Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry / Travel Theme: Bright

“For me photography is to place one’s head, heart and eye along the same line of sight… It requires concentration, sensitivity, a discipline of mind and a sense of geometry. “

Henri Cartier-Bresson

WALL OF TILES, BANGKOK

WALL OF TILES, BANGKOK

This week’s Photo Challenge is Geometry – a difficult one for me as it is not one of my key focus areas (pun intended).  I also enjoy participating in the weekly Travel Theme, which this week is BRIGHT.  So I’ve decided to challenge myself to combine the two themes and see what develops (yet another pun intended).  So, here is my take on some Bright Geometry 🙂

“When we teach a child design, we learn the geometry of the world.”

Jane Alexander

LAMPPOST, LA BOCA, BUENOS AIRES

LAMPPOST ON SQUARES, LA BOCA, BUENOS AIRES

To me, one of the most appealing aspects of photography is that it trains the eye to seek beauty – we are always looking at the world around us as though it were created simply for us to capture.

HOT AIR BALLOONS, BEND, OREGON

HOT AIR BALLOONS, BEND, OREGON

Architects have long known that lines and shapes combine with color to create a more appealing structure. Exhibit A:

HOUSE ON A HILL, MENDOCINO, CA

HOUSE ON A HILL, MENDOCINO, CA

“I call architecture frozen music.”

Johann W. von Goethe

But as always, it is nature that proves the allure of geometric shapes and lines.  One glance at any given time will provide us with lovely examples.

GLACIER TRIANGLE, PATAGONIA, CHILE

GLACIER TRIANGLE, PATAGONIA, CHILE

ABSTRACT, TREES IN MOTION, KIAWAH ISLAND

ABSTRACT, TREES LINES IN THE LIGHT, KIAWAH ISLAND

“Wild roses are fairest, and nature a better gardener than art.”

Louisa May Alcott

RED, RED ROSE

A ROSE IS A ROSE IS A ROSE

Thanks to Ailsa of Where’s My Backpack for her cheery Travel Theme; most welcome after last week’s dismal storms.  Next time you’re out and about, have a look at some of the lines and shapes that are all around you. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

27 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry / Travel Theme: Bright

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge : Geometry | Les Petits Pas de Juls

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry | Wind Against Current

  3. Interestingly, my husband asked where I shot the rose. At that point I realized, a rose is NOT a rose, it’s actually a hibiscus ;-). Oh well, try to find a quote about THAT!

  4. Beauty is there….if only we would notice it. Glad you took the time to not only “stop and smell the roses” but to capture and share them with us. Great way to start my day!

  5. Tina, to go out looking for beauty in what’s around you…priceless. Good work.

    Sharon Buehler 843-442-9602 (cell)

Please Tell Me What You Think!