Skip to content

Gone But Not Forgotten – Weekly Photo Challenge

“The Moment! Once you miss it, it’s gone forever.”

Henri Cartier Bresson

ONLY GOD CAN MAKE A TREE
ONLY GOD CAN MAKE A TREE

(6  photos)

This week Krista has offered us an interesting challenge: “Gone But Not Forgotten”.  A few weeks ago I posted about a glorious sunrise at Botany Bay in the nearby Ace Basin of South Carolina. At the time I promised to later post some B&W versions of the hauntingly beautiful trees that have been decimated by the tides as they encroach upon the beach.  It seems to me that those trees are a wonderful subject for this week’s challenge as they cling to their last moments of existence.

ALL BUT GONE
ALL BUT GONE

“Photography is very philosophical. You look one moment and there’s everything, next moment it’s gone.”

Joel Meyerowitz

As I mentioned in my previous post, the sunrise at Botany Bay was incredibly vibrant the day I visited, but once the sun began to rise higher into the sky, the day became quite difficult for color photography. On the other hand, very high-contrast situations such as a bright sun over the ocean with dark trees as subjects, lend themselves wonderfully to B&W.

SOON TO BE GONE
SOON TO BE GONE

“No man-made invention will ever be as clear, or as vivid, as the image captured in your mind of a loved one who’s gone.”

Larry Wilder

I’ve often commented to friends that the subjects of my photographs are the most memorable moments of my travels. Is that because they were more memorable to begin with, or because I’ve translated them from my eyes, through my lens and onto a solid medium such as a framed print or a book? I suspect a little of both. But I do find that photography not only causes me to notice more of the wonders of our world, both large and small, but it also helps me to remember them.

SWIRLING WATERS
SWIRLING WATERS

“There is always the feeling that something is gone.”

David Plowden

The ephemeral nature of this particular site, Boneyard Beach, is emotionally moving. One is faced with the transitory element of life – here today, gone tomorrow. But forgotten? Let us hope not. If only memorialized by photographers like myself who find them stunningly beautiful, at the very least they will be remembered by some number of us. So too all of us, who will someday cease to exist other than in photos or more importantly in the minds and hearts of those who have known and loved us.

UPROOTED
UPROOTED

“What I like about photographs is that they capture a moment that’s gone forever, impossible to reproduce.”

Karl Lagerfeld

No one wants to think about ceasing to exist, after all, it’s the only thing we know. But much has been written of late about what happens after death. Science and medicine have reached a point where many who have been technically dead for some time – no heartbeat, no brainwaves, no breathing – can be returned to life. Many of them have reported experiencing a wonderful “existence” after physical death, such that they were reluctant to return to life in the here-and-now. Who are we to question, since we have no way of knowing what really happens? People of faith have always believed in a hereafter of some form, and many people around the world firmly believe in reincarnation. Who are we to think we know otherwise?

BOTTOMS UP
BOTTOMS UP

“My favorite thing is to go where I have never gone.”

Diane Arbus

“Gone but not Forgotten” not only describes the barren trees of Boneyard Beach. It also applies to the loved ones we have lost, and of course to the incredible moments I spent in this very special place. For that reason, this week I have surrounded my photography with the quotations of famous photographers. Who better to talk about Gone but not Forgotten than those who have captured fleeting moments and frozen them for all time? Because of their amazing collective works they will not soon be forgotten either.

To see what other bloggers have not forgotten, click here.

102 thoughts on “Gone But Not Forgotten – Weekly Photo Challenge Leave a comment

  1. Wow, the opening photo is incredible ~ drew me right in to your writing. The B&W works so well, and perhaps it is the theme of what is here now in all its glory will eventually fade ~ and it is not a sad thing, just part of this great thing called life. Great series of photos Tina, perfect for your theme.

  2. Beautiful, both in words and pictures, the black & white, or rather, shades of grey, is very evocative. I haven’t yet responded to this theme, and may not have time to, but it certainly also made me think of people I loved who are no longer in this world – thanks for a lovely reflective post.

  3. Wonderful post, Tina. You have very skilfully captured a mood with these stunning black and white images…..and the quotes add another element. I concur with you on photography causing me to notice moments and remember them. Friends are often amazed by my memory for things, for places….but it is because of the images I have taken!

  4. WOW…so POWERFUL …LOVING your words as well as the photos! The B&W sends me to a place of deep thought….a very peaceful place….really beautiful work!!

  5. B&W is a perfect medium for the starkness and forlorn feeling of these trees Tina.
    This is a very thought provoking post but this sentence is one that I fully agree with. “photography not only causes me to notice more of the wonders of our world, both large and small, but it also helps me to remember them.” So appropriate for this theme, the moment is fleeting and then gone, but with the photo it will never be forgotten.

    • Thanks Pomme, it was an incredible day for me, and while the mood was not somber while I was shooting it, the B&W certainly makes it appear so! Thanks for your thoughtful comment.

  6. This is a very moving post. Love your work on these photos, very haunting and full of solitude. The quotes you share go so well with this week’s theme. Moments come and go so fast, sometimes we don’t realise what we have or what’s happening around us until it’s gone or over 🙂

  7. what a poignant post, Tina. i remember the glorious morning colours you posted previously of this unique place, and they were so vibrant. these b&w views are more understated and at the same time more evocative.
     
    our days are fleeting, and yet we have the gift of choice to make them full and meaningful. in fact, every new day provides such a gift. and at the same time, it’s not just always about today.
     
    thanks for sharing. 🙂

  8. A fabulous selection of quotes Tina. I remember the gorgeous colour version of these shots, but I love the stark, monochromatic treatment of this series as well. Perfect for the challenge.

  9. Tina, your posts always have such great depth to them. Today’s is particularly special and one that I will want to keep coming back to. I love your quotes and your thoughts as well as the beautiful black and white images. I have a quote from my mother when she was alive. She used to say ” all we really are, are pictures in an album.” Have a great week and thanks for inspiring once again 🙂

  10. what a cool way to weave in this appreciation for photographers and the value of their lingering work – that was nice to read as the post unfolded. and this beach seems unreal – seems like a movie set that was created. I clicked back over to the color post and then came back again and it has to be one of the most unique beaches I have ever seen.

    Anyhow, I guess it is becoming standard for me to grab a quote from your posts (well the last few posts at least) and the one from this post was something I selected early, and then found that I liked my selection even more after I read the entire post. I liked it because it was that personal touch – that was inviting… and it was such a complement to the photos, the quotes from other photographers, the highlight of their left behind works – and then the bit of philosophical extras … well this was my takeaway quote –

    (referring to the most memorable travel moments)

    Is that because they were more memorable to begin with, or because I’ve translated them from my eyes, through my lens and onto a solid medium such as a framed print or a book?

    well thanks for being open to long comments – lol!! and thanks for dropping by my Civil War post because your comment there added something rich – appreciate it – Peace!

    • Thank you so much Svetlana – I thought the mood of the B&Ws was so different from the color shots. Can’t say really which ones I preferred – guess it depends on your mood while you’re viewing them!

  11. Hi Tina,
    Your previous blog on Botany Bay inspired Andy and me to drive there on Saturday. We’ve been all around it…have picnicked on Botany Island but never hiked down to Boneyard Beach, have taken our John boat up Ocella creek for picnic supper, but didn’t land. On Saturday, walking out to the beach, it was much like your black and white photos. The fog was rolling in and out and all was platinum and shining. There was one tree that looked like a braided pretzel. How did it get that way? Amazing place! Diane

  12. Tina, the great thing about these trees is that they still look beautiful, even when dead or dying. You’re right that black and white is perfect for these shots. As Sally says, there’s a simplicity here but a beautiful one. I like the tree in “Soon to be Gone” and the sky in “Swirling Water.” But they’re all excellent.

    janet

  13. When I was young, I couldn’t wait to work in color, in fact, in high school, I even experimented with the Kodak color printing developers and papers, along with the ever-ubiquitous Ektachrome slide processing system. Then I left photography for a another career. Now, the more I see black-and-white work, I find my love for color to be a false love. Beautiful images… my favorite being “Swirling waters.”

    • Thanks so much John – yes there are definitely some things that cry out for B&W, while others demand color. Some subjects work both ways, as I believe these did. The good news? We have creative options more than ever before!

  14. These trees certainly do make wonderful subjects Tina and as you say, a bright sunny day can lend itself to high contrast black and white photography perfectly as you demonstrate here. Smashing post.

  15. I feel like this week’s topic was chosen just for me. You have illustrated it so beautifully and enhanced with your choice of quotes. I know the viewer brings their own perspective to a work of art, this blog entry has moved me to tears and touched me deeply. Thank you Eileen

  16. I was so moved by not only your hauntingly beautiful pictures, but mainly by your quotes and thoughts. I copied Larry Wilder and David Plowden and wound up copying the whole piece!
    It feels like a gift. Thank you.

  17. Only God can make a tree is the last line in ” Tree” a poem by Joyce Kilmer ‘ a fellow Hungarian and New Jerseyite. Coincidentally, I was fishing on Friday and was looking at the dead and dying trees scattered around the club property. Your post is quite appropriate.

    • Yes, I did “borrow” Kilmer’s line from that poem to title my photo. It seemed appropriate to the glory of the morning. I can remember reciting that poem MANY times having been in school 5 minutes from where Kilmer wrote it!

  18. This is really captivating, Tina. And hard to believe, like totally surreal. What’s ging on here? I had never heard of this Beach so I looked it up. A forest stranded in the surf. Is ist a destination itself? What a wonderful post, thank you for sharing this part of the world with us!
    Dina Xx

    • Thanks Dina, yes it’s an amazing place – target of many local photographers and you can see why! It’s really only fabulous when the tide is high and of course we wanted to time it so the high tide occurred at sunrise for the best light – which means only 1 day each month. The entire experience is pretty surreal! Glad you enjoyed.

Please Tell Me What You Think!

