Lens-Artists Challenge #163 – Keep Walking

Beach, umbrellas, colorful, ocean, Bethany
BUSY BETHANY BEACH

“Life is a summer, full of fun. At the beach, under the sun.”

Debasish Mridha

This past week after nearly two years I was happily participating in a family reunion at Bethany Beach, Delaware (shown above). Although I’d seen one or two of my family members, I’d not seen most of them in nearly two years due to COVID precautions. Everyone made a major effort to gather, such that when all was said and done there were 24 of us, including my husband and me, my four brothers and their spouses, their children and their grandchildren (6 of whom are under the age of 5). So, in response to Amy’s “Keep Walking” challenge, I’ve decided to share some images from a fun walk my husband and I took one afternoon to explore the nearby attractions.

Jitney, Bethany Beach, bus, blue
LOCAL TRAFFIC

“Beaches are God’s poetry.”

Steven Maraboli

My opening image captures the crowds sharing their spots in the sand as the ocean’s calm and the day’s heat combine to delight them. As someone used to Kiawah’s wide open beach and limited smattering of people, I’m always amazed at the crowds in more populated areas. Parking is a precious commodity, so many residents and visitors use the jitney busses such as I’ve shown above to move more easily from place to place.

FLOWERS, PICKET FENCE
PICKET FENCE AND FLOWERS

“In every curving beach, in every grain of sand there is the story of the earth.”

Rachel Carons

Clearly the residents of the area take great pride in their homes, many of which are seasonal rentals. I was enchanted as we walked by the white picket fence shown above with its beautiful flowers gracing one of many such homes. The town is small and quiet for the better part of a year, until summer’s visitors arrive to swell the population exponentially.

beach, kite, sunset
LET’S GO FLY A KITE

“There can’t possibly be anything more beautiful than a seaside Beach at sunset.”

Bryn McCarren

As sunset approached and the day’s hot sand no longer burnt one’s feet, several visitors took to the beach to fly kites. I loved the one featured in my image above, a whirling, swirling octopus which reminded several of us of Harry Potter’s “dementors”. Fans of the series will know exactly what I mean by that 😊.

signs, locations, colorful
GOING SOMEWHERE?

“There is no place like the beach… where the land meets the sea and the sea meets the sky”

Umair Siddiqui

After four full days of driving and four days of chaotic family fun, my husband and I returned to walk the beach on Kiawah (below). I was only a bit facetious with my “Kiawah Crowd” title on the image. As this is the final week before Labor Day, the “unofficial” end of the summer season, there are a few more people than I’ve shown, but not many LOL!.

beach, Kiawah Island, walking
KIAWAH CROWD

“Walk along in that wide, peaceful, whispering hush of the sea that gives every sound, near or far, some mysterious importance.”

Thomas Mann

I hope you’ve enjoyed my little walk and encourage you to visit Amy’s much more exotic and beautiful examples in her original “Keep Walking” post here. Remember to link to her post and to use the Lens-Artists Tag to help us all find you.

Finally, sincere thanks for your amazing response to last week’s “It’s All About the Light” challenge. I cannot imagine a more diverse and compelling display of the incredible affect of light in photography. Speaking of which, we hope you’ll join us next week when we’re honored to have Sofia Alves of Photographias joining us as Guest Host. Her theme will be “Looking Up/Down”. Be sure to use the link to check out her beautiful and always-interesting blog. Until then, please stay safe and be kind.

111 thoughts on “Lens-Artists Challenge #163 – Keep Walking

  1. Pingback: Lens-Artists Challenge #163 – Keep Walking – A.J"s WORLD THINGS.

  2. I’m so happy for you to finally have the reunion you have all been waiting for for so long. Seeing our daughter and granddaughter after too long a separation was the best moment of the year. 💕#familyiseverything

  3. hi tina
    does that dog have on shoes in that last photo?
    the picket french and flowers really did whisper so much
    also i like how the idea of the octopus kite led into the signs that had
    appendages or a vibe (and cool location arrows)
    lastly . i really like the man made sign in the lower right of the kite photo
    it added a few things (for my mind at least) it had a slight reflection to it which felt like
    joy with the quietude of the kite, sky, and fence line .
    then i think it also added a human touch – man and nature in harmony – something like that

    • Wow Yvette, you really spent some time with this one – thank you for that! I see why you’re asking about the dog & shoes. After revisiting the image you just might be right! Some owners do put little booties on their dogs to avoid their paws getting dirty or hurt on the sand. Also loved your comment re the kite’s leading to the sign. Hate to admit I didn’t do that on purpose!

      • hi tina – well the extras and “not on purpose” stuff happens to all artists – and this little things become part of their unique and signature style (which i guess is another reason why i always love when seth godin reminds folks to be who they are and not try to be someone else – maybe at first we model others and hopefully that leads to a lot of creativity)
        and i don’t feel as if i spent any more time on this post compared to other ones you share – maybe it seemed like it because i had some succinct comments – but on my end it was the usual scroll and read 😉

        🐾🐾
        i bet the doggie shoes help with the hot sand – we bought some for our son and gf when they got their first dog – but it was more of a joke – and i think pups need to have paws on ground – just my opinion tho
        have a nice day and be back soon to check out the next lens artists theme of up/down
        ☀️☀️

Please Tell Me What You Think!