which I am very familiar 😊).

AGE AND BEAUTY

“The days without difficulty are the days you do not improve.”

Evan Winter
GHOST FOREST

“The great lessons in life often come to us through some form of extreme hardship.”

Robert White

Our lives are filled with moments of wonder that offset times of difficulty and hardship. It is only through the latter that we learn to better appreciate the former. Let us hope that if nothing else, 2020 has shown us that the curveballs life throws us are opportunities for growth that once overcome, strengthen our resolve to keep moving forward.

LIGHT AT THE END OF THE TUNNEL

“I will love the light for it shows me the way, yet I will endure the darkness for it shows me the stars.”

Og Mandino

We are excited to announce that next week’s challenge will be guest hosted by Slow Shutter Speed’s Anne Sandler. Be sure to stop by her blog this week to see her beautiful photography and to make sure you don’t miss her post next Saturday at noon EST.

As the sun sets on 2020, may 2021 bring peace, good health, and moments of joy to us all. We look forward to seeing YOUR favorite images of 2020 and understanding why you’ve chosen them. Remember to link them to my original post, and to use the Lens-Artists Tag to help us find you. As always, we greatly appreciate your continued support of our challenge and the creativity of your responses.

265 thoughts on “Lens-Artists Challenge #129 – Favorite Images of 2020

  1. Pingback: All Wrapped UP in Nature – Wandering Teresa

  2. Pingback: Lens-Artists Challenge #180 – Favourite Images of 2021 | Leya

  3. Pingback: Lens-ArtistPC-131-Emotions – WoollyMuses

  4. What amazing photographs you have taken, not just in 2020 but beyond that. I’m seriously thinking of giving up trying after seeing yours, not that I put myself in that class anyway having had to give up the DSL a few years back. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed my trip through all of your oeuvre and hope to see more as you publish.

  5. May 2021 bring more opportunities for just about everything Tina !
    It’s been a long haul to get through the year for many, I keep fingers x’d for happier and healthier times ahead soon, much to be overcome however before I think we can feel truly safe again .
    Your local findings that stirred you are very lovely and fresh, experimenting with the concept of wabi sabi looks fun ! Completely understand a down turn in enthusiasm for photography during the past year , I think I’ve made plenty of excuses to myself for not exploring more locally but have just about begun to nudge into action …
    xx Poppy

  6. A wonderful and beautiful review full of hope for the year ahead Tina, thank you. I love your first quote about “a blank canvas thirsty for paint” – perfect 🙂 I will be thinking of you over the next few days as the new administration begins and the old is relegated to the dustbin of history where it truly belongs. Much love for the year ahead 💕

    • Thanks so much for the lovely thought Andrew. Yes, it’s been quite a horror show here in the US of late. I worry about the short term but have hope that once the transition happens things will return to something closer to normal. Wishing you a year filled with joy and peace

  7. Pingback: Lens-Artists Challenge #129 – Favorite Images of 2020 – fastlivenostress

  8. Pingback: Writer’s Corner (02) – Being Organised! | Stepping2YourDreams

  9. Pingback: My Photo Week in Review: 01-10-2021 – Musin' With Susan

Please Tell Me What You Think!