Lens-Artists Challenge #239 – Finding Peace

ocean, chairs, flags, Kiawah
Perfect Perch

“If you are guided by courage, awareness, tranquility and peace nature will serve you.”

Amit Ray

Last week Ann-Christine challenged us to address Alone Time. Many of our responses spoke to the contentment we find when we are alone – doing things like reading, gardening, walking, etc. So this week, let’s take Ann-Christine’s challenge one step further, and address the ways we’ve learned to Find Peace in today’s ever-more busy world. In the image above the two seats are perfectly arranged for peaceful contemplation. Below, a sunset sail assures its passengers will have a peaceful evening.

sailing, sunset, water, Kiawah
Sunset Sail

“So be satisfied and quiet, be contented with your contentment. 

Jeremiah Burroughs

For me, time along the ocean – sitting and watching the waves. walking along the shore, or sailing calm seas – is guaranteed to bring moments of peace. There is something about the gentle pull of the waves, or their synchronized motion, that erases the creases on my forehead and reminds me that despite any perceived problems, for the most part all is right with the world.

pond, chairs, sun
Day’s End

“Learn to sit back and observe, not everything requires a reaction.”

Inner Peace Zone

Although the sea brings its own sense of peace, for me pretty much any water view will do. The image above features our quiet spot along the edge of one of Kiawah’s ponds. As long as no alligators are close by, it too fosters a sense of inner peace.

Foggy Day on Kiawah

“Peace is not the absence of the commotion outside, it is the presence of serenity inside.”

Bangambiki Habyarimana,

Somehow I’ve found that weather can be a profound influence on my sense of inner peace. A thick layer of fog, as above one morning on Kiawah, or as below during a fast-moving NYC rainstorm can be just the thing to quiet an active mind.

apartments, NYC, sunlight, rain
Afternoon Light and Rain, New York City

“World peace begins in each home.”

Mashona Dhliwayo

I have a very strong memory of the amazing NYC moment shown above. The sun was shining brightly in the late afternoon as the rain poured and the winds blew. It was something I’d never seen before and brought the city to a near standstill. The image is straight out of camera, showing the incredible light that late afternoon, which lasted only a few brief moments before it was gone.

egrets, water, flowers
Three Little Birds

“Whenever possible, choose peace.”

Donna Goddard

I’ve often posted about the many places on Kiawah where nature surrounds us, and where I find my most peaceful moments. The image above, however, proves that quiet and peace can be found anywhere. The scene was captured as we traveled to NJ for a family celebration. Only 20 minutes from the chaos of Atlantic City we came upon an area filled with hundreds of beautiful birds enjoying the sunlight as they fished in the tidal creeks.

Thanks to Ann-Christine for her Alone Time challenge last week which led me to today’s subject. This week we hope you’ll share the ways you find peace in your corner of the world. Be sure to link to my post and to use the Lens-Artists Tag to help us find you. Finally, we hope you’ll also join us next week when John will once again lead us on his Journeys with Johnbo post. In the meanwhile, as always please stay safe, be kind and enjoy the journey.

Interested in joining the Lens-Artists challenge? Click here for more information.

153 thoughts on “Lens-Artists Challenge #239 – Finding Peace

  1. Pingback: Vast Bowl | Stupidity Hole

  2. Pingback: Lens-Artists Challenge #239 – Finding Peace – What is the word? ( Dra.Ethel Mediza Madera)

  3. Pingback: Peace amidst chaos – My Camera & I (3)

  4. Pingback: Finding Peace: Then and Now – mazeepuran (माझे e-पुराण)

  5. Pingback: Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #239 Finding Peace - My Colorful Expressions

  6. Pingback: Lens Artists Photo Challenge #239 – Finding Peace – Wandering Dawgs

  7. Pingback: Finding Peace – Riddle Me This

  8. Pingback: Lens Artist’s challenge 239: Finding Peace | WordsVisual

  9. Pingback: Finding peace-Escape for a while! – Philosophy Through Photography

  10. Wonderful examples.
    Foggy day click my favourite.
    Peaceful indeed!
    Love “Learn to sit back and observe, not everything requires a reaction.”Inner Peace Zone quote and “World peace begins in each home.” Mashona Dhliwayo quote
    What a lovely way to find peace!
    Thank you, Tina Schell

  11. Pingback: Katwijk aan Zee | What's (in) the Picture?

  12. Pingback: Finding Peace ~ Rambling ranger

  13. Pingback: Weekend Sky #91 – March 11th – Blog of Hammad Rais

  14. Pingback: Lens-ArtistPC-239-Finding-Peace – WoollyMuses

  15. Pingback: Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #239 – Finding peace – nowathome

  16. Pingback: Two Lines of Houses and a Painter | What's (in) the Picture?

  17. Pingback: Finding Peace – Nes Felicio Photography

  18. Pingback: In Awe of Nature, I Find Peace – One Woman's Quest II

  19. Pingback: Peace, Perfect Peace – From Pyrenees to Pennines

  20. Pingback: ~ Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #239: Finding Peace ~ | Lindy Low LeCoq

  21. Pingback: Lens-Artists Challenge #239 – Peace – Flights of the Soul

  22. Pingback: Tanka: Woodland Stream – Whippet Wisdom – a Highland Journey

  23. Pingback: Row by Row, Peace by Piece – Love in the Spaces

  24. Pingback: Homes by the Sea | What's (in) the Picture?

  25. Pingback: Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #239 – Finding Peace – Journeys with Johnbo

  26. Alone, deep in the forest is where I find peace. I tried to attach only a single photo from one of my older blogs, but had trouble doing so. It was a photo of my two feet as I was sitting and leaning against a lodgepole pine in Deschutes National Forest. Blog is “Camping Alone: Listening as the Forest Speaks”, at geographicaljourneys.com Thanks for taking me back to Kiawah, as I haven’t been back there since 1989!

    • Well that’s a bummer Mick! We’ve visited the Deschutes but while we were there it was pretty crowded – peak of summer tourist season 😩. I can imagine what it would be like in the quiet. Glad to hear you’ve been to Kiawah. It’s quite a different story here vs 1989 as you might imagine!

      • Deschutes is a really BIG forest. Yes, lots of places are crowded, but I have been able to walk parts of it for days without seeing anyone else. Thanks for taking the time to read it.
        I’ve enjoyed your posts each week, and the pictures that accompany them. Maybe someday I’ll figure out how to respond to the Lens Artist Challenge!

    • Well Mick, I did find your post after googling the title – clearly you find different ways to reach solitude! I’m sad for you loss of camping companions, and while I can relate to your wife’s feelings, your comments about your friend made me shudder. Hopefully by now maybe he’s feeling differently??? Unfortunately it seems the most radical among us cannot see the forest for the trees, which in this case is an excellent metaphor 😊. Seems you’ve found the perfect way to find peace, although you’re WAY more adventurous than I am! Stay safe out there.

  27. Pingback: Haiku: She Sparkles – Tranature

  28. Pingback: Sky Triptych | What's (in) the Picture?

  29. Pingback: Lens-Artists Photo Challenge #239: Finding Peace – Calling-all-RushBabes

  30. Pingback: At Peace With Nature | Out of My Write Mind

  31. Pingback: Primrose Peace In The Midst Of Moving House – Tish Farrell

  32. I love your photos of these peaceful spots, The foggy day is full of atmosphere and the light in the NYC shot is amazing! I also like that last shot reminding us that we don’t always have to go far to find peace.
    I think my contribution this week is nothing like you were anticipating for this theme, but when I read the words ‘Finding peace’, this is what immediately sprung to my mind: https://www.toonsarah-travels.blog/finding-peace-in-medellin/

  33. Pingback: Finding peace in Medellín - Travel with me

  34. Pingback: Lens-Artists Challenge #239 – Finding Peace | The World Is A Book...

  35. Your images of re breathtaking, Tina. These are perfect spots for finding peace and beautifully captured. I love th NYC and the Foggy Day especially. So wonderful to enjoy the peacefulness of Kiawah through your images.

  36. Pingback: In the garden – bushboys world

Please Tell Me What You Think!