Lens-Artists Challenge #268 – Tell Us Why

Petra, rocks, cart, light
Lighting The Way, Petra

“The artist is the only one qualified to criticize his art, because only the artist knows what he was trying to express and how satisfied he is with the attempt.”

Ron Bracken

This week our challenge is, well, truly challenging! Years ago I had an online critique session with a well-known professional photographer. I was to submit 10 of my favorite photographs which we would critique together. Choosing those 10 images was a truly difficult exercise for me – rather like being asked which is your favorite child 😊. This week, we challenge you to choose up to a MAXIMUM OF TEN images which are your all-time favorites. No matter the subject or how long ago they were taken, you need to TELL US WHY you chose them. If you select images for their sentimental value they should still be strong from a technical perspective.

First up, I found Petra (shown in my opening image) truly fascinating. As photographic opportunity goes, it doesn’t get much better. I chose that specific image because of the glorious light on the colorful rocks, and because the cart (which matched them perfectly) created an excellent perspective on their grandeur. My second image below, back home on Kiawah, captures a beautiful Night Heron. In my 20+ years on Kiawah I’ve seen them hiding at ground-level behind branches several times, but only this once with wings spread, and better still, on the hunt. Fortunately I was using my zoom lens to photograph some nearby egrets and could react quickly. In addition to its amazing wings and beautiful coloring, I loved the clarity of the bird’s unique red eye.

Night heron, bird, trees, wings
Night Heron On The Hunt

“Don’t ask for a criticism until you are sure you can’t give it yourself. Then you will be in a fine state to receive it.”

Robert Henri

Some of you have probably seen the umbrella image below over the years. Captured in Cambodia, it’s among my very favorite images because of its amazing colors and the lovely symmetry of its curves. It is also a favorite because I had to rescue it in post-processing as it was taken in the dark without a flash. I was stunned at how readily the colors appeared.

umbrellas, colorful, Asian
A Burst of Color, Cambodia Umbrellas

“The best criticism is self criticism – it’s constructive and helps you improvise.”

Amit Abraham

I’ve included the next image in my blog several times, and it remains among my personal favorites. It was one of few times I asked a stranger to allow me to photograph him – he couldn’t have been more accommodating. I was pleased at the detail of the image, including the tattoo on his arm and the dust from his hand saw. I was also happy with the use of sepia for the final edit.

hand saw, hands, watch, wood, sawdust
Workman at Work, Charleston SC

“We are harder on ourselves than we are on anyone else.”

Anne Burton

I chose the next image strictly because of the distinctly identifiable form of the subject. I used monochrome to further isolate its clarity. I was happy with the final result, especially considering I captured the image through the glass of my kitchen window 😊.

woodpecker, tree, silhouette
Silhouette

“It is not a sign of weakness, but a sign of high maturity, to rise to the level of self-criticism.”

Martin Luther King, Jr.

I do love the image that follows although I’ve not used it often if at all on the blog. There was something about the curves of the horses’ backs that drew my eye and my lens. I love that they’re all different yet similar, especially their forms. Unlike the image above, this one would have lost it’s appeal in monochrome.

horses, manes, colors
Curves

“One should never criticize his own work except in a fresh and hopeful mood.”

Charles Horton Cooley

Next I’ve included a favorite image from our time in Montana’s Glacier National Park. It was a rainy, cloudy, hazy day as we drove up the mountain; we were terribly disappointed that we’d be unable to enjoy the vistas. As we climbed still higher on the famous Going To The Sun Road we suddenly broke through the clouds. We were able to see the spectacular scene in front of us, enhanced by the clouds now below us. It was an incredible moment made even more special by the lupins in full bloom.

Mountains, clouds, lupins, Going to the Sun Road, Montana, Glacier National Park
Above the Clouds, Glacier National Park

“It is crucial that our self-talk instill confidence within us and is supportive.”

Sue Those

Although the purple of the lupins was a beautiful addition to the scene above, it was the pink of Kiawah’s sweetgrass that drew me to the image that follows. I chose this one because of the purity of the color, the clarity of the dewdrops, and my editing process which formed the ball of sweetgrass within the larger field.

sweetgrass, dew
Sweetgrass and Dew

“We are harder on ourselves than we are on anyone else.”

Anne Burton

The next image is a personal favorite primarily because I love the story it tells. Clearly the the female egret is preparing the nest for chicks to come as the male delivers additional twigs for construction. Somehow he suspends himself in the air as he delivers his offering. All of the grace and beauty of the pair is on display as they balance perfectly on the delicate branches.

egrets, birds, nesting, building, twigs
Nesting Pair

“Success comes from curiosity, concentration, perseverance and self criticism.”

Albert Einstein

If you’re like me, the closer you get to your final image, the more difficult it will be to make a decision. I was torn between several images from our African safari and others from our visit to China. In the end I went with a grand vista of China’s Longsheng Rice Fields, including the famous “Devil’s Backbone”. The two tiny people standing on it and the winding road below offer a sense of scale. The lush grandeur of the symmetrical fields in the late afternoon light is what pushed me over the edge on choosing this one.

rice fields, longsheng, devil's backbone
Rice Fields of Longsheng, China

“An artist who lacks the power of self-criticism accomplishes but little.”

Leonardo daVinci

I hope you’ve enjoyed my choices and will have fun choosing your own favorites. Be sure to link your post to mine, and to use the Lens-Artists Tag to appear in our Reader section.

Our sincere thanks to Egidio for last week’s RECHARGE challenge. We loved his subject as well as your responses. Hopefully we all felt recharged after reading them! Patti will lead us next week so be sure to check out her always beautiful Pilotfish Blog at noon EST next Saturday. In the meanwhile as always please stay safe, be kind and enjoy the journey.

Looking for more information on joining our challenge? Click here.

191 thoughts on “Lens-Artists Challenge #268 – Tell Us Why

  1. Tina, I am wait late in submitting my entry for your challenge. As you know we were in Colorado celebrating our 30th anniversary immersed in the beauty of fall foliage in that state. Three days after returning home, I came down with an extremely mild case of COVID (I didn’t even know I had it until I was already in day 3 with the virus). Anyway, here’s my late entry:

    https://egidio.photography/a-turning-point/

  2. Pingback: Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #268: Tell us Why – Calling-all-RushBabes

  3. Pingback: Light Words

  4. Pingback: Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #268 Tell Us Why - My Colorful Expressions

  5. Pingback: I love capturing the autumn light | mazeepuran (माझे e-पुराण)

  6. Pingback: Tell Us Why – Nes Felicio Photography

  7. Pingback: Lens Artists Photo Challenge #268 – Tell Me Why – Wandering Dawgs

  8. Pingback: Time stood still, in here! – Philosophy Through Photography

  9. Pingback: The Night Workers Spied in Pondicherry – From Pyrenees to Pennines

  10. Another interesting edition from you.
    And one has to explain why the image is the best, and one must think a lot. Thank you for making our brains sharp in order to pick up the best image.
    I love petra lighting, colourful umbrellas, silhouettes, and rice fields.
    “An artist who lacks the power of self-criticism accomplishes but little.” Leonardo da Vinci I love this quote. As photographers, we feel every image we take is the best and fail to appreciate self-criticism.
    Thank you, Tina Schell.

  11. Pingback: Lens-Artists Challenge #268 – Tell Us Why | Murtagh's Meadow

Please Tell Me What You Think!