Moon over the Marsh/Word-A-Week – Angles/Sunday Post – Perspective

The moon puts on an elegant show, different every time in shape, colour and nuance.”

Arthur Smith

BY THE LIGHT OF THE MOON

BY THE LIGHT OF THE SILVERY MOON

This week we enjoyed an incredible “super moon” here on Kiawah.  Coincidentally, Jake’s Sunday Post “Perspective” and  Suellewellyn’s Word-A-Week challenge “Angles” gave me an opportunity to post about how important both elements are in photography.

REFLECTING

REFLECTING

“The moon is a friend for the lonesome to talk to.”

Carl Sandburg

I find night photography quite difficult, but the call of the super moon was too strong to ignore.  Moonrise was not until after 10:00 pm here on Kiawah, presenting me with a further challenge still.  My husband was willing to act as my helper and companion, so off we went to look for some interesting approaches.

FULL MOON RISING

FULL MOON RISING

“The day, water, sun, moon, night – I do not have to purchase these things with money.”

Plautus

Simply by changing my position and the angle of my shot, I was able to create several different perspectives of the same moon.  Each has its own personality and gives us a new appreciation for the beauty of the scene.

MOON AND TREE

MOON AND TREE

“The moon is a loyal companion.”

Tahereh Mafi

Remember to change your perspective to find new ways of seeing each time you shoot.  Overcome the obstacle of managing equipment in the dark, and rise (pun intended) to the challenge of “shooting the moon”. 

How about you?  Did the super moon come your way, and if so, did you go out to capture it’s splendor?

Click here to see more responses to Sue’s “Angle” challenge.  For Jake’s “Perspective” entries, go here .

 

96 thoughts on “Moon over the Marsh/Word-A-Week – Angles/Sunday Post – Perspective

  1. Pingback: A Summer’s Day on Kiawah | Travels and Trifles

  2. Lovely post, from the beginning to the end; Tina. Real feelgood impressions.
    Greetings from the Rhine Valley
    Dina

    P.S.
    I’m impressed, so many comments..:-)

    • Impressed? From one with almost 1,500 followers plus 244 likes + 142 comments on your last post?! Im honored to have you stop by! Thanks so much for your lovely compliment and visit Dina.

      • You’re very welcome! :
        Big hug and have a great new weet to you, Tina.
        ♥ 🙂
        (by the way, your gravatar is lovely, you’re very attractive)

    • Oops sorry, responded on the wrong post! Thanks Colline, that was an especially difficult shot. I probably took 20 and this was the only one I liked. But hey, as long as I get 1 I’m happy:-). Happy you chose that one 🙂

      • Well you did now (as Whistler to Oscar Wilde). But are you the same Tina Schell that contributes to Vivienne Gutfreund’s Tooting bloglet? If so, small world.

      • 🙂 I am not the same Tina Schell, although that doesn’t prove that the world isnt small LOL. I don’t know Vivienne’s blog. Should I?

      • Not really! She tweeted something in response to my daughter and it was strange that the name “TS” popped up for the second time in 24hrs. She should know yours, though; it’s wonderful!

      • Apologies if I reply twice but previous one seemed to vanish into eNirvana. No, Vivienne is a friend of my daughters I came across on Twitter, but it was so odd her blog has a “TS”; two in one day. She should see your blog though; it’s wonderful. (And worth saying twice!)

    • Thank you April! So much beauty around us here, hard to know where to point the lens 🙂

      Sent from my iPad

    • Thanks Jane, they were quite the challenge but only because the time from moonrise to too high to be interesting is only about 15 minutes :-(.

      Sent from my iPad

  3. Lovely shots there Tina ! Love a big Moon . Still waiting for the perfect shot out of my window as it goes down behind the Hills …. I’m very p a t i e n t 😉
    It’s so interesting seeing the moon in differing landscapes .

    • Thanks PT-you must have a better location. I can’t see it from my house until its too high to be interesting 😦

      Sent from my iPad

  4. Splendid, glowing images, Tina. Terrific composition. It’s amazing how pictures with the same subject can be so differently composed!

    • Thanks so much Uday – amazing indeed. I could have gone on and on but the late moonrise really made it tough. Hopefully the June super moon will rise a bit earlier!

  5. Those are glorious and I really think your night time photography is awesome! You know, I always thought the words to that song were
    “there’s a bathroom on the right!”

  6. Great photos! ….and I am glad Bailey was with you! It is scary out there at night sometimes……superman (I mean super moon) or not!! SQ

    • Thanks CA, it’s really challenging but worth it. I’m still working on improving. Biggest issue is how quickly it rises. Once it’s up a bit the opportunity is really limited. Good luck!

      Sent from my iPad

  7. Absolutely beautiful !! Dedication is key, you are lucky to have such a wonderful helping husband. 🙂

    • Thanks! He’s a great supporter of my photography, as with everything else I do (mostly!). I am lucky indeed!

      Sent from my iPad

  8. The first image is spectacular–richly bold with nature’s majesty, which can be subtle and powerful. And the tree dripping in its splendor is striking. A multi-layered image–well done (by nature and you).

  9. Fantastic ….. photos – night photos are an nightmare – but you have done a brilliant job here. And I’m a moon girl *smile – stunning gallery. Again!!!!!

    • Thanks so much Viveka! Love that you’re a moon girl–me too! Next super moon here is June 23 and ill be ready for it 🙂

      Sent from my iPad

Please Tell Me What You Think!