Lens-Artists Challenge #294 – Before and After

shrimp boat, ocean, fishing
Shrimpboat at Sea – Original

“There’s no school of editing that says do it this way or do it that way. You find your own way there.”

Chris Boot

This week John asks us to “show our underwear” as it were – to share the unaltered originals of some of our images. As stated in my opening quote, good image editing is an important element in the transformation of a photograph from SOOC (straight-out-of camera) to something closer to art. The original image of a shrimp boat headed out to sea above isn’t terrible, it just looks a bit boring. First, it breaks an unwritten rule and places the subject smack in the middle of the frame. So I moved it to the right a bit, straightened the horizon, framed it, and added a bit of contrast to show the sunlight that originally shone on its left side. Then, I would normally have discarded it to be honest, as it’s a fairly boring image. Instead, for this week’s exercise I added a more interesting sky – one I captured myself earlier that same day. What do you think – interesting or a bit overdone? After all, beauty really IS in the eye of the beholder!

shrimp boat, sky, editing
Shrimpboat After Edits

“A good eye can edit before the shutter opens.”

Craig Coverdale

My second choice of the week comes from our safari in Africa. For most of the time we were there, the landscape was very dry and dusty. The rainy season was to begin shortly after our visit so many of the animals were returning in anticipation. In Botswana, elephants were everywhere, in every shape and size imaginable. The adventure remains at the top of my list of favorite moments ever, and I cannot imagine anything that would surpass it. That said, let’s see how we might improve on one of my favorite captures.

elephants, affection, Botswana
Family Love – Original

“Editing is how you create meaning, so it’s probably the most important part of the process.”

Carolyn Drake

Because the landscape surrounding the two beautiful elephants was so barren, I turned to Photoshop’s Generative AI product to replace it. I very rarely use AI, and if I do I make a point of saying so – my version of “truth in advertising”. In this case I worked hard to keep the landscape true to what we actually saw in other parts of our adventure. I used the phrase “African landscape during spring” which is when and where we actually were. I discarded nearly a dozen options before finding this one, which to me felt quite natural. I then added a slight touch of contrast to the subjects, lowered the contrast in the background and added a frame. Here is the final result. To be honest I prefer the original which is true to the moment in my memory, but to an unbiased observer this version might be preferable.

elephants, affection, Botswana
Family Love – Edited with AI

“The editing, the sequencing? For me, that’s where a lot of the magic happens.”

Jonas Bendiksen

My next example uses the same technique, except that the subject is a lovely flower from nearby Magnolia plantation and the original background was so horrific I actually discarded the image. Having pulled it from oblivion I edited by once again replacing the background using Photoshop AI. This time, not only did AI replace the background (my text was “replace background with soft color”), it also added a stem for good measure 😊.

flower, pink, busy background
Lovely Blossom – Original

“Photography is a system of visual editing. At bottom, it is a matter of surrounding with a frame a portion of one’s cone of vision, while standing in the right place at the right time.”

John Szarkowski

In this case, to me the edited version is much nicer and in fact I might consider using it this way, but only after confessing the edit. I would also take out the 2 stems that were added which to me look a bit unrealistic.

flower, pink, blush, soft
Lovely Blossom – Edited with AI

It’s possible to think of photography as an act of editing, a matter of where you put your rectangle pull it out or take it away.

Michael Kenna

Finally, I’ve included a set of images from a recent storm here on Kiawah. In my post describing the storm I mentioned that the beach was strewn with hundreds of seashells and sea stars. In my original image I was not very happy with the coloring, which was gray and dark based on the timing and the weather. Here is the original unaltered:

sea stars, gray, storm, debris
Sea Stars – Original

“If most editorial stories were photographed just as they are, editors would end up throwing most in the waste basket.”

Alfred Eisenstaedt

For this image I tried a number of approaches to make it more appealing. I first removed the debris that surrounded it on the beach. I then modified the coloring to a warmer shade of beige more similar to the beach’s appearance on a sunny day. From there I added a frame but I was still not happy with the result. Finally I used AI to change the background for a bit more contrast and here is the result.

sea stars, starfish
Sea Stars Edit-1

“Those who want to be serious photographers, you’re really going to have to edit your work. You’re going to have to understand what you’re doing. You’re going to have to not just shoot, shoot, shoot.”

Annie Leibovitz

I was still unhappy with the image despite my love of the subject and the way Mother Nature herself had arranged it. So I played a bit with some of the standard editing tools available in Photoshop and this is my result. My goal was to have the sea stars appear as if they were under the shallow waves that reach the beach just as they are dying. I’ll admit I never quite fell in love with the image so it may yet appear in some other form in future posts, but for now here’s the final edit.

sea stars, editing, waterlogged

“Photography is simple…You take to the streets, you come back home, edit your photographs and show them. It’s that simple.”

Abbas Attar

I had to laugh at Mr Attar’s quote above. I think photography and in particular editing, are not the least bit simple! Good photographers have imagination and skillsets that allow them to create compelling images. There are basic edits like cropping, contrast, spot removal etc that can be used to improve the end result. But it is the photographer’s intent and skillset while capturing an object or a scene that truly counts at the end of the day in my opinion. The opportunities with options like Artificial Intelligence (which continues to evolve and improve) challenge us to remember the importance of the basic “rules” and to admit when we’ve gone beyond what our eyes and our lenses actually see.

Sincere thanks to John for challenging us to share some of our “misses” and the ways we might address them. Be sure to visit and link to his terrific original here, and to use the Lens-Artists Tag to help us find you. Thanks also to Sofia for her beautiful Water in Motion challenge last week, and to all of those who responded with such amazing images. Finally, we hope you’ll join us next week when Donna once again leads us on her wonderful Wind Kisses site. Until then as always please stay safe, be kind and enjoy the journey.

Looking for more information on joining our challenge? Click here.

71 thoughts on “Lens-Artists Challenge #294 – Before and After

  1. Pingback: Lens-ArtistPC24-294-Before-After – WoollyMuses

  2. Well, I must agree with Sofia – I was surprised! But for the best of reasons too – your editing is well thought through and explained. AI I haven’t tried yet, but changing skies comes in handy with the slides…I try to keep the original sky as long as it works, but the yellowish tones are not my favourites.

    I love the edits on the fishingboat, but like many others I prefer the untouched elefants – despite the edit being perfect. With the flower I can only see the edited version, and the softness and delicateness is perfectly done. A wonderful post.

  3. I agree with Abbas Attar. I know some people measure the quality of an image by the time they spend on editing it (the longer, the better). The worst I got told proudly by a fellow photographer was that he spent 2,5 hours in one single image to hide he messed it up. In my opinion, those guys are wrong because they didn’t plan carefully enough while photographing. I usually spend 2-3 minutes in maximum for an image.

  4. Tina, thanks for taking us through these edits and your thought processes for each one. I agree with you about the elephant photo. I like the original better. I really like the edited shrimp boat. I like the edited azalea but I’m with you on removing the stems. I like the sea stars edit 1 the best. I don’t do a lot of editing except for cropping. When I attempt something more complicated I usually spent too much time on it and don’t get the results I wanted. I keep trying, though!

    • LOL I know what you mean about spending too much time Beth. I think it turns out that if an image needs that much attention just toss it and move to the next one LOL. Appreciate your visit and feedback as always.

  5. I liked your edit of the shrimp boat with the clouds added. It’s much more dramatic. You captured a precious moment between the elephants. I think I like the trees in the background in your first shot better. I wonder how it would look in black and white or with a vignette.

    • Thanks Siobhan – yes several readers have suggested B&W for the elephants. It’s how I used it in the book I did about our safari and I like it much better. Somehow the trees look more appropriate in that version. I didn’t think to include it on the post as I was trying to do something different but clearly I should have! 😊

  6. I do like the shrimp-boat edit, the sky adds a warmness. The elephants – oh my they are precious. The original background, though “drab” is true to their reality. The soft background on the magnolia is gorgeous, and I agree the stems detract from the finished edit. Those sea-stars are wonderful. I like both edits and I’m pretty sure you’ll keep playing with it!

  7. I loved what you did with the elephants, that was clever, I don’t know that I would have thought of doing that. Though I didn’t understand what you were saying about the boat, I really liked it, with and without the edits, the boat is really fascinating Tina.

    • Thanks Leanne. Truth be told, I’d never have taken that approach with the elephants if not for this week’s challenge but it was an interesting exercise. I’m more attached to the reality of the original scene but it was fun to play with the image. As for the boat, I had much better images of it as we followed it out to sea at daybreak. The sunrise was gorgeous and my earlier images were definite keepers, so I rescued that one from oblivion again for purposes of this week’s exercise. The shrimp boats are omnipresent around us during their season and are great fun to photograph.

  8. What a great post, Tina. I love your choices and how you edited them. My favorites are the shrimp boat with the vivid sky, the elephants with the AI generated background and the magnolia with the soft background. I agree–about removing the stems. I found your last experiment really interesting. With the underwater effect as your goal, I think you’re getting much closer in the final edit. You’ve set yourself a difficult task, I think. But your editing skill is really terrific! Brava!!

    • Many thanks Patti. I must admit I enjoy the editing process but these days it’s hard to keep up with the many options available!!! As for the sea stars, I’ve had quite enough of that one for now although maybe someday I’ll attack it a bit further LOL.

  9. Great edits, especially the flower one. But to be honest, I prefer the elephants in the before shot. The stark background gives an interesting facet to the composition. Makes my eye focus on the actual animals. Changing the background to greenery and trees seems to reduce the focus on the elephants. But that’s just my opinion. We are all different and our uniqueness makes up for a more interesting creative society.

    • Thanks for the visit and comment Vicki. I happen to agree with you on the elephants as did several others. I also agree wholeheartedly with your comment about our uniqueness – well said!

  10. A fascinating post as I’ve never yet experimented with AI to completely replace a background. The results are really interesting. On the elephants, like you I think I prefer the original, but I wondered if that might work well in B&W, since there’s so little colour, and with the texture boosted. But for the flower, again I agree, the AI background is a big improvement. Personally I would keep the stem to the left of the flower as it grounds in within the shot, but remove the stray one above it.

    On the other shots, I love the final version of the boat. The sky replacement works better than many others I’ve seen, perhaps because it was taken on the same day and the light has similar tones? On the starfish, my favourite is the middle sand-coloured version rather than the green.

    • Thanks Sarah, appreciate the feedback. I actually did create a B&W of the elephants for my book on the adventure and in an earlier post, but for this one I wanted to try to show it with a simpler background. I actually preferred the B&W. I do think the sky replacement worked for the reasons you suggested.

  11. Pingback: Lens-Artists Challenge #294 – Before and After – wordpress.blog/jameskedze

  12. I guess photography entered the world of AI long before any of us knew about it! Fascinating post … always love my starfish! And…. Can’t see enough of our infamous shrimp boats… whether doctored or undoctored! 

    • LOL thanks GF – yes the AI thing is really hitting photography hard. Hopefully there will be rules for those who compete in the many contests out there. Recently an AI image won a prestigious award and after winning the photographer came forward to announce he’d used AI to create it and did so to draw attention to the ways images can be manipulated. It caused quite a stir!

  13. Your post surprised me, Tina! I did not expect AI, for some reason; I had it in my mind you’d be more of a subtle editing kind of person. The shrimp boat is definitely a winning edit, it’s magical after. I also liked the elephants after, but don’t prefer them to the original. In fact, both work for me.

    • Hi Sofia – yes I am typically a subtle editor but for this challenge I wanted to illustrate some ways to “save” some images that might otherwise find the trash bin! I think in all of my time editing photographs I’ve only ever changed a sky once or twice and candidly wasn’t happy with the result 😊. Truth is, a bad image is pretty much a bad image no matter what you try to do to it IMHO.

  14. Pingback: Lens-Artists Challenge #294 – Before and After – Wellcome

  15. Show our underwear!? lol. I am dying. There is truth in that. OK…now I can read the rest of your post!

    The sky change with the shrimp boat IS a keeper. It completely changes the mood of the photo, and even brings out the detail of the boat more. The elephants?! What a dream to capture that true love and while I think the edit might some interest, I too love the original. Yes, eye of the beholder, and I think that also might be true of the elephants feelings. A great post, Tina.

    • Thanks Donna – have you never heard that expression?? One of my favorites 😊. As for the elephants it seems and you and I are not alone in preferring the actual background. Sometimes reality says more than pretty!

  16. Great post Tina. You showed how editing can change a picture’s intent. I like the edits on the shrimp boat. I like the original on the elephants better. I think it’s important to show them in their natural environment. And, oh, changing the background on the blossom was showing it off at its best. You also opened up the subject of AI. While I’m not totally opposed to using it, I think it should be used sparingly and blend in with the picture in lighting and intent.

    • Agree wholeheartedly re AI Anne, and think it’s important to admit its use. It can really help to “save” what in the past might have been a throwaway, like the flower image in this case, but I much prefer to get it right in camera! Nice to have a tool to save something important if the conditions just don’t work though.

  17. Tina, I loved what you created and, most importantly, the food for thought you presented us, too. With the boat image, I immediately “saw” the warm tones reflecting on the boat and hoped you had taken advantage of that. Spot on! I loved the edit you created. As for the elephants, my preferred edit is the original. I liked the barren background that helped emphasize the family love of the pair. About the flower, I agree with your assessment about removing the branches in the second photo. As for the starfish, I like all of them. It’s wonderful that we can express ourselves in so many different forms.

    • Thanks Egidio. I’ll admit I had fun playing with the images this week and look forward to see what others come up with. We have so many tools at our disposal these days! To be honest I use my iPhone much more often than my camera of late and rarely do much to those so I’m a bit out of practice! I did have fun with this one though.

  18. hello tina,

    an interesting selection and a very interesting mix that you have chosen, i like it, especially the first two and the last three.

    many greetings robert

    • Thanks Frank! To be honest, these days I use my iPhone far more than my camera and rarely make these kinds of edits. But I do love to play with images 😊. I pulled my camera out during a huge rainstorm earlier this week as the phone just would get what I wanted, and I’m going on a photo shoot on Monday evening at the Ocean Course so it’s a bigger week for the camera than usual!

    • Thanks Laurel – the shrimp boat sky was an image I took that same day so not QUITE a cheat LOL. The ellies would look magnificent standing in a garbage dump IMHO 😊 – they’re that fabulous!

    • Thanks Sue, I should have asked if people would have recognized the use of AI in the images where I used it before adding that to the post. Would have been interesting to hear others opinions. The funny thing about the boat edit is that I photographed that sky the same day from the same boat but the image I used happened as we were further out and the sky had “flattened”. So it was not quite as outlandish as it might otherwise have been!

  19. Tina, I vote for the shrimp boat with the sky replaced. Skies can add much to an image, making it more exciting or dramatic. Generative Fill, and Luminar Neo’s AI tools have opened up new life for those images that were so-so, but not so bad that they got the old heave ho. More and more tools using AI technology are creating ripples in journalistic circles. Witness the drama over the family photo tweaked, rather poorly, by Princess Kate. I am glad that my photography isn’t entirely journalistic, especially when I want to create photographic art. As you noted, being honest with your audience is a requirement when using AI.

    • Thanks John, a fun challenge. I’m looking forward to the posts this week. My husband voted against the boat edit. I should have edited it using traditional tools first, THEN replaced the sky but what the heck, all in fun this week!

  20. Isn’t the horizon on the sea supposed to be uneven? 😊 Granted my dad, the Navy man and sea aficionado, would tell you that. (LOL) 

Please Tell Me What You Think!