Lens-Artists Challenge #168 – Seen Better Days

old, neglected, decayed, boat
Neglected

“Pause and remember – nothing lasts forever”

Jennifer Young

This week the Lens Artists team invites you to join us in exploring places and things that have “seen better days”. Through the years I’ve learned how much we photographers love dilapidated, vintage, older things. My archives are a veritable storehouse of worn, aging items that are full of character. So this week, let’s all take the opportunity to show them off.

fence
Don’t Fence Me In

“As you wait for better days, don’t forget to enjoy today, in case they’ve already started.”

Robert Breault

I came across the worn down fence above while exploring “downtown” Hudson, New York during a visit with family. It’s a charming small town with wonderful restaurants, interesting shops and a very special vibe. I found several examples of images that fit this week’s challenge but the simple fence was one of my favorites.

dilapidated, house, worn
Open Door Policy

“Only he who has seen better days and lives to see better days again knows their full value.”

Mark Twain

The image above features a house we came across while playing golf on a course in Maine. I couldn’t imagine how it was still standing, nor why the owners of the course hadn’t litigated to have it removed, but it sure made a terrific subject for my lens. It’s unusual for me to have a camera while golfing but for some reason that day I did. Serendipity.

castle, Scotland, worn, dilapidated

“My father Time is weak and gray, with waiting for a better day.”

Percy Bysshe Shelley

In Scotland it seemed there was a castle around every corner – some maintained beautifully, others, not so much. Among the latter there were some wonderful examples that led me to think about what they must once have been. The example above had clearly seen better days, yet its stately presence had a charm all its own, making it one of those I found most memorable.

worn down, factory, decrepit
Enter At Your Own Risk

“A brave world, sir, full of religion, knavery, and change: we shall shortly see better days.”

Aphra Behn

We don’t have castles here in the U.S., but we surely have our share of factories. The one above is actually located in the town where I grew up. It was rather a fixture there for a long time. Before my family arrived the factory had fallen into disrepair and the local athletic field had been named for it. One afternoon long after I’d moved away I took my camera over while visiting family and totally enjoyed an afternoon shooting such an important part of the town’s history.

Hearts, decrepit, old, door
Heart to Heart

“Let it roll on, full flood, inexorable, irresistible, benignant, to broader lands, and better days.”

Winston Churchill

Well, I could go on and on, and I suppose I already have, but I’ll close with an image that just made me smile. I loved the texture of the wood and the rusty metal of the hearts. To me they spoke of love that lasts well beyond any earthly elements.

Sincere thanks to Amy for last week’s Autumn Colors challenge which generated so many beautiful responses. We don’t see much color here in the south so I especially enjoyed viewing the brilliant oranges, reds and yellows you presented. We hope you’ll join us this week for our “Seen Better Days” challenge. Please remember to link your responses to my original post and to use the Lens-Artists Tag. Finally we’re excited to announce that I.J. Khanewala of Don’t Hold Your Breath will be next week’s guest host. Until then, please stay safe and be kind.

252 thoughts on “Lens-Artists Challenge #168 – Seen Better Days

  1. Pingback: Little Chapel – Naxos 1983 | What's (in) the Picture?

  2. Pingback: Lens-Artists Challenge #168 – Seen Better Days – Talking Sports Around The Clock

  3. Pingback: Lens-Artists Challenge #168 – Seen Better Days – DIGITAL CITIZEŊS

  4. That last image of the rusted hearts really spoke to me. Agree with your interpretation that they speak of love that lasts beyond any elements. Water and rust probably had a hand in creating the rust, and those hearts have certainly weathered the test of time 🙂

  5. Pingback: Growing Old Gracefully – Beyond the Window Box

  6. Pingback: Seen Better Days by Khürt Williams on Island in the Net

  7. I love this theme. It really is fascinating to imagine how these once looked, and I also find my camera roll full of old sites or buildings, some renovated and some…not. Truly some beautiful photos (and quotes)!

Please Tell Me What You Think!