Slipping Away: WPC Evanescent

“Slipping away what can I Say?”

James Taylor

GROWING UP FAST

GROWING UP FAST

Sweet Baby James, as always, says it best. May is indeed slipping away and too soon we’ll be able to say the same thing about the summer…..and then the year, etc. etc. etc. The little goslings, much like our own children, will grow up way too fast – their childhood disappearing long before we are ready.

FRESHNESS ON STEMS

FRESHNESS ON STEMS

“Won’t you stay inside me month of May?”

James Taylor

Here on Kiawah the end of May typically means the beginning of most residents’ travels, driven away by the summer’s intensity. This year my husband and I will visit Maine and Colorado, seeking the cooler climes of the northeastern shore and the western mountains. In the meanwhile this week’s rainstorms are breathing new life into our local plants and animals.

SOAKED THROUGH

SOAKED THROUGH

Let it rain, sweet Mary Jane. Let it wash your love down all around me.”

James Taylor

The thing about James Taylor is, he seems to find words to say what many of us are thinking. I for one don’t mind the rain. Happily it doesn’t happen often and when it does the smell of the pavement after a storm takes me back to those disappearing days of childhood. Can you remember, as I do, jumping in puddles, looking for rainbows and simply celebrating the fresh clean air after the chill of winter is finally left behind?

PERFECTLY PINK

PERFECTLY PINK

“Hold on to me golden days, slipping away.”

James Taylor

Yep, you got it right Baby James, these are golden days – hold on to them. Surely we can hold them inside no matter what’s happening on the outside.

WPC: Evanescent

61 thoughts on “Slipping Away: WPC Evanescent

  1. Like your soak through picture in particular. Mary Jane can make it rain in the Western Cape as well. We certainly need it with out dams now less than 20% but at least it did rain a bit on Saturday

    • Yikes, 20% is very frightening Abrie – it’s not often I wish a rainy season upon anyone but in this case I suppose it’s necessary! Thanks for stopping by!

  2. One of my favorites of JT. Who doesn’t love a good walk in the rain? Your pink blooming bud is especially lovely, Tina, and the others remind me of island moments.

    • Thanks Jane – lots of island moments these days as we’ve had a lovely spring this year. The warm winter blessed us with amazing abundance of flowers. Wouldn’t call it a super-bloom but beautiful just the same!

  3. Or, as the Steve Miller Band in Fly Like An Eagle, “time keeps on slipping into the future”. That’s when a remote that can slow time would come in handy. 🙂

    Maine and Colorado, hope that’s not in one trip. On the long-range summer forecast from AccuWeather, Colorado may be on the very warm, very dry side this summer. Though weather here is more difficult to forecast, she may change her mind in that department.

  4. I love those smells, too – someone described the air after rain as smelling metallic once, and that stuck. The photograph of the deer in the rain is amazing. No need to travel far to get wonderful images, but I don’t blame you – enjoy those trips. I look forward to more of your work from Maine and Colorado.

  5. Lovely post, Tina. I do remember those days when the air was warm and the smell of the earth rose up around me after the rain. You’ve captured this “May” time so beautifully. Have a wonderful week.

  6. You just took me back to those fun summer days as a kid Tina with “the smell of the pavement after the rain” 🙂 Nice shot of the deer…like the effect the rain drops give it.

    • Thanks Andy – only we north-easterners can appreciate that smell methinks! Glad you liked my deer – have heard of them in the headlights but not in the raindrops!

  7. WOW how beautiful to look at ..what beautiful words….always brilliant !!!!!! wishing you a spectacular summer….you deserve it…HUG

    • Thanks Nicole – my poor husband doesn’t tolerate SC summers very well so we are returning to Maine, where his family had a summer cottage and where he went to college. He loves it up there. To be honest it’s a bit cool for me LOL!

  8. Pingback: Evanescant: Exit | What's (in) the picture?

  9. Lovely, as always. My favorite photo this week is the one of green leaves. At first, I thought they might have been hosta leaves, but now I’m not so sure. They’re simply lovely, no matter. Hope your summer in cooler climes suits you. I can’t wait to see those states through your eyes.

  10. Lovely, as always Tina! Three weeks ago the Drake Canada goose was giving me the evil eye. Now he is protecting his brood and threatens to challenge me if I get to close to the goslings in their marsh pond!

    • That happened to me once Lindy and it was really frightening as he flew directly at me. I had a long zoom on him and he was REALLY fast!! Don’t mess with mother (or father) nature!

  11. WOW. Nice results with that Nikon. Soooo many songs about raindrops. The first one that popped into my head was Dee Clark’s “The raindrops, so many raindrops / It feels like rai-ain drops / Falling from my eye- eyes…”, even before the by-now repetitive and thus nauseating “Raindrops Keep Falling On My Head” by B.J. Thomas. Grrrrreat photos regardless!

Please Tell Me What You Think!